We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
140
88
18
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
88
18
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews non chinese western food per night nice resort private pool yogurt seafood villa bbq privacy supermarket asia facilities hainan china
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Four night stay in 156sm villa with my three 7-12 year old kids. Villa with private pool was great, rooms large with excellent air conditioning. Rest of facilities good quality. Staff was always friendly with limited English speakers. Lots of families, nearly all Chinese. Need shuttle to get to hotel beach which is not actually very good compared to public beach. Hotel lacks a bit of professionalism I would expect from a 4 star here - namely room service and beach drinks could not be charged to room despite credit card deposit. Also, on checkout they ask for 198 "city tax" surcharge which they could not explain in English (unprofessional part is not to inform at check-in). After consulting with travel agent (ctrip) charge was reduced to 44 RMB, 11 rmb per night per adult. Go figure.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank alliov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We visited Sanya three years ago and enjoyed it enough to come back. Last time, we were at Howard Johnson's, which was very pleasant, but I'm glad we decided on the Grand Metropark for this visit.

The place isn't cheap: about $500/night for a two-room villa, but we're a family of five, including three young kids, and we needed a place to spread out in. We were there not long before Chinese New Year, during which the price for a regular hotel room goes up to $1,000/night or more.

The GM Hotel was fantastic. The villa was amazing, and we had our own infinity pool. Weather wasn't the best, but we managed.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Yes, the location is a bit off the "strip", but we liked the fact that we could enjoy the resort without throngs of people wandering in from other hotels. The shuttles the Hotel runs makes it very convenient to go to the beach and other areas.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, and we ate at the buffet restaurant one night (good, but not quite up to the levels of the other parts of the hotel). The other nights, we went to the nearby "shopping mall" or to restaurants at other hotels -- that gave us the variety we wanted (the GM Hotel's dinner buffet doesn't change "themes" nightly, so if you eat there more than once a week, you'll have the same dishes each time).

Facilities at the GM Hotel were very good. We crashed the pool areas of some other hotels -- Hilton was good (and we stayed there for dinner after enjoying their pool area all day), Mangrove Hotel had a really nice kids playground and kids water slide; the Sheraton was the only place that told us that we couldn't use their pool because we weren't guests (they wanted over 1000 RMB for day-use passes, though they eventually went down to 750 -- about $120 US$; we didn't stay).

The GM Hotel's beach area was very nice, and I was surprised at how much nicer the beaches in the Yaolong Bay area were compared to the other areas we had seen -- the water was crystal clear, the sand fine and clean, and there was plenty of seating for guests.

What really separates a great hotel from a good one is the details, and the GM Hotel delivered in this area. Someone in the staff noticed from my wife's passport that her birthday fell on the 13th, while we were staying at the Hotel. When we got home from dinner that night, there was a birthday cake waiting on our dining room table for us, compliments of the Hotel. We were also surprised to learn that they pick up tab for the taxi ride to the airport -- another pleasant surprise.

We loved out time at the GM Hotel, and would go back if we ever return to Sanya (we're moving back to the US this year, so it's not likely we'll be vacationing in China anytime soon). It is a bit pricey, but it's a spectacular place with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirgilA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

[+] There are melexes going often from to hotel to the hotel beach (via main street, you can exit anywhere).
[+] Breakfast was amazing. Like 100 metres of smorgasbord with everything: wide selection of juices, fruits, sushi, cakes, bread, pancakes, noodles, spring rolls, yogurts, Chinese snacks I was not a fan of... I am hard to pleased when it comes to food and I WAS pleased.
[+] As in China: staff does not speak English. Two of them knew some words but not enough to communicate. Still, with gestures, drawings, internet and good will, you can do anything. I managed to book a place on a trip bus that collects people from different hotels and goes to a tourist destinations. The bus was to arrive at 8.30 am so we were near the main road (remember, 500metres from the hotel) around 8.25. Five minutes later two people from the hotel staff arrived and called the bus to ensure it would come. And it came :)
[+] It might be because we were the only Europeans in the hotel but from the second day on everybody knew which room we were staying in and they seemed to be offended (I mean it positive not that they were unpleasant) when I mentioned it coming to the breakfast or anytime :)
[+] Big room, big luxurious bathroom.
[-] Location is not best: 500 metres from the Sanya main road (oh, correct me: from *anything*).
[-] The "golf view" was in fact "thick bushes view" but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natalia_sakowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice but in terrible location.
The beach at the time we came was a construction site, terrible. Sanya beach is nothing special and the water is dirty. All Sanya has very bad value for money. An hour more of fly and you can arrive in Thailand.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank checazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in a family pool villa from 14 to 16 june 2014 with my family of 4. A really nice resort for taking a break if u don't mind the distance from the city and market. Both the rooms have access to the pool directly. The garden, although a bit small, is good enough for a short stay. The garden oversees a river with nice view. The other twin room stands alone, which might not be suitable if the kids are young but ok for teenage kids.
the pools of the hotel are well designed, which depth suitable for family with kids, and nice view. The gym is disappointed with few equipments and is very small. On the other hand, the spa is fine.
the charges for theme parks and other water sports are expensive given the quality and the duration. The equipments are quite worn out at the yalong bay. Everything is money, money, money. If not for the sake of my teenage kids, i won't spend a dollar on those "water sports".
the beach is nice and was not crowded during this period of time.
generally the hotel is a good place for relaxation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jeanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews