We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$112
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$180
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$102
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$112
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
131
92
31
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
92
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice plantinglocal villagesolar powervillage childrenpanning for goldone nightvillage visitoptional activitiesbeautiful tripmekong riverliving conditionsday cruiseoil lampstraditional laos foodattached bathroomrural laosvillage life
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our trip started with a beautiful trip up the Mekong on a large long boat with other guests. Coffee was served. Very civilised and we just sat soaking up the changing scenery and life going on along the banks. Very relaxing and stunningly beautiful. It took nearly 3 hours against the current to get to the lodge and we were greeted by excited children and the lodge staff. The setting is stunning in the trees along the riverbank. We loved our tented room. The beds were very comfortable and we found the tent spotless. After lunch including lovley Lao food like Laarb, we had a rest sitting just listening to the forest noises then we met for the activities. These are only really intended to show you how the villagers have lived. The walk around the village and seeing the village shop was fascinating as was seeing how they plant rice and cast their nets to fish. The bar area, a bamboo structure in the middle of a lotus flower pond was very pretty and arriving at it in the dark with the footpaths lit by oil lamps added to the magic. We found the choice of drinks very good bearing in mind we were staying in the middle of nowhere. The barman mixed a vy good mai tai. Dinner was good and then we sat by a camp fire and watched the village children perform traditional dances. It was a wonderful evening. We slept very well and enjoyed a good breakfast with excellent coffee before sadly jining the boat back to Luang Prabang. The return trip was quicker and we stopped at Pak Ou caves on the way. It was a great couple of days and one of the highlights of our holiday. We knew we were not going to a 5 star resort and were actually suprised at the degree of luxury offered for a tented lodge miles from anywhere. It proved a perfect adventure for us. Go with the right attitude and you will love it

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent one night at Kamu Lodge. We were one of only two couples in the property. Platform tents with minimal lighting are arranged along a series of dirt and stone pathways that are poorly lighted at night. The bed covers were soiled and the bathroom had a handheld shower that sprayed the whole room and doubled as the sink faucet. We tried everything...the 'activities' included demonstrations of the crossbow used by locals to kill small animals, rice planting, and netting fish on the shore of the Mekong...interesting. We signed up for a massage. The 'spa' consisted of four dirty mattresses (that were fortunately covered by clean sheets before we lay down) in a structure at the river's edge. The women doing the massage really didn't seem to be vey enthusiastic about what they were doing and the charge was higher than we have paid on our whole trip, including Bangkok! We were told to come to the bar at 6 and that dinner would be at 7. The 'bar' was another open air structure filled with shabby furniture with no bar, bartender or even a drink list! When someone finally arrived to ask what we wanted to drink and we asked for a drink list, he went to fetch it. Dinner was OK but unremarkable. When we offered to share a glass of our wine with one of the other diners, they brought him a different bottle that was already open,and that he never consumed. The next morning, they tried to charge him $39 for it, and a lot more was gone than had been whenever it arrived at our table...I think theme staff had a party! Getting back to our tent was treacherous because of the poor lighting. Mosquito nets had been arranged over our beds, but because the nets dragged the floor, I slipped getting into bed and got a nasty bump on the head. The next morning, we opted out of the village tour and asked to get on the boat and head down river to Luang Prabeng. We were accompanied by a 'guide' who did no real guiding. He sat either by himself or with the pilot and anything we learned about what we were passing on the river was because one of us found him to ask a question. Needless to say, we were happy to get to Luang Prabeng. We will not be returning to the Kamu Lodge and we will not recommend it to others.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a really special place about 2 hours upriver of Luang Prabang, right on the Mekong. it's definitely worth staying here if you want peace and quiet and to learn a bit about Lao culture and meet local people. When we arrived by boat we were greeted with fresh green tea and talked through the optional activities during our stay. We had an afternoon of rice planting, harvesting, fishing, and then i opted for massage by the river- carried out by women from the local village. We also visited a local village about 10 mins upstream. The accommodation, although 'tented' was extremely comfortable and we still had ensuite, electricity and mosquito nets. They provide you with a torch too, just in case. Lovely to hear all the animals in the morning.

There are two buildings set amongst rice paddies that act as a restaurant and bar. The food was great and plentiful, but make sure you tell them in advance if you are vegetarian! Otherwise they will ply you with meat. Lovely views from the restaurant.

Def worth staying two nights here. They seem to do all their bookings via the net/tour companies so not much room to be flexible once you are there, and I don't think you can stay more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Anna H,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your valuable feedback about your experience at Kamu Lodge. Without a doubt, i am sure that the whole team will be delighted to learn about your satisfaction.
Thanking you again, I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards,
A. de Boynes
General Manager
Apple Tree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We did a 2 night stay at Kamu lodge and I think this is probably the perfect amount of time, shorter and you wouldn't really get a feel for the place. I think if you were after a retreat into nature a longer trip might work for you too but for us this was perfect. Our first night at the lodge we were the only guests along with the local guide we took with us. The trip there is about 3 hours with a stop at Pak Ou Caves along the way. On arrival we were greeted by the staff (all employed by the village that is just over the bridge) and acting manager (a lovely French lady - sorry I've forgotten your name).
The stay included all meals and we were treated to plenty of food at every meal with a soup and several dishes plus rice and then fruit at the completion of meals. Breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate. We would have like to be able to share our meal with our guide as we always had too much however this is a not a common or acceptable practice here so we didn't push the matter.
The activities whilst fun are very touristy and we had a chuckle when the man showing us how to fish said there was no chance of us actually getting fish it was a just a demonstration activity really to get a feel for it. The village trip is pretty special - kids and families come out to check us out as much as we are checking them out, amazing insight into a rural village.
We did one of the walks on our second day and it wasn't the easiest thing I've done but the view was worth it at the top.
The accommodation is basic but has everything you need - I worried about sleeping in the heat but the fan was adequate and I slept quite well. A mosquito net is put around the bed whilst you are at dinner. Power is solar so we did have some gaps in power but this is part of the experience.
I'd only taken a small bag for this leg of our trip and when my only hair tie broke the manager kindly supplied me with another with no hesitation.
I'd recommend that people try Kamu Lodge for a different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellou33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A good way to get to know rural life in Laos. Lovely jungle setting. Picturesque village and restaurant. They should tell patrons before they book that electricity will be rationed and there is no plug anywhere to recharge a battery or phone or anything. It was ok, but some warning would be better. The guide was excellent, the food plentiful.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Denmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Denmelb,

We would like first to thank you for your comment, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kamu Lodge.
The experience we provide is possible thanks to the Kamu people, and they are the one who make it enjoyable.

We thank you again, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in one of our property.

Warm regards,

A. de Boynes
General Manager
AppleTree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews