We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steak, pleasant service”
Review of A Deriva - CLOSED

A Deriva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY MOVING! MORE INFO ABOUT NEW ADDRESS COMING AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!! / ESTAMOS MUDANDO ACTUALMENTE. MAS INFORMACION SOBRE EL NUEVO SITIO LO MAS PRONTO POSIBLE!!>> Flavours of the world. A Deriva is inspired by local, French and international influences. Offering an original and creative menu which varies nightly depending on our chef's discoveries in the local market and the local fisherman's catch of the day. A Deriva Bistro downstairs with a French Brasserie feel. A Deriva Lounge upstairs with an all-day menu, outdoor terrace and bar.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We came here as looking for a bite to eat whilst in Santa Marta. It is well located next to the most lively and enjoyable part of the town. The restaurant was surprisingly empty, which was a little disconcerting, but we ate in there anyway and were pleased we did.

The decor is quaint and cosy, and the staff were very kind and welcoming, especially given our pigeon Spanish.

We had the steak's which were well cooked to order, and enjoyed them, and so would recommend to anyone looking for a good bite to eat at reasonable prices.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LonNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

The quality of food and the menu design immediately stand out at this cute French bistro-style restaurant, though don't let the french tag lead you astray. On the menu everything from their succulent, signature "Lomo de A Deriva" to Gyoza, Dim Sum, Crispy southern-style fried chicken, Thai curries and woks. There is something for everyone here.

At times the service can be a little slow. but it's worth the wait. Definitely one of the best restaurants in town.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I loved fusion type food offered in the menu. but i was a bit disappointed in the seasonings used. the tuna tartar was too salty (too much soy sauce i believe). ordered a mojito with passion fruit that was way too sour and thats how almost every dish was they were all over powering. i did love the camembert appetizer though. I really wanted to love the place, really cool decor. Maybe ill give it another shot.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alejandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We went to A Deriva for drinks only, as it was close to our hotel. It's a pretty, inviting space, and looks clean and modern compared to some of the establishments in Santa Marta. There were not enough vegetarian options to lure us back for a meal, but they had a good selection of beverages and we spent a half hour relaxing on the sofas.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Had dinner with my fiancée really enjoyed the food waitress was unprofessional didn’t know what she was offering. Wanted to have cocktails but liquor used was cheap

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank heiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Deriva also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Los Naranjos, Tayrona National Park
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing