We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

APOPO Visitor Center
Ranked #6 of 200 things to do in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place gives you a great insight of what they're doing here and you get to see the herorats in action. The tour takes about 45-1hour depending on how many questions you have and is only $5pp. It shocks me that not many people know about this amazing place, even our hotel didn't! Can't recommend enough! :)

1  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jack,

Thank you so much for your review.

It was a pleasure having you within the center,

Please do not hesitate to visit our website for further information.

Best regards,

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"land mines"
in 18 reviews
"saving lives"
in 7 reviews
"short video"
in 5 reviews
"unexploded ordnance"
in 4 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"background information"
in 4 reviews
"worthy cause"
in 6 reviews
"success rate"
in 2 reviews
"help clear"
in 2 reviews
"informative video"
in 2 reviews
"non profit organization"
in 2 reviews
"visit takes"
in 2 reviews
"raise awareness"
in 2 reviews
"usd person"
in 2 reviews
"information boards"
in 3 reviews
"learn how"
in 5 reviews
"really enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

a must go for an amazing cause and a solution to solving mine problems worldwide. the rats are super cute aswell.

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Peter M,

Thank you so much for your review.

It was a pleasure having you within the center,

Please do not hesitate to visit our website for further information.

Best regards,

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting!

The tour takes 45 minutes and cost $5USD per person. You get a brief history to understand the importance and impact of land mine on Cambodia. Next the guide will go through how it works, types of mines and safety all while answering any questions you may have. Then you are introduced to the rat that will preform the demonstration. The rat that will do the demonstration is happily retired from the field and evidently well looked after and cared for. After the quick demonstration you go to watch a 7 min video which fills in any gaps, here you can order a nice cold drink as well. The last section displays some old-mines and more of the workings of the center with the opportunity to purchase memorabilia.

My family and I all enjoyed the trip a lot and each of us where able to take away something from it. We all learnt something new and i would recommend it if you are in the area.

1  Thank Zoe Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Zoe Jade F

Thank you so much for coming to the center,

It was a pleasure having within the center,

Please do not hesitate to visit our website for further information.

Best regards,

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't add any more to all the excellent reviews already written about the Apopo Visitor Centre and its importance to the landmine clearing process in Cambodia. We fortunately only came across APOPO's existence the day before we left Siem Reap - after a week already spent there.

Its existence needs increased exposure - and education of and support from hotels and visitor centres - than it obviously presently receives. We took some cards back to our hotel and they were like, meh! Our Tuk Tuk driver didn't even know where it was. Even he was impressed.

A brillian organisation deserving of your support.

Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear HappyTravelsQld,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback,

The center has been opened recently and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information.

Have a wonderful day,

APOPO Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely take some time to do a tour of APOPO whilst you are in Siem Reap. The tour guides are excellent and answer questions well and keep you interested. It is amazing to actually see the rats 'practice' looking for metal/TNT and the way they let the staff know that they have found it. A great cause to support and heartbreaking to learn about the terrible history of landmines in Cambodia.

Thank Kaelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kaelar,

Thank you so much for coming to the center,

It was a pleasure having within the center,

Please do not hesitate to visit our website for further information.

Best regards,

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed APOPO Visitor Center also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to APOPO Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing