We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I only wish we could have stayed longer"”
Review of # Pachamama Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
# Pachamama Hostel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We spent two weeks in this delightful hotel, conveniently located a short walk from the central market and Pza 25 de mayo. Excellent value at 45 bolivianos (about 7 dollars) per person per night for a clean and comfortable double room, with own bathroom and hot shower. The fully equipped kitchen was ideal for making our own meals which we could eat either indoors or at the patio tables in the beautiful garden, exchanging travellers’ tales with the other guests. The helpful, friendly owners made us feel at home. A computer with Internet connection is provided in the reception. I only wish we could have stayed longer, to spend more time relaxing in this lovely garden oasis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our room with private bathroom in Pachamama was huge and we had a view on the courtyard. We don't remember how much we paid exactly, but it was VERY good value. The owners and employees were very nice and helpful. You can use the kitchen or play table tennis. There is a lot of space to chill out outside. The area is quiet, just a few blocks from the old town.

Room Tip: The double room on the top floor is huge and I guess the one under it must be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damandsasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

we stayed there for more than two weeks, the good language school Fenix which also can help you with volunteer work, is just around the corner. Rooms are nice, the garden is great, internet works but is often very very slow
If you stay longer you have to ask them to clean your room, and ask for clean towels.
They don't control the noise after 10 pm which can be very annoying when there are groups.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karintroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Clean and quiet hostel with wifi and private bathrooms for a great price ! Great patio with hamac ! Laundry service and helping staff

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairepdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Pro's:
- Cheap, reasonable, clean rooms
- Nice big courtyard
- Well equipped large, clean kitchen
- free WiFi
- Friendly owners

Con's
- A bit out of center (10min walk to the plaza)
- No towels provided
- WiFi is very temperamental, only works half of the time
- Rooms are not cleaned during your stay (also garbage is not emptied)
- Clothes washing not allowed


We looked at many places in Sucre and decided on staying in Pachamama, the overall value is one of the best in town (and Bolivia) at 90B for a double –no breakfast.
The courtyard is huge and sunny from ~9am to 4pm. There are several tables and a hammock to relax and read a book. The kitchen is very well equipped and gets very busy every night, especially before the 9pm deadline: cook early!
The rooms are simple but adequate and in good shape (no peeling paint, stains etc.) and have private bath. Rooms on top offer a bit more privacy and light. There is no TV in the rooms and towels are not provided. Toilet paper is provided on request.

The free WiFi is not stable, sometimes you can't connect all day (router problem?) and when you mange to connect the speed is very slow... skype calling is a choppy fair.
A computer for guest use is provided in the reception area.

Overall this place offers a great value and is an ideal place to relax and enjoy Sucre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
1 km away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.7 km away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
119 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Casa Kolping Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
1.2 km away
Roles Hotel
Roles Hotel
#8 of 18 in Sucre
7 reviews
0.8 km away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 62 in Sucre
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to # Pachamama Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about # Pachamama Hostel

Address: Street Aniceto Arce 450-452, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: $24 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your # Pachamama Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing