We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disgusted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropicana Atlantic City
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Disgusted”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I have steady patrons at the Tropicana for 6 years. NEVER AGAIN will I waste my money here!

WHAT CASINO IN THEIR RIGHT MINDS DOES NOT PROVIDE ROOM SERVICE AFTER 11PM? REALLY NOW! ITS A CASINO! SHAME ON YOU!

Forget about asking the staff any questions. No one knows what they are talking about! I asked 4 different workers the same question and got 4 different answers.

The room was so disgusting that I had to threaten to check out 30 minutes after check in and dispute the charges with my CC company to get a different room. ie. Mold in the bathroom, leaking faucet, pealing wall paper, exposed nails on the wall, leaking refrigerator.

Garbage bags through out the hallway left by housekeeping because they are lazy! They didn't even empty the garbage in my room for 4 days nor did they clean the rugs!

IF YOU KEEP CUTTING SERVICES TO SAVE MONEY! YOUR GOING TO LOSE MONEY & CUSTOMERS!

I will be staying at the Borgata from now on!

Room Tip: Stay away from the west tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicanaAC, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Atlantic City, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
First, we would like to thank you for your past patronage. We are very appreciative that you and your husband have selected The Tropicana as your Casino/ Hotel of choice over the last six years. We Thank You!

Now on to your recent stay. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the incidents you experienced on your last visit with us.

As you know from your past experiences at the Tropicana, the recent problems you encountered are not the standard here.

I have forwarded your comments on to our Senior Management Team.I am sure that they will investigate your review and contact you shortly.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Tropicana.
We hope that you will give us the chance to host you the next time your plans call for a trip to AC.

Best Wishes,
David B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,131
    1,572
    894
    617
    617
See reviews for
807
1,952
186
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at the Tropicana many times over the years. We look forward to visiting Atlantic City a few times a year and usually choose the Tropicana due to it's central location, nice rooms, great restaurants and great casino. Our last trip however was less than wonderful. We checked into our room only to find the entire floor was filthy dirty with dirty carts and towels all over the hallway. We literally had to step over bags of dirty trash and towels to get to our room. When we finally got to our room which was at the end of the hall, we found we had a shared suite/room which was totally blocked with a dirty food cart and a bag of garbage. We found the maids in the adjoining room blasting music, sitting on the beds and basically having a party of their own. There was a maid standing in front of the entrance to our room doing her hair and putting on her lipstick in the mirror and she was annoyed to have to move out of the way so that we could get into our room. We got in the room and all we could hear was the maids music blasting from the next room where they were having a little cleaning party. We called the front desk and nothing was done. There was a used tampon on the floor that was still there the next day 24 hours later when we checked out!!! We always liked to stay at the Trop because we love the Quarter but maybe the staff is so miserable that they just gave up??? Overall bad experience for us...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Chay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicanaAC, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Atlantic City, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Tropicana Casino & Resort.

First, I would like to thank you for your patronage. We are delighted to hear that you have stayed with us many times in the past and have had an excellent experience at the Tropicana.

Your positive feedback about the Quarter is greatly appreciated.

I am so sorry for inconvenience you encountered on your most recent stay with us.
The housekeeping and service issues you reference in your review are not the norm at the Tropicana Casino & Resort.

I have forwarded your comments on to our Senior Management Team. I am sure that they will get to the bottom of your complaints

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you the next time to visit Atlantic City.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Smithtown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I travel alone. At the Tropicana, I feel comfortable, safe and at home. The hotel is clean and the staff is very accommodating, from housekeeping to the security staff, the restaurant staff and the front desk service including the valets. It's okay to walk around by myself and enjoy all of the ammenities including the shops, the food establishments and all of the gaming areas. The rooms are extremely clean and believe me, I check for bedbugs, too. Room service is excellent, housekeeping is more than you would expect and the atmosphere is very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and casino to anyone. I am especially impressed by the front desk service. Even if you walk in and see a line that looks like an hour or two wait, it moves very very quickly and you can get to the gambling quickly. Go, take a chance. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: The south tower is my choice as it is right above the lobby. But if you want to be near the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed there 3/11/12 in rooms 3517 and 3619. When we arrived it looked likesomeone dumped an ahstray by the door, when we left the next day it was still there. There was garbage in the hallwyas, looked like the carpets had not been cleaned in weeks. Rm 3617 had a mold on shower curtain. The bathroom floor had a bobby pin and hair on the floor when we arrived. went to plug in the fridge and the outlet cover was half off. Had to unplug fridge because of the foul order. Crumbs all over the floor. Had to plug in the clock and when we moved the nigh stand there was food back there. In rm 3619 had to plug in the tv and there was food behind the tv and gum on the floor. Booth rooms had stained sheets. We slept with the lights on becuase we were afraid roaches woudl come out.

Room Tip: ask fir a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank susan1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicanaAC, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Atlantic City, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank You so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your March 11th stay with us.

First of all,please allow me to apologize for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. We are committed to excellent service and offering our guests an exceptional room product experience while staying with us.

I have forwarded your review to our Hotel Senior Management team. I am sure they will be contacting you very shortly.

Once again, thank you so much for the review.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

very nice room. enjoyed indoor pool with jacuzzi for adults only 8-10 a.m. games had great variety

Room Tip: ask for south tower which has pool and jacuzzi gym is 10 dollars extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
3.8 km away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16,192 reviews
2.9 km away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,690 reviews
0.9 km away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,890 reviews
2.1 km away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
1.3 km away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Atlantic City

Property: Tropicana Atlantic City
Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Tropicana Casino and Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price range (per night): $151 - $645
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2047
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Atlantic City is a 24-hour gaming destination located on the beach and Boardwalk. Featuring 2,047 rooms and suites and home of The Quarter, a 200,000 square foot entertainment complex, Tropicana is the premier resort in Atlantic City. With 24 restaurants, 25 shops, 18 bars and lounges, 2 pools, an IMAX Theatre and a spa, Tropicana is consistently rated as a "Must-See Attraction" in Atlantic City. In spring 2015 & 2016 Tropicana underwent a $90 million renovation, which includes its spectacular Multimedia Light and Sound Show, the addition of AtlantiCare LifeCenter Fitness and renovations to its North Tower hotel rooms, Havana Tower rooms and casino floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing