We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
556
125
37
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
125
37
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ground floor old city jacuzzi pool beautiful hotel walled city first floor free bikes modern touches an oasis lounge chairs romantic getaway excellent location restaurant staff pleasure of staying rain shower loved this hotel a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

For the first time, I can remember ever. We had to check out.


My partner and I (my partner spoke perfect Spanish) arrived on the Sunday at lunch and had an early check-in which was great. This was unfortunately the best part of the experience.

What was wrong:
1) There was no food available at all. We had not been told about this at all until we were at the pool area.
2) The water in the spa/pool on the top floor was disgusting dirty and had not been cleaned.
3) We pushed the buzzer to get service upstairs and no one came. We had to end up walking down to get a staff member.
4) Menus are all in Spanish and the wait staff couldn't speak any English.
4) Finally, the food menu from another restaurant arrived and we ordered. We ask to order drinks and was told another person would need to come. We waited another 10 minutes for this now over 45 minutes.
5) Drink staff had a can't be bothered attitude, she really was just so unhelpful and one of the main reasons for leaving.
6) Food arrives over one hour later and a staff member says there is a problem, we go down to see what is wrong. It was that they need payment. I didn't have credit card on me. The staff had one hour to organise this prior. The food is just sitting there getting cold and we had to go to our room to get credit card as they all waited in reception. We paid and now must wait to get a table set up.
7) Table set with no cutlery.
8) Food was obviously cold and not eatable.

The whole above experience took 2.5 hours and we were still hungry.

Apart from being a very basic average room for the money the whole service was a joke.

We decided to check out and move to another Hotel. Casa Claver. Well what a difference so happy we did move. The room, service and the upstairs pool area was such a difference compared to this hotel and for the same money.

I very ever write a review but this one needed to be written, as personally I found the value for money and experience very bad.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,
In first place, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might´ve had during your stay in Anandá Hotel Boutique.

As our Front Desk Team must’ve informed you, at the moment of the check in, Food and Beverage service is temporarily unavailable on the property (With the exception of breakfast Service), due to some very important works we’re having on our kitchen as a part or the restructuration of our restaurant. This is an effort we’re making in order to provide a better F&B service to all of our customers, but since we understand it can be problematic for some of our Guest, we´re making sure to inform of the situation at the moment of Check in and by leaving a letter with the information on every room.
Front Desk Team is assisting our Guests to order delivery services at some good and near restaurants. Although, the delivery services are not provided directly by us, we’ll make sure to only recommend restaurants that can provide a faster service. We apologize again, for the situation during your stay.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and you can be completely sure that each of them will be taken into account on our efforts to create memorable and positive experiences for our clients. We hope you can visit our city in the near future and having the opportunity to invite you to stay with us, so that you can give a second chance to our services.
Best regards,

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The Ananda is a nicely pulled-together collection of older buildings. Rooms have considerable variability, so ask to see yours first. The staff is friendly. The rooftop pool is sublime. And, the bar is private and open late.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pro698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Guest.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment, we really appreciate your stay at our hotel and we are happy beacuse you received an excellent service.

We hope to have you here again and enjoy the beauty of our hotel and our city.

Sincerely

Diego Manrique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Very nice hotel overall. Nice views from the terrace and in a great location with easy access to everything in the old town. Very nice shared spaces with a small pool and jacuzzi and common spaces but enough to have a great time. Rooms are very clean and modern and the service is outstanding....

Room Tip: Most rooms dont have open views and I liked mine next to the pool. Alternatively id ask for those with view to the street or pool in higher floors
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelww40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Traveler,

We really appreciate you for taking 5 minutes of your valuable time to write this great feedback about your stay at Anandá Hotel Boutique. Your comments incentive us to continue working for the perfection of our services, which have as purpose to reach the entire satisaction of all our guests.

We hope to welcome yo back the next time you decide to come to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

This lovely hotel is centrally located in the old town of Cartagena. It's very easy to walk to all the sites from here and then return for some time by the pool for some respite from the heat! Our room was very spacious and a lovely haven to relax in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We preferred to be in the old town rather than over in the newer part of town. We felt there was more atmosphere here and it was very easy to get around without needing a taxi.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vayestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.

Have a very good day!

Diego Manrique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had just come from adventuring in the jungles and islands around Colombia to finish our trip in Cartagena. We had already spent time in the city and loved it from our airbnb but to stay in a boutique hotel with great amenities and incredible rooms really sealed off a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to read your review about your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important and it is our mission to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us and we all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews