We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !! Great hotel, paradise place to stay...”
Review of Decameron Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Decameron Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 15 March 2017

First, my room was very clean, when i arrived i was having a astonishing view of the caribbean sea (tower 14)... The room was really well cleaned, the air conditioning and the bed was very confortable. I didn't go to the pool area as i was far from here but i went most of the time to the decks with chairs and la piscina natural which is great for swimming with few fishs. However the best place to scuba dive and snorkeling is West View (aquanautes) i recommend going over here if you want. The bars are great, the service also. The areas of Aquarium is great and romantic as there is light for nightime. The hotel location is a must, as it is located downtown near the Coco Loco bar (a must) for dancing and clubbing at night. If you want to walk 5 minutes you can go to a georgous beach and it is really great. Il would go anytime another week to this hotel, it was really great. Restaurant a la carte are really good, however if there are things to improve, the reservation is really difficult to these you have to wake up a 7:00 and wait 45 minutes, i haven't tried the el patio steak restaurant for this reason because i was diving in the morning. The shows and the animation is o.k. Thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms, Bar, Buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Good afternoon Mr. Michael B.

I want to thank you for your good comments about the hotel and to invite you again to visit us.

regards

Miller Arias Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Bartenders are very rude. You literally have to beg for small cup of beer. One of them actually yelled at me twice. The woman that works at guest services promised to get a cake for my son's birthday .We were supposed to let her know half an hour before our dinner reservation ,so that's what we did the next day.When we got to her office that day
she told us that we were supposed to let her know at 9 am ,that it was too late.
The hotel has no beach you have to walk about 15 minutes to get to the beach
The hotel is old and needs to be renovated.One of the rooms had no lights at all.The pool is very small.The night entertainment is very poor.Forget about traditional dances circusses or Michael Jackson shows in this place.All they have is boring contests with the guests.Some of the guests felt so embarrased they walked out of the stage.Food is average and there is no variety.It's almost the same food every day.IN CONCLUSION THIS HOTEL IS THE WORST ALL INCLUSIVE I HAVE EVER VISITED!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank tguy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I wasn't expecting too much from this, an all inclusive, but it was so disappointing that I have to write this review. The pro -- the room was nice and the beds comfortable. Then there are the cons. Our first drinks to celebrate our arrival, free at the bar near the disco, were so bad we threw them away and never had another. Mine was a margarita, don't remember my friend's. It was noisy at night. The listed activities were practically nonexistent. The "beach" is sandless - a ladder from the dock gets you into the ocean. All beach chairs/lounges are on the dock. The food was mediocre, as expected, and the dinner in the special dining room was a mite better. Should you still go to Decameron Aquarium, I suggest you leave the premises and have dinner at their sister resort, Decameron Defines, just down the street, or even better the little Peru Wok nearby which had surprisingly great food. AND, there's a nice public beach a little further down and it has real sand! Unfortunately we didn't discover the good things about San Andres Island until it was time to leave and didn't give it a chance to prove its lovely self.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JTW1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

After a wonderful trip through beautiful Columbia, this hotel was terrible experience. It is not up to standards expected by most North Americans looking for a relaxing getaway at the beach. The staff seemed bored or angry. The food was overcooked and under seasoned , and it was almost impossible to reserve space in the "specialty" dining rooms. Cocktails were mostly sugar syrup and light on the alcohol. A loud speaker blasted much of the day and night drowning out the sounds of wind and sea.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScooterInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Good morning Mr. ScooterInMotion

First I want to thank you for taking your time and commenting on your trip.
I regret that your experience at the hotel has not been positive. We inform you that we have rooms away from the pool area where the day and night activities are performed which allow the total rest of the guests. We took careful note about the comments about the food and the staff.


Best regards
MILLER ARIAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

If you are looking for a sprawling beautiful resort with lovely beach and great service, then this is NOT the place to choose!
However, being able to walk directly into town for an stroll was a definite plus!
Its on the older side, however reasonably maintained.
Rooms,Beds and shower were decent.
Pool was..well...odd and useless!
The pier was really nice, no bugs!! Bonus! Nice atmosphere.
Food was...edible. We didn't starve. The Japanese was good.
Sharlene at the poolside buffet was the BEST!! She should be a bartender!
Speaking of bartenders...absolutely HORRIBLE!! Especially the pier bar, it was almost laughable how little they visibly cared about giving any kind of service.There were times we walked AWAY from a relatively empty bar due to simply not being able to get service!
The staff in general are miserable, clearly there is some very VERY poor management going on here for so many miserable staff.
We still had a great time, however would not go back to this resort. I would try the Isleno? next time. Much nicer looking resort. The Marazul was nice too with fantastic bar service and a nicer "resort" feel, however, I really liked being able to go into town on foot.
Purchased a few emeralds from "Mario" in town, he is a character and a half! Great place to buy lower end emeralds at a decent price. However, you are getting lower end quality, but the price does reflect that. If you are looking for high end and good quality emeralds you might want to check out the Dianes? I think it is? Across from Marios. Her prices were higher, but decent as well with much higher quality products.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#3 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,364 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#23 of 29 in San Andres
247 reviews
0.3 km away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#11 of 43 in San Andres Island
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 29 in San Andres
1,586 reviews
11.2 km away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
462 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#25 of 43 in San Andres Island
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Aquarium

Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 Spa Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: $297 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of an Antillean environment, this resort has an exceptional architecture with circular towers overlooking the sea at ‘Punta Hansa’ – at the northern end of the Island of San Andres – which allow for wonderful panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea. These buildings are alongside a long wooden dock that leads to a natural pool in the sea and with an aquatic platform ideal for snorkeling and other water sports. The Decameron Aquarium is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and is a well sought out location for tourists since the longest and most beautiful beach of the island is located only a few blocks away, surrounded by a boardwalk, parallel to a commercial area with restaurants, discos and the most exclusive bars. You will enjoy an enchanting paradise that can be explored completely on foot and where a cultural mixture of English, Spanish, Pirates and Corsairs can be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing