We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food/drinks, ok price, great location”
Review of Solar Bar & Food

Solar Bar & Food
Ranked #169 of 748 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Description: Solar - Bar & Food is a new trendy place to enjoy Cartagena and the artistic barrio Getsemaní. A cozy terrace with the perfect first-row view over the vivid Plaza de la Trinidad and 2 lovebird terraces upstairs makes it the ideal setting for a night as a couple. New is the "garden" on the 2nd floor, to go out with friends and groups. Solar also offers a large restaurant, which also can be used for birthday parties, "despedidas", marriage or family reunions. Grab a delicious Belgian beer or a select one of our better Gin & Tonics, cause Solar has an extended drink & cocktail menu. Solar plays hiphop, 80's & 90's, electronic music and international pop & rock music: what else is needed for the perfect night out. Oh and, don't forget the bar food with it's delicious burgers & excellent pizzas. PS: since February 1st, 2017, we'll be opening from 9am in the morning.
Restaurant details
Description: Solar - Bar & Food is a new trendy place to enjoy Cartagena and the artistic barrio Getsemaní. A cozy terrace with the perfect first-row view over the vivid Plaza de la Trinidad and 2 lovebird terraces upstairs makes it the ideal setting for a night as a couple. New is the "garden" on the 2nd floor, to go out with friends and groups. Solar also offers a large restaurant, which also can be used for birthday parties, "despedidas", marriage or family reunions. Grab a delicious Belgian beer or a select one of our better Gin & Tonics, cause Solar has an extended drink & cocktail menu. Solar plays hiphop, 80's & 90's, electronic music and international pop & rock music: what else is needed for the perfect night out. Oh and, don't forget the bar food with it's delicious burgers & excellent pizzas. PS: since February 1st, 2017, we'll be opening from 9am in the morning.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Solar has a pretty ambiance and sports an excellent location, although lacking impressive food at a poor value.

I would recommend those that want to sit and have a drink/food and watch the street performers at night, especially on the weekends, to come here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Nos encantó desde el dia 1. We loveeeeed this place since day one!!!! Great people and Staff!!! Ask for Yohé, she's the best waitress ever!!!! She must own her own Bar and impregnar su style all over!!! We recommend this place without hesitations and doubts!!!!❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Nos fascinó el lugar y la atención es/fue A1!!!!! Quiero poner un negocio aquí!!!!! Love it!

Thank Alessandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Our food was much less than impressive, the music inside was loud, obnoxious and competed w the much nicer street music that was also very audible through the open doors and windows. In addition, we had several errors come up with our orders and the staff was not especially helpful or interested in remedying these issues. Beautiful neighborhood though, I'd select another restaurant when in the area.

Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Solar Bar & Food, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Elise,

We are sad to read your experience in Solar was not a positive one. One could absolutely say the music outside is nice and as local neighbours with excellent relations in the barrio, we also like the music outside, but we're a bar with music (inside the venue). We apologize for possible mistakes made during orders, and appreciate your feedback. On the other hand, I would like to stress out that our waiters are all young and enthousiast people with university degrees, and in fact, we have been praised and known for having one of the better crews of Cartagena working at Solar, but we're also human. Hopefully your next visit will be one of a better experience, and maybe, just maybe, you'd change your opinion.

PS: we are happy to see you made your first rating ever on Tripadvisor with an anonymous profile with no picture, no full name and therefore anonymous critique. We're convinced everybody has a beautiful smile somewhere deep inside, and we'd be happy to help you with that on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Tom Claes & Emelis Sierra
Owner Solar Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Had a hallumi salad which was surprisingly good! I went mainly for the Belgian beers but they were too pricey so I got a German wheat beer instead! The square this faces is the best in Cartagena. At night loads of people hang out and there are street performers. Must spend at least one night just hanging and drinking at this square even if you don't go to this bar. You'll thank me!!!

1  Thank josh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Go there and enjoy the vegetarian pasta. Enjoy it with a glass of wine.

Its located at "plaza de la trinidad", so you can enjoy the night shows of people at the square.

2  Thank Catalina Ospina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solar Bar & Food also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Solar Bar & Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing