We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$114
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$129
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$37
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$505
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
335
31
8
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
31
8
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub millesimethai restaurantimperial suiteluxury roomhorse riding on the beachfrench eleganceinterior decorationrestaurants serveexcellent hospitalityspecial thanksfelt like homethe hotel managerrelaxing weekendawesome stayhaitang baybeach poolhotel facilities
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We are a couple from Melbourne, Australia. We stayed at Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort during February 2017 for 4 nights. We are Accor Plus members with Le Club Platinum status. We have stayed at several Sofitel's around the world so we have high expectations for service and quality of the resort that we've come to expect from the Sofitel brand. Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort did not disappoint! It is a brand new hotel, some 12 months old. The hotel itself is amazing. It is set on large property in the Haitang Bay area and backs up onto the beach. It faces east, so views from high floors of the sunrises are amazing. We stayed in an Imperial Suite with Ocean Views in the Jade Tower. The weather at this time was mid 20s and quite windy at times so make sure you bring some long sleeves!

We arrived in a Sofitel arranged limousine service and were warmly greeted by staff waiting for our arrival. The team quickly swung into action. Ella Zhang, Guest Service Manager, escorted us to Club Millesime. From that point on and throughout our entire stay, Ella single-handedly made our experience most memorable, easy and comfortable. We able to easily communicate with her in English without any misunderstanding. Her attentive service and continually going above and beyond for us each and every day, made us feel very special throughout our stay. She should be highly commended. Without her, our experience wouldn't have been the same. Also special thanks to Jodie, Jenny and Vivian from Club Millesime.

The hotel ground and facilities are exceptional! There are 2 pool areas. The main pool is heated. Children have a great water play area and kids club. There is a swim up bar. There are plenty of sun lounges. Was never an issue to find a pair and have our own private area without being crammed next to other guests. The Recreation Club was great. There were daily activities from bike riding, Yoga, Taiichi, soccer and ping pong tournaments. The hotel also offered horse riding on the beach and has its own helicopter! We hired bicycles and ride through nearby walking tracks along the coast and amongst well-manicured gardens. We played tennis and went for walks on the beach. Big thanks to the team at the Recreation Club - especially to Felix, John, Danian and Thierry! Be prepared to spend most of your time at the resort as there is nothing else around.

We also visited the in-house So Spa facility. No visit to a Sofitel hotel is complete without a So Spa session. The facility was amazing. The hotel also has a "KTV" service. There are several karaoke rooms available for hire. We had a blast one night singing and thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Good thing the rooms are sound proof and no one had to listen to our out-of-tune singing. There was a decent collection of English songs. So much in fact that we easily stayed in there for 2 hours. Highly recommended for a fun night!

We also stayed during Valentine's Day so we spoilt ourselves to a special romantic outdoor dinner. We were 1 of 4 tables set outside in front of the Crystal Hall. We were serenaded by a trio family band from Paraguay. The 5 course French set menu was amazing. Received red rose and gifts. We truly felt special. Big thanks to Bill and Aaron for their attentive service on the night and throughout all the nights we dined at the in-house restaurants.

In a hotel of several hundred guests, we could clearly count on a single hand the number of Westerners staying at the hotel. Initially, this was quite confronting. Especially as language was a small barrier. All the staff were able to make an effort and we also managed to learn the basics. Lots of intriguing looks from other guests. But we soon learnt how to acknowledge and say a friendly hello amongst fellow travellers. However, very quickly, being the minority worked in our favour as all the hotel staff came to learn to identify us and we constantly received the right amount of attention.

To the General Manager, whilst we didn't get the opportunity to meet, you should be very proud of your staff. People are your most important asset, far more valuable than the hotel itself. The service and professionalism shown is of global Sofitel standard and certainly propels this resort to international a 5-star standard. Keep up the great work and we hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jason_Kim14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三亚理文索菲特度假酒店, Manager at Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay is wonderful and you enjoyed the activities provided by the recreation department and the dinner outside the Crystal Hall with the Band.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I decided to avoid the CNY crowds and arrived in Sanya a week later in a 4star hotel X I booked in downtown Sanya with a beautiful view of the bay. However after the first and next 14 hours of very loud noise coming from 5 "different' musical groups in the street below our room, we decided to end the nightmare and leave. After a quick search I found what was a double miracle sent from haven: SOFITEL Sanya !

From the first moments of checking with the very friendly executive receptionist / Ambassador Ella, we felt right at home. She was very gracious providing us the best selection of a room facing the ocean. Thanks Ella !
We spent 4 days and evenings in the gorgeous resort with beautiful landscaping, beach, interior decoration and ambiance with European / French flavor or.. "je ne sais quoi". We especially enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the smaller / quitter breakfast buffet in the Ambassador lounge with a nice beach view and again ..the special warm service by Ella ! She was also exceptionally helpful in many daily services we needed.

We also met the general activities / entertainment manager Thierry who gave us excellent advice on what to do within and around the complex. He also introduced us to general manager Damien who was also very friendly giving us lots of good information about Hainan, China and our next trips.
We loved All the Sofitel facility: walk on the beach & gardens, swimming in many of the various pools, the food, etc... so much that we did not want to leave ! The only day we left this haven was to visit the fisherman village for special dinner and local duty free luxurious shopping center. Also, my wife had the best SPA experience in her life at the Sofitel...while I was daydreaming on the beach...
In summary, the Sofitel Sanya is a beautiful resort in haven !...and in addition to it, what makes it exceptional are the efficient & warm service and hospitality of all the staff , especially Ella, Thierry and Damien ! We'd definitely go back to Sofitel, bring more friends and family ! Thanks again to all !

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edrio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We are from Vancouver, Canada and stayed at the hotel over Chinese New Year and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms. food and especially the service which was simply the best I have experienced in all of my travels. The area is newer with lots to do and having lunch or dinner on a floating restaurant at the nearby fishing village is a must. Lots of kids and families and great mai-tais in the swim up bar. Great place to unwind and soak up the sun! Hope to get back soon

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jparkes888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三亚理文索菲特度假酒店, Manager at Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I stayed in Sofitel Sanya to celebrate 2017 New Year with my family. With my large travel experience with Accor chain, I had no particular high expectations for this hotel, as I was quite sure about its general quality and service. However, our stay in Sanya Sofitel Leeman left me and my family very nice experience. Firstly the room: The room is very spacious. We have added one extra bed and there are still plenty of room to move around. The décor is chic and comfortable. The bathroom is particularly large and nice. Secondly the restaurants: The breakfast is great with so many choices, probably the widest selection of breads in Sanya, best croissant in the area. Chinese restaurant offers good local delicacies. A bit pricey but the quality is the best among all 3 restaurants. Thai Restaurant is a bit average, but good for a change from time to time. Thirdly the beach and water facilities: We did not swim due to the weather, but it must be a paradise for kids and family having water fun. Entertainment: That's the highlight of the hotel. During holiday season it offers so many activities throughout the day. Thierry, the entertainment chief of the hotel, is such a nice and fun person! Being a professional dancer and singer, Thierry showed me his passion about dancing and even gave me a dance lesson in the gym! My family took part in the NY party at the hotel, singing and dancing with the crowds. The night was ended perfectly with a fireworks show. We had great fun! Thank you very much!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三亚理文索菲特度假酒店, Manager at Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort.

We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I decided to stay in Sofitel with families to celebrate my baby's first birthday, because it says 1) kids friendly; 2) newly opened.
Pos: there are many facilities for kids, indoor and outdoor; bed is comfy and room service is good; food is OK, not as good as expected. Cons: reception service is terrible; there is a cockroach found in bathroom and I was told by front manager Jenny that this is normal in Sanya. (Shocked! As my doors are closed for air con) now I explain how reception staffs ruined my baby's first birthday...... I phoned three times before arriving to assure they are aware of a birthday cake. And face to face talked to reception staffs (Sussanna, Gary, and a lady cant remember her name) to inform them the time and venue of the dinner and the cake. However, the message didn't pass to kitchen by the time we started to complain. (Not mentioned we have waited 10mins for a table in Hainan Pearl dining room, and another 10mins for Jenny at hall) We started to order food nearly an hour late than our booking time. Jenny brought a chocolate mousse cake instead of a birthday cake and didn't explain their fault until I asked why the cake looks different? (Shall I think it's a kind of cheating?) there are more to say regarding to her unprofessional performance, GM could contact me for details. All she can do is saying sorry! And nothing else. Have been to Kempinski and Westin in this area, and unfortunately the Sofitel front desk is the worst. I will always remember the way she talks to a cockroach: it is normal in Sanya! Yes and normal in a newly opened five star hotel bathroom?!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cherry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三亚理文索菲特度假酒店, Manager at Sofitel Sanya Leeman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay at the Sofitel Leeman Resort with us.

We are very sorry to know that your stay was not a pleasant one. We strive to offer every guest a stay at great value and with great comfort, so it is disappointing to know that we did not meet your expectation. We have addressed these issues with our managers and the team. Rest assured we will take these matters seriously and enhance the training for the team to continue improving our services and quality.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews