We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome schnitzel!”
Review of Bavaria Siem Reap

Bavaria Siem Reap
Ranked #8 of 1,121 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Description: Bavarian cosiness and hospitality awaits you in Siem Reap! Just 5 minutes away from the famous, but noisy Pub Street, the Bavaria Restaurant with its stylish terrace is the perfect place to taste original Bavarian specialties such as Bratwurst with Sauerkraut or an original Schnitzel. Enjoy a tasty Hofbräu beer after a strenuous day in Angkor!
Restaurant details
Description: Bavarian cosiness and hospitality awaits you in Siem Reap! Just 5 minutes away from the famous, but noisy Pub Street, the Bavaria Restaurant with its stylish terrace is the perfect place to taste original Bavarian specialties such as Bratwurst with Sauerkraut or an original Schnitzel. Enjoy a tasty Hofbräu beer after a strenuous day in Angkor!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came based on recommendation from Dream Mango round the corner and loved it - great spread of food and beers and super quick service - no complaints!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adequate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Awesome wheat beer and great pork schnitzels . Good service as well . Will be coming back for more :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

A must try their sausages and their homemade pastas. This is easily the best in town and highly recommend for anyone who is visiting Siem Reap.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Yvan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

I am a resident of Cambodia and a frequent visitor to Siem Reap. Tonight my friends and I had the misfortune of poor food and service and unfriendly and rude management at this establishment.

I ordered the Vienna sausages off the menu and given the German theme of the restaurant, the name and the price, expected something resembling wholesome German food. Instead of which I received two synthetic sausages, which the manager later admitted were straight out of a packet, and a thin slice of dry sliced bread.

Upon raising my concerns politely with the manager, I was told and I quote "What do you expect in Cambodia, us to make our own sausages?" Well quite frankly, yes! The Meat Shop, Strokesy Meats, Dans Meats and many other local businesses in Cambodia that take pride in producing their own quality western foods, including sausages.

The manager even admitted that the brand was TGF, a famous processed food that is available for $3.50 for a packet of twenty in most minimarts in Cambodia. He charged me that price for two singles! My friend, who runs a chain of hotels in Siem Reap remarked that they were the same sausages he buys into his hotels for the buffet breakfasts! They were certainly not Vienna sausages.

The manager refused to listen to us or deal with our concerns and said he would reply to this review. I am interested in how he can reasonably justify selling processed packet sausages as Vienna sausages and charging an overinflated price for them. He should learn from other local producers in Cambodia on how to take pride in food preparation.

A very poor experience and we will not be returning. As previously mentioned I am a frequent visitor to Siem Reap and my friend runs a chain of hotels here so due to the manager's lack of customer service skills and complete ignorance in what he falsely advertises, we will make sure we warn our friends and acquaintances in this town about this restaurant and business will be lost.

With the poor quality of food and service, misadvertisement of food and abrupt management, I doubt this place will be in business much longer!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank JamesKateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias B, Inhaber at Bavaria Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear James,
thank you for your feedback of Bavaria Restaurant Siem Reap!
We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience when dining in our restaurant.

It is a bit hard to agree though that you asked “politely” for more information about our dishes – actually you where in a bad mood already when taking seat. You continued to attack the manager who is an extremely patient and friendly man, and accused him of being a shame (!) for the German cooking. He finally gave it up to discuss with you, as he saw that nothing could change your mood: you were obviously biased in advance, and with the intention to damage a business with a good reputation.
We are open now for nearly 1 year and had never any issues with our Vienna sausages till this day, having sold them more than a hundred times. Nobody, including many customers from Germany found them distasteful. All our sausage products are resourced from German producers while the bread is made by an Austrian master craftsman.

Your own unfriendly attitude from the start makes your whole bad dining experience a bit questionable. Your impolite way of talking down to our staff (all other guests love the friendliness of our employees!) made it impossible to find a solution on the spot or to satisfy you in any way with our food. Then you turned completely angry, as you apparently weren’t satisfied with our product.
Now you still keep threatening us with damaging our business for no substantial reason, especially after you ate the whole dish which you complained about. On top of that you finished the meal of your friend as well. (As a part of our effort to always improve our service and quality we check the leftovers on the plates, as they are a clear indicator of our guest´s satisfaction. Even though our portions are very generous, leftovers are usually sparse - in your case as well.)

We do apologize for any misunderstanding or miscommunication which may have occurred on that evening or if you simply didn’t enjoy your meal, but we do not accept any of your rude claims of being an unauthentic German restaurant.

We hope you can solve your anger issues, and find a dining place that welcomes you and your attitude.
Kind regards,
Bavaria Siem Reap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We discovered this little gem on TA and took our 4 kids for dinner.

Definitely the best beer in Siem Reap. The first time i have seen real Munich beer outside of Germany. A real treat.

We all had the schnitzel, a family favorite. The owner was a very attentive and hospitable host. A great experience all round!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BarnabyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavaria Siem Reap also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bavaria Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing