We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - great for new year's eve!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed here for about 5 nights starting on New Year's Eve. When I first arrived I wasn't too impressed with the loud music and dormmates sleeping in the middle of the day, but my mood quickly changed. There was a party in the hostel that night where I quickly met some new people and we all went off to the Siem Reap street party (highly recommended).

Dorms are clean, with one bathroom shared between 6 people. In the hostel there is a pool and bar, which also serves pretty good food on the odd occasion you can't be bothered going out for dinner. There are also hammocks to relax in and a foosball table to play on with your new friends.

Staff were pretty friendly and extending my stay by a few nights was no problem. The hostel is only a short walk from the centre of Siem Reap. There are a couple of free internet computers. My last point, the tuk tuk drivers hanging directly out front of the hostel are really good! I think I paid $20-30 to have one drive me out to the Angkor centre for conservation and biodiversity, wait 3 hours for my tour to finish, and drive me back. He was very friendly.

Overall, highly recommended. I will definitely be staying here when I am back in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophinarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,017 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was exactly what I was looking for in a hostel in Siem Reap. Clean rooms [although the AC was quite strong!], delicious food, wifi and a great vibe. The bar and pool area is a great place to meet people to go to the temples with, and everyone both guests and staff are super friendly. The cheeseburgers are amazing, best I've had in Asia so far! Only thing I could recommend would be strengthening the wifi a little more as it didn't quite reach my room on the 1st floor.. Other than that, I couldn't recommend it enough and it gives me even more reason to come back! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Great place to stay. Clean, air con, helpful staff and a bar over looking a pool.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRabbit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed here for almost 3 months while I was volunteering in Siem Reap and the Siem Reap Hostel felt like home. If I could do it all over again, I'd still pick the same place. The staff were incredibly helpful and after a few weeks became close friends. The atmosphere is so relaxing. The rooms are incredibly clean with very comfortable beds. This hostel is a great place to meet amazing people and also wonderful if you need a cozy place to relax - since it's rather big and open-aired, there is always a quiet place to go, but the bar is friendly and fun and if you want to see the best of siem reap, this is the place where you'll meet the perfect people to see it with. The hostel provides tons of tips of the best places to see in and around Siem Reap/Angkor Wat and they are happy to set up bus tickets to your next destination. It's in very close proximity to to the center of town (5 minutes), but if you're too lazy to walk there is always a tuk-tuk outside the hostel that will take you in to town for $1. The pool is great after a warm day, the AC in the rooms works perfectly and there is free wireless in the common areas. It's a fantastic place to live for 3 months and I look forward to going back .... the cheeseburger with pickles is the best in Siem Reap. Enjoy and make sure to say hi to Chris and Tiani as they are great hosts !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariabellizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

stayed there last august booked the 3 bed private ensuite which i must say was the best value for money i have even encountered , the room was immaculate , the bathroom huge with and enclosed shower area , the hostel receptionist helped book our transport for angkor wat , breakfast was free when i checked last and they have a nice short order menu with pizza's and bar snacks too . the hostel has a nice backpacker scene with a free pool table and an enclosed pool . and free internet . that being said , try not to venture out alone too late , or atleast make sure you are NOT alone when getting back to the hostel late at night as there had been cases of muggings reported but not confined to this area alone , let common sense prevail , cheers

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalshetty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 km away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#47 of 373 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
1.1 km away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 311 in Siem Reap
2,402 reviews
0.8 km away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 311 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Golden Gecko Villa
The Golden Gecko Villa
#1 of 311 in Siem Reap
134 reviews
1 km away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#46 of 311 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
2.6 km away
Hak's House Residence
Hak's House Residence
#45 of 311 in Siem Reap
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $16 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing