We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copacabana Stay”
Review of Hotel Utama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Utama
Ranked #2 of 13 Copacabana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This a nice clean hotel. Just a five minute walk to plaza or lake. They have a good breakfast every morning. The folks running the hotel have been very nice and helpful. I stayed here before and chose to return on my second visit to Copacabana.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed in Copacabana for 4 nights, which admittedly is a bit too long. Hotel Utama was a comfortable, albeit basic option for our time in the town.

We had a corner room on the second floor with nice views of the town and the lake. A little bit noisy from the street noise, but that is to be expected.

Breakfast was sufficient, but rather than a buffet-style like most hotels, they had someone serving a set breakfast to everyone. You get a yogurt, a small bowl of cornflakes, a small bowl of fruit, one pancake, one scrambled or fried egg, a small slice of cheese, ham, and tomato, and one bun. Sufficient to fuel you up for the day, but nothing special.

The hotel also has free water, coca tea and fruit available in the lobby throughout the day.

Yes, the heaters in the room are only functional between 6-10PM, and you need to ask reception to turn them on. We didn't find our room to be too cold and there were tons of blankets on the bed, but I can understand how it might bother some people.

The shower has an electric shower head heater. For the water to get hot, the pressure has to be pretty low, so it's not the best shower in the world.

The hotel is up a bit of a hill from the center of town, so you're going to be a bit puffed walking there, especially if you're not used to the altitude.

The wifi is pretty unreliable, but that is the case with most Bolivian hotels. The signal is much stronger in the lobby area than in the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a great view of Lake Titcaca
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBtlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the garden side in double room. Hotel is pretty and room was big with one big bed and one single bed. Shower pressure was so low it was hard to wash your hair. The worst thing was that the little radiator in the room could only be turned on by the reception during 6pm and 10pm!!! then electricity to it was shutted down and you are left to sleep in a cold room!! we tried to go to reception only to find out that the main gate to garden was locked from the outside so we could not get out or to reception..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ninal159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Clean room and helpful stuff, but not all speak English.
Heater from 6-10pm available- just ask the reception to turn it on.
Typical bolivean shower - hot water but no pressure at all.
Huge breakfast.
Wifi is super slow....

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank kati g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Staff walk around in coats all day, that tells you everything you need to know about the temperature in this hotel. You can only have your heating turned on from 6-10pm and you need to ask them to do this each day. I was very ill with food poisoning and they refused to turn it on earlier they also charged me $20 to stay in my room for a few more hours as our bus was at 6 and I was still unwell.
No wardrobes, tiny portable TVs, you need to run around in the shower to get wet - although at least that is hot. Breakfast is okay.
Wouldn't stay here or in Copacabana for more than one night.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel La Cupula
Hotel La Cupula
#2 of 13 in Copacabana
772 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 13 in Copacabana
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Las Olas
Las Olas
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
548 reviews
0 km away
La Aldea del Inca
La Aldea del Inca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
132 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostal Real los Andes del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utama

Address: Calle Michell Perez esq. San Antonio s/n, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Copacabana
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms overlooking Lake Titicaca, (clean and safe)all rooms have private bathroom (hot water all day) and American breakfast.The hotel aims to make guests feel at home, with friendly servicewe have free transfer to and from the bus station with advance booking.we also offer a general tourist information,we have free parking, telephone booths available, and laundry service.we offered you free fruit, coca tea, and sweets all day in the loby,(free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Utama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing