We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bocagrande hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Nice hotel if you want to stay in the Bocagrande area of Cartagena. Excellent service, good location with easy access to the beach.
The staff are accommodating although at times hard to communicate in English.
After visiting Cartagena I would have rather stayed in one of the old city hotels, it offers more charter and it's easier to get around however for its location Cartagena Plaza hotel offers excellent value for the money.
I highly recommend to spend the extra money and book the executive room. It's worth every penny and you get the services of the consierge. Many thanks to Alfredo who made the stay even more pleasent.

Room Tip: Book an executive room you won't regret it.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Roni, gracias por darnos una calificación perfecta y por recomendar nuestro hotel a otros viajeros. Estoy segura de que todo nuestro personal disfrutó atendiendo a sus necesidades tanto como hayas disfrutado de su estancia. ¡Esperamos volver a verlo!.

Cordialmente,

Aura Amador López.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

excelent service friendly people ,clean ,very very happy ,defenetly going back every thngs was on time ,the food was very good well maintened I will defenetly recomend it ,is on a ecxellent area the rooms are very confortable AND THE BEER was always cold . the pool area has a beatiful view .and is well maintened

Room Tip: no coment every thing went well
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MANUEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Manuel. I appreciate your comments about our hotel. It makes us feel proud to cater to the needs of our customers in the best way we can. If you are coming back to our city, do not hesitate to call us.

Cordially,

Aura Amador López.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

You can reach a umbrella but there is not to many so you have to get early to caths one . The people almost all are very Friendly , some of the reception aren´t but maybe was a bad day for them. The food are enough but I recomend only take breakfast because you have a lot of restaurants to choose .

Room Tip: The floor 10 there are the suites, and also ypou can choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Liza H. Thank you for your comment and for having chosen our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back as a guest in our hotel.
Cordially,
Aura Liliana Amador López
Customer Service Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The city is beautiful, but the customer service is a bit different. I chose this hotel because of the kid's club. When I took my son the lady sitting down didn't even acknowledge us so we didn't feel comfortable leaving our son there. She wasn't interacting with the other kids that were there either. If you've been to the all inclusives in Cancun/Riviera Maya for example this is not like that. There's only 1 restaurant for all 3 meals. There was mold on our bathroom. For us great customer service goes a long way, but there things are just different, not that is a bad thing, but that's just the way the culture is. Nonetheless, Cartagena is a gorgeous city!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mayte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at our hotel. Your commentary is essential to improving our service. It is very disappointing to hear what happened, but I hope another opportunity to show you that it has improved.
Cordially,
Aura Liliana Amador López
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I just got back from a stay at this property. The hotel es well located in the area of Bocagrande, just across from the beach. My stay here was pleasant.
We got there on an early flight and were told that check-in was at 3pm, but we could choose to pay early check-in for about 20USD per person. We decided to pay this. They wouldn't allow us to pay in dollars so we had to go find a place to exchange currency which ended up being about 3 blocks away.
We paid the fee and were given the bracelet since we had booked all inclusive and were told to go have breakfast and that our room would be ready by the time we were done. However this didn't happen. We had to wait for more than 2 hours to get our room, and this was disappointing because it completely defeated the purpose of having paid early check-in.
The room itself was clean and comfortable, and the entire staff is extremely polite and accommodating.
The hotel is a bit old and it definitely needs updating, and since this was a holiday week it was very full so despite having 4 elevators it took a very long time to get from floor to floor.
The food was not very good. I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels around the world and this is very different from regular all inclusives. There is only one restaurant and a snack at the pool and the menu is pretty much the same every day, so this can get a little boring if your stay is long. However Cartagena has many great places to eat, so I would definitely recommend going out as much as possible.
Overall my stay was pleasant and the hotel was adequate.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Valetejada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to all. On the other hand, I personally supervise them to be fulfilled. On the other hand it makes us feel proud that we attend to the needs of our clients in the best way that we can. If you are coming back to our city, do not hesitate to call us.

Cordially,

Aura Liliana Amador López.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
1,665 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#82 of 158 in Cartagena
638 reviews
9.4 km away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 158 in Cartagena
737 reviews
0.3 km away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Carrera 1 No 6-154 | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $102 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing