We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal CasArte Takubamba(Sucre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
7 Patas Hostel(Sucre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa de Huespedes Isabella(Sucre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$105
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
415
135
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
135
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakesquichelemon meringue pielovely hotelsan feliperoof terraceexcellent breakfastthe main squarespent two nightscolonial stylejuicejunior suitethoroughly enjoyed our staywould stay againrooms are comfortablebreadcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights here as part of tour of Bolivia. Staff very friendly, breakfasts very tasty and the atmosphere in the hotel is perfect. Would highly recommend staying here to get a real feel of Colonial Bolivia.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Tina

Thank you very much for your comments and sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate your kind visit and would like to invite you anytime you get back to Sucre.

Our best wishes for you and have a very good journey home.

Raúl Espíndola
desumerced.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

In addition to being a very good hotel, the efficiency and friendliness of the reception staff is of great help to the foreign traveller. Good food and breakfast with fresh bread every morning. We liked the fact that managment / owners were present

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 417lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Public Relations Manager at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Friends,

It is wonderful to meet and receive visitors like you, who really value ancient buildings and care to keep them as originals as they were built. Thank you so much fo your kind words. They encourage us to keep up the good work, get our best wishes fo your trip home.

It will be great to receive you any time again.

Our kindest regards.

Raúl Espíndola
desumerced.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I was impressed by the hotel . the place has good view on the rooftop. the rooms are large and comfortable. It also has services such as laundry. I would recommend this to everyone. the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuanxi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Public Relations Manager at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Friends,

What a rewardingfeedback you shared with us, we are all movedand encouraged to keep up this jobwe love. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and your memorye about us is, too. Be welcome anytime you get to visit our city, we will be more than pleased to serve you again.

Our best wishes for your trip.

Raúl Espíndola
desumerced.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

A old colonial house refurbished as nice boutique hotel. Some rooms may need some further improvement but the overall atmosphere, level of service and position in town, makes this location of the best options in Sucre.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Riccardo,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we would really appreciate your views about how to enhance the service in our rooms. Your ideas are valuable and very important, please feel free to write to us hotel@desumerced.com and we would love to apply them to improve our customers' experience.

Thank you for your visit and make our ancient house a special place for you.

Our best wishes and regards.

Raúl Espíndola Rissiotti
desumerced.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

On a Bolivian friend's recommendation with the advantage of one of our party currently resident in La Paz, we booked two triple rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs in this cute, historic hotel in the heart of the central part of Sucre, a short walking distance to the main plaza and good restaurants.

Although only passing through Sucre for just the one night, our group of 4 adults and 2 children (11 and 14) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel su Merced, the name of which really did bely the attentive and helpful service we received from check in to departure.

The rooms and beds were very comfortable with antique wooden furniture, smallish but adequate bathroom with basic but clean linen. The wifi was adequate although not exceptional, albeit with 2-3 devices active per room. The lovely manager Adriana was all class in her friendly attention to our simple requests. For example, she allowed us to keep one of our rooms as a base for several hours over the usual checkout time without charge which was much appreciated.

We loved the outlook from the terraces and spent some time in the sunny early evening admiring the gorgeous views before the winter chill set in after sunset (see photos).

Without doubt a highlight was waking up to a delicious and comprehensive breakfast buffet with definite French influence, reminiscent of a stay in a French Chateau given it is served in a characterful and charming period dining salon.

Offerings included 2-3 fresh juices, multiple cakes including a divine fresh fruit salad of papaya, pineapple, kiwi fruit and apple, Lemon Meringue Pie (go figure?!), Quiche Lorraine, another delicious quiche with leeks and the usual host of scrambled eggs, fresh bread and confiture, continental meats, local cheese, crepes and cereals.

There was copious, freshly brewed strong coffee and very convivial atmosphere to breakfast in. We were all genuinely sad to leave and all of us would stay again on returning to Sucre.

In summary: Marvellous One Night Experience in Charming Central Characterful Hotel du Merced, Sucre

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank chpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hotel de Su Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your online feed back, "paying attention to details" is a creed to us and it is just great to know that we were able to make you feel like that, that not only your visit is important to us but also your whole experience and expectations. Your comment is so kind and inspiring, it will be for sure shared with our staff. We hope to be able to receive you any time soon.

Thank you very much once again and get our best wishes.

Raúl Espíndola
desumerced.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews