We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here for three nights. Room clean with big window to view the beach activities and the ocean. Bath shower taps were little tricky to figure out the right mix of hot and cold water. The staff is really friendly. Especially relating to our unforgettable experience as we left our passports in the locker when we checked out. When realized about the missing passports few hours later, we phoned the hotel. The reception staff found the passports which we later picked up from hotel security staff. Will recommend the hotel as it offers great rate as well as superb breakfast.

Room Tip: The taxi driver outside the hotel can give some price and ask you raised price after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again as a guest in our hotel.
Cordially,

Aura Amador Lopez
Customer Service Coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Couldnt get an additional key card for my room (they only give you one and lie about not being able to provide 2) had to wait 20 min for someone to open the door.. eggs at breakfast were green..eww.. facilities are super old (bathrooms) and the price is too high for such a bad experience, you can have something better for way less.. the only good thing here are the maids and waiters they really deserve all the compliments

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank millydeaquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to all. On the other hand, I personally supervise them to be fulfilled.
Cordially,

Aura amateur
Coordinator of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Everything was good, except that we were handicapped by the fact that staff spoke very little of English and the services we wanted got very limited of them. In the world of globalization good communication in one common language is very important. However, staff were very courteous and helpful as much as they can. There was only one English channel on TV and hence that also hampered our evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Have more TV channels in English.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we will consider your suggestions. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
Cordially,

Aura Amador Lopez
Customer Service Coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Staying at the Cartagena Plaza was a wonderful experience. The staff in every way, could not be better. The staff at Kasabe bar restaurant is Outstanding. They treat us with respect and they make us feel like family. Professional, educated and they keep the place very inviting. I will recommend this place to anybody in the world. Thank you also to the security people,.When I left, my wallet in a taxi, they tracked it and found it for me. I had my wallet in my hand, the next day. Security, kindness and professionalism, are the priorities here !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Envigado1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017


Dear Customer. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am sure all of our hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again !.

Cordially,

Aura Amador Lopez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We stayed at the Cartagena Plaza on the recommendation of a travel agent in Bogota, and were generally satisfied. The hotel, like most in Cartagena, is on Bocagrande, a COP7,000 (about US$2.35) cab ride from the old town. The Cartagena Plaza's lobby is quite glitzy, but the hallways and our room were beginning to show signs of wear are tear. Our room was comfortable, however, and had a nice view of the beach and the Caribbean across the street. Staff was courteous and helpful; some spoke English. Most of the guests during our stay were Latin American families, and their kids pretty much took over the pool. We bought an all-inclusive plan, which was convenient, but the food selection, though okay, was limited. Drinks on the plan included syrupy tropical things that weren't very good. Conventional cocktails cost extra. I have no idea what we paid; again, it was part of a tour.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Customer. I appreciate your comments about our hotel. It makes us feel proud to cater to the needs of our customers in the best way we can. If you are coming back to our resort, do not hesitate to call us. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are passed on to everyone. On the other hand, I will personally supervise compliance.
Cordially,

Aura Amador López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
1,638 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#82 of 158 in Cartagena
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.3 km away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
9.4 km away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Carrera 1 No 6-154 | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing