We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
265
137
47
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
137
47
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddhist temple heritage room swimming pool borrow bicycles squeaky floorboards short cycle beautiful heritage breakfast set this beautiful boutique hotel massage service a ground floor room french lady tuk tuk fresh fruit juice several buildings lao massage night market area
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Of all the hotels we stayed in during four weeks in SE Asia, this stirs the happiest memories. A labyrinthine collection of beautifully preserved UNESCO-listed French colonial buildings — even on the fifth day I was still getting having a hard time finding my way around — landscaped in such a way to feel like an intimate paradise.
Breakfast was wonderfully civilised, with table service for cooked dishes (traditional Lao breakfasts available on request, if you ask the night before) and a buffet for everything else.
Good food and bar snacks available beside the pool throughout the day.
Warning to families: the pool — a simple small rectangle with no easy access and two deep ends — is not a place where small children should be left to play unaccompanied.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rudiger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and took 2 rooms, numbers 18 and 19 which are adjacent ground floor pool facing rooms. 18 is a deluxe double and 19 a standard twin. Both are "traditional" rooms which means that they are recently built, the "heritage" rooms are in older building(s). The only difference between then was that 18 had a larger internal area (it is possibly one of their largest rooms due to its location in the building) and a veranda with four chairs. No difference with fixtures and fittings. We were travelling with our kids (ages 11 and 17) so they got the twin room. The rooms did smell slightly damp but I doubt Laos building codes include damp proof courses and there was no visible sign of the damp (such as peeling paint) and airing the room and then using the AC took care of it. Bathrooms are well appointed (Grohe shower for example) and the water supply appears to be pumped on site and so may have the best pressure in Laos.

Location is great, there is a monastery next door and if you get up before dawn you can see the actual local alms-giving going on rather than the more touristy alms-giving that happens on the main street. ATMs are nearby. Local shops sell pretty much anything that you might need with good ranges of drinks, snacks and toiletries. There are also several places on the walk to town that will do laundry by the kilo (12-15K per kg), it is cheaper in town (10K) but you do have to carry it there.

In the rainy season heat and humidity it is about 15 mins easy stroll into the centre. However there are many bars and restaurants along the way. At home in the cool I would probably walk it in under 10 mins.

Pool was great. It is green which is unusual but actually it is a nice shade. Filtration works well and the water is clean. It is a fairy uniform depth, probably 1.5m or so, so small kids will want buoyancy aids.

Breakfast was nice, though we kept forgetting to order noodles the day before. We did not try the other food.

Staff were very nice. Service great by Laos standards. English variable of course but education is one of the major challenges that the country is facing so you just have to take your time to ensure understanding.

Only suggestions for improvement would be (1) in-room safes (though I have not marked down for this as the booking.com details were clear that they were not there) and (2) being allowed to order breakfast noodles when you get to the table.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank SimonB3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I had a really good stay with my family in this hotel. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, the rooms were spacious, the pool was nice, the staff was very friendly and the french man manager was very helpful. Luang Prabang is a really nice and small town. I will definitively come back if I have the chance.
Merci beaucoup !
Leah

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvetteLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVedrines, Manager at Villa Maydou, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear Leah,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your positive review. We are so delighted that you liked our services and enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I was delighted with this hotel and would not hesitate to go back! The breakfast was fresh and delicious, the pool was calm and refreshing and the rooms were clean and spacious -- all this in a beautiful french colonial setting! Also, I appreciated the fact that it was just a short walk (and even shorter tuk-tuk ride) from the charming main street. The staff was very kind and always willing to help. Its was a delightful stay and I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed in a Heritage room that was fine although the old timber flooring did creak a lot, which could be expected. The staff were excellent, very helpful. The pool was a welcome bonus from all the walking we did in LP. The bar and restaurant were excellent particularly breakfast. Although it's a 10 minute walk to the town it is a nice walk . The hotel is situated beside a temple so it was really lovely to see the monks preparing for their morning & evening prayer.
All up a very enjoyable stay, the WiFi is not great, but considering the surrounding I think you can pass on it. Staff were working hard to improve it when we left.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews