We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$36
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$36
View deal
Agoda.com
US$57
US$33
View deal
SAVE US$24
Free cancellation until 12/05/21
Hotels.comUS$34
Expedia.comUS$34
StayForLongUS$57
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
268
202
87
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
202
87
22
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

The staff are very good people. I highly recommend this hotel. Prices are good, rooms cleans, staff people very kind, I enjoyed the breakfast they offer, it is included on the price per day. I have not any complain.

Room tip: In general everything was good, keep doing as you do.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyage624206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Receive a cordial greeting from us, we are very flattered with your comments, these are very important for us, as they help us to be better.
!!!Thank you¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

I enjoyed my stay a lot, the hotel has a very central location close to a metro station and has all comfort you could want. The staff is very friendly and help out with anything you ask. Would visit again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martl443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019


Thank you very much for telling us your experiences, we are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was excellent. We want you to continue choosing us to give you the best attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

A super Central, nice hotel and a staff that's looking for you the best way to feel at home. Good atmosphere for quality and Price, is recommended for stay for several days. I'm getting some extra - eyed business

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Thank Voyager714762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent comment, we are very happy to know that you felt comfortable with our services. Comments like yours motivates us to continue providing a service with the best quality. We wish to have you back at our Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Gran Hotel Medellin. We did however rely heavily on my Spanish, and the airport transport was not complimentary as the listing says. Overall a great stay, but if you speak no Spanish you might have difficulty.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Thank TravelingCircus4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Hotel is located in a nice area, in a few minutes walk from good restaurants and cafeterias. If you are new to the city, a couple of city landmarks (like museum of Antioquia) are in a close vicinity.

At first check in process was very slow, it took about 40 minutes for 6 people, staff does not speak English, knowing a couple of key phrases in Spanish is beneficial. The second time we checked in this hotel, it was much faster. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Room was nice, light and clean. Beds are comfortable. There is no AC, but rooms are equipped with fan. Unfortunately, fan is in the corner and blows air on roughly half of the room. There is a minibar, but you have to request if you want to use it. Otherwise it is disconnected from power supply and locked, you can not use it as a fridge to store your own stuff.

Bathroom is OK, with hot water. Taps are very noisy when you start a water flow, bathroom door was squeaking. One you enter the room you sign a paper that there are four towels for your use. As a guest from Europe I felt offended, but perhaps people steal towels very often? Shower area was clean, some soap was provided. There is also a hair dryer in the shower room, but it is very-very noisy!

Breakfast was average and there is no buffet. You can ask for little extra food, but may receive also strange looks in return (not sure if we broke any hospitality rules that we did not know about). Coffee is awful. We also tried dinner at their restaurant and that was even worse them breakfast - tasteless and overpriced. Besides, waitress was confusing vegetarian food with meat-containing food and serving some complementary items late, when we have already finished our main dish.

Wi-fi is OK, but not surprisingly can be quiet slow.

Check-out was fast, transport to and from airport can be arranged free of charge (for the tip).

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room. Hotel is located on a large avenue, morning traffic is very noisy.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kristīne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelMedellin1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you Kristine for leaving us your comment.

We see many positive things and, of course, things to improve, in some cases with the communication of their concerns, in others with improvements in our service.

We regret that the check-in process has been so long (usually it does not take more than 3 or 4 minutes per person), it is not normal for us to read that our staff does not speak English, as there is always one person in each shift trained to talk and answer questions in your language, I recommend that you approach the customer service office next time, where they can help you with that kind of inconvenience.

In addition, informing the staff about the inconveniences found in the room to carry out the respective maintenance process, helps us to improve with this type of actions.

As for the notification of the towels is simply a courtesy, but of course in cultural differences can be an offense, really there is no intention, and if they need more towels or things like that there will be no problem in providing them.
Finally, we regret that the restaurant service has not been to your liking, in fact our quality standards are constantly improving, and we can assure you that our breakfast is one of the most balanced and varied in the sector. As for dinner, we would appreciate that they were much more detailed in the reasons why it has not been to your liking, if you wish you can send us an email to: servicioalcliente@granhotel.com.co
explaining the reasons, this would be very appreciated by us.

finally we thank you for choosing us, and we wait for you again, it will always be a pleasure to serve you and each visit will be much better than the previous one.

bye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews