We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
28
47
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
47
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel staff hotel is located residential area train station tv stars city taxi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile


Although the hotel appears not to be so old, when you get in, you have the feeling to be in an old hotel.

The hotel reception looks "sad" because is not so Illuminated and too much silence.

During the week i had the sensation i were almost alone in the hotel.
The carpets don't look too clean.

The room is enought big with comfortable king size beds and very pleasent bed linnen. May be is the best of the hotel !!

The room looks clean (except the carpet) and the room service quite good.

The wifi service is very bad and it is almost impossible to work from the hotel.

The restaurant it is a little bit slow, but the food is quite good, including local & international food.

The waiters are very efficients and can speak english fluently.

Regarding to the situation, you can walk in a few minutes to nice gardens and local shops although is not in the middle of the city.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank solaris300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a residential area facing a little park named after a local lady, Xishi, who helped to save her country during a war around 475 B.C. My room is spacious and comfortable. Many restaurants for local food behind the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful, Gary and Tom even helped me to track my bags delayed during the air travel.
You will need a taxi to the tourists center but only cost less than $2.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank ZhidaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
绍兴世茂假日酒店, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shaoxing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your comment of our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

I stayed in this hotel a couple of time before but many things have change since the last time. The rooms are not as clean as the used to be, the carpets where not as clean and also there was a smell in the room. Furthermore one of the things I liked before is that the Staff were english speaking and very helpful, now only part of the staff understand english and the service has decline a great deal. To give you an example when we arrive the bell buttons see us taking our luggage from the car, he don't offer help, don't open the hotel door. he just stands there and see us, thats not good service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tono511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
绍兴世茂假日酒店, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shaoxing, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to know there were some problem in your trip which made you unhappy. I will share with our team about your comments, we will do our best to improve our service quality. Thank you again for your comments, we are hoping your next trip can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

After a 3 nights stay in Ningbo, we took a fast train (45 mins) to Shaoxing. Train tickets could be purchased online a few weeks before travel, but when retrieving tickets at the train station, you would need to provide Passports. Once in Shaoxing, we took a cab (30 mins) to arrive at the Holiday Inn Hotel, RMB$50.

As our room is still not ready at 11.45am, we walked some 200-300 to nearby SiMao Plaza to have lunch and some grocery shopping at the supermarket. Once back to the Hotel, we finally got our room at 2.30pm. Our twin room on the 9th floor was spacious, rather new and beds were softer here than Ningbo's New Garden Hotel, nice!

Everything worked in the room - safe, minibar, TV, Wifi etc. Breakfasts the next day was pretty good for the price we have paid and we enjoyed some local cuisine here. Since there is no pool in this Hotel, we made use of the Fitness room and was rather impressed with the range of equipment there.

Hotel lobby is modern, classy and quite spacious. All staff were friendly and helpful, booking taxis whenever we wanted. The reason why we did not rate this Hotel 5 stars is due to its location - slightly further from the downtown sights. However, taxis are in abundance and very cheap indeed. So, its not a problem.

This Hotel is located in a mainly classy residential area of Shaoxing. Fortunately, shopping is just 200-300m away and restaurants are right below and behind the Hotel. However, we had found these restaurants to be not as authentic and quite expensive. So, we normally dined at the nearby SiMao Plaza.

The closest sight to the Holiday Inn seemed to be Bazi Bridge, about a 10-12 mins walk away. This is the real Shaoxing where locals are still living in old houses. Bridges criss cross the little streams here, giving you a sense of Venice - authentic and very nice indeed!

Although many visitors to Shaoxing either give it only a few hours or at most stayed a night, but we felt Shaoxing deserved at least 2 nights due to its charm and a few sights to visit. And the Holiday Inn, with its reasonable rates and high quality accommodation, is indeed a very good choice for your stay in charming & laidback Shaoxing.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
绍兴世茂假日酒店, 公关经理 at Holiday Inn Shaoxing, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us.
I am very glad to know you have a nice day here. We located at Shaoxing Didang area, near the Shimao Plaza. We provide 3 kinds of set menu for guest. We are waiting for your next coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The title says it all really. The bed was comfy, the rooms pretty spacious and the price-tag was extremely competitive. The shower was one of the most powerful and instantly-hot I've had in years. The only minor let down would be the typical lack of English beyond 'hello' that the staff have. As someone else said here, if this was a local chain then fair enough, but Holiday Inn should have higher standards. Having said that, it didn't affect our stay very much.

Room Tip: The King rooms have panoramic windows, even though the view is not so panoramic.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
绍兴世茂假日酒店, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shaoxing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review of our Holiday Inn Shaoxing. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews