We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Super Bowl Fest”

Carney's BBQ & Grill
Ranked #13 of 1,564 Restaurants in Shenyang
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Description: Run by Frank, an American native, Carney's BBQ & Grill offers a selection of Southern Style dishes. From smoked BBQ ribs that fall off the bone, to quality 100% beef burgers and a variety of subs/sandwiches, Carney's has something for everyone. With a bar that carries a selection of Craft Beers, and Moonshine that'll give you a true taste of the South, at Carney's you wont be disappointed!
Restaurant details
Description: Run by Frank, an American native, Carney's BBQ & Grill offers a selection of Southern Style dishes. From smoked BBQ ribs that fall off the bone, to quality 100% beef burgers and a variety of subs/sandwiches, Carney's has something for everyone. With a bar that carries a selection of Craft Beers, and Moonshine that'll give you a true taste of the South, at Carney's you wont be disappointed!
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I had a great time with friends at this place. We watched the Eagles plays the Patriots. And true to everyone's word, the food was excellent. I had the big breakfast there and it was a tasty wake up call for an explosive morning! Carney's is known for their BBQ. But they also have a delicious line up of craft beers on tap. Although there was unlimited Budweiser, I had a pint of my favourite Brewdog IPA and a very nice stout. For a sizeable event, they handled it very well. Great fun, great food, great company... a Shenyang favourite.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Juggernaut0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Carney's BBQ & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Glad you enjoyed it at Carney's, it's always nice to see good feedback. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Friday night, and after hearing from friends and reading all the reviews, was surprised to see it not very busy at all. Service was brutal to say the least. Could hear the American cook yelling at staff and belittling them which I thought was unprofessional. The server had to come back 3 separate times to inform us that items we ordered were unavailable at the time. Was looking forward to craft beer on tap, but, yet again, many of my first choices were not available. Seems a shame considering how many taps are behind the bar. The BBQ sauce was pretty good, but that was the only saving grace. Chili dog tasted like it had been microwaved, the burger was bland, and the ribs were soft, but SUPER greasy. Didn't enjoy the atmosphere and don't plan on going back anytime soon.

Thank BellairHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

There is nothing more to say except the title.Came in for the ribs, returned for the ribs.The food is just amazing.Whenever I'm in Shenyang my first stop is here for some food and drinks.Would recommend it to everyone for the fine taste!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brezo_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Carney's BBQ & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thanks a lot! It's nice to see our signature dish is still so popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We arrived around 13.00 to a completely empty restaurant. The single member of staff in the restaurant was very friendly and sat us quickly and was efficient to take a drinks order and served in good time.
The Service attendant then came to our table to take an order, first four items we selected were not available. US style BBQ restaurant, the BBQ food mostly not available, Chicken, ribs, pulled pork and no chicken or ham available for a chicken salad from the menu. Having heard this we should have left the restaurant, sadly we did not. We ordered a Turkey salad, which in itself was OK, The chili hot dog, a grey/brown mess in a bun, the chili had no chili and no bite or taste. The Chili hamburger also a very poor looking burger with no spice or taste to speak of.
We felt bad for the Lady serving us as she could clearly see our dissatisfaction, but was unable to change anything. WE paid and left, never to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank MonsterGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

We, at Carney's, welcome any justified criticism and will always attempt to fix problems and issues. In regards to your pictures... we have high standards here at Carney's (with both taste and aesthetics) so our food would never leave the kitchen looking like that. Although we're not sure what happened between the food being served and you taking the picture, we have to insist that our well-trained chefs would not plate up the food like that. Even so, we can assure you that we are looking into this issue.

Our Chilli is freshly made by the owner, Frank, who uses his own secret recipe, which is flavourful and has a slight kick. The Chilli doesn't have an overpowering level of spice as we have to cater to everyone and, as we're sure you know, spice can be added but not taken away. If customers aren't happy with the amount of spice, the possibility of adding more is always there, although very few people do this as our Chilli has always received rave reviews.

We admit that sometimes we don't have some items available at lunchtime, which is due to the fact that we often sell out of our most popular dishes. Firing up the BBQ and cooking new batches is a lengthy process and, because we strive to ensure the freshness and quality of our food, they often aren't ready during lunch hours - this is something that we have always been very open about.

As you were apparently so unhappy with the food, we are disappointed that you did not air your complaints at the time, so your issues could have been resolved, You are more than welcome to return to Carney's and try our food again and, if your complaints are in fact legitimate, please feel free to speak to management and we will fix anything that you are dissatisfied with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My Chinese family and friends took me to Carney's for some American food. It just so happens that they were having a buffet with salad,corn on the cob,baked beans,small steaks and a pig that the owner Frank had been cooking from the night before!Everything was cooked to perfection and was delicious. If you happen to be in Shenyang stop in and have some great American food!

3  Thank XF-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

Thanks a lot for the feedback, really appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carney's BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing