We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$120
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$57
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$115
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$305
US$231
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
131
92
31
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
92
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice plantinglocal villagesolar powerwater buffalovillage childrenpanning for goldone nightvillage visitoptional activitiesbeautiful tripmekong riverliving conditionsday cruiseoil lampsattached bathroomtraditional laos foodrural laos
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I went there with the group of 8 persons, for stay one night 2 day, my client were a short farmer and hunter, and rice planting, at evening we were play the petang with the Kamu lodge team. we finished drink some beer Lao, and went to sleep in individual house

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Phouma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I regreted not staying longer instead of 1 night as I did.It's out of the crowd of center when I feel slow lifestyle.

I took boat of Kamu Lodge with 3 hours cruising. I was really impressed by the tent and the landscape of the lodge.

This Lodge will be suitable for anyone from 45 years old upward as you only feel the peace here by walking surrounding, enjoy fresh atmostphere.

If I return to Laos, I will come to Kamu Lodge again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanh_Nguyen297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We only stayed here for 1 night but so much was packed in! We were immediately made welcome and went straight to lunch. All the meals were lovely - it shows that you don't need a fancy kitchen to turn out good food.
In the afternoon the three of us staying at the hotel had a go at:
ploughing the paddy field behind the buffalo, planting rice (badly), archery with a cross-bow, panning for gold and fishing with a net in the Mekong (again, badly!)
We had such a laugh and our archery attracted quite a few village children to laugh at us too!
Down by the Mekong you could be anywhere - it is so quiet, peaceful and beautiful.
There is so much wildlife around - so many beautiful butterflies, pigs and chickens and the hotel dog that adopted us and guarded outside our tent all night.
In the evening there is a relaxing area to have a drink after the meal (take torch) and, because the company was so good, we were still chatting there when the oil lamps had all been put out.
The tents were great - the bed really comfy. There is a proper toilet, sink and shower - the water seemed to be only cold,so we swam in the Mekong in the morning - bit diesely but didn't really matter as only there one night.
In the morning one of the staff took us for a trek into the jungle to whether the animals for the village are kept (separate in case of disease). The views were fab and we had a laugh with the villagers too.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get off the beaten track a bit - you still have comforts, but it's tranquil and beautiful and you can do as little or as much as you want.
Unforgettable - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LockyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This was an interesting experience. Set on the Mekong river and next to two small villages, the place has potential, but we went away thinking that more of an effort could be made considering the price we paid.

We were the only guests and stayed for 2 nights, the children were excited about the announced "activities". However, the half-day hike turned out to be a 20 min walk to a farm - a major disappointment, as this had been the main reason for us to book 2 nights. The other "activities" were also presented in a lack-lustre way, not taking more than 5 min each. Given there is so little to do, it would have been nice if the management had afforded more attention to them.

The place would also benefit from more attention to detail. Overall, the tents are fine and beds ok (no hot shower water for us, though) - but additional features, such as lounge chairs (where are you supposed to read, when reading is all you can do?) or towel racks would be useful additions to the place.

Finally, Kamu Lodge could have made more of an effort to make the trip upstream a memorable event. It is a 3 1/2 hours trip - a nicer boat (we rode up on old car seats) and perhaps some fruits and a more active guide would have made all the difference.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank taifun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We rode long boats up the Mekong from Luang Prabang over 4 days, stopping at 4 villages. The best was the stay at Kamu Lodge and visit to Kamu Village that we booked through Villa Maly hotel in Luang Prabang. In March there is little farming, so every adult was engaged in some building, creating, repairing activity. The Villa Maly guide, Li, knew all the villagers who were happy to show and explain their diverse work, without electricity or paved road. There was no begging. Kamu Lodge makes a monthly donation to the village as well as employs nearly 30 villagers at the lodge. The tent on stilts accommodation was large, clean, comfortable and fun. Just let the water run in the shower for 5 minutes. They use solar power which takes time to heat up.

Room Tip: All fales (fortified tents) are in good locations
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathmandu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews