We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
9
31
21
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
31
21
15
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Just returned from staying at the Gardner. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable..especially Janina. Booked nice day trips with her and the prices were the best we found. 45 a nite is what you get...decent rooms, could use an extra towel or two , but otherwise ok. No frills here, but not in the room all that much anyway. Communication not a problem either. No beach view..on the street . I stayed in second floor room. Was quiet. The rooms on the first floor seeem nice, but also seem a bit noisier. Family run, you will see them there. Go to the top(terrace) for free breakfast 7AM -9AM. nothing special, warm bread, eggs, fruit. Juice was ok? nothing great about the breakfast. but 45 a nite.....book daytrips with Janina.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archie914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This was a great place to relax after a hectic 10 day Galapagos cruise in the heat. The rooms were extremely clean. The terrace on the upper floor had a nice view of the ocean. It was fantastic for an afternoon card game, or a nice place to relax and read a book. The location is 2 small city blocks from everything (tourist shops, restaurants, beach front, main street, and harbour). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They do arrange tours and rent snorkel gear and shorties as well) NOTE: Check out the street vendors on the kiosk street after 6 pm where the majority of locals eat. As well, we found 3 different sets of ATM's in Puerto Ayora (on up the hill on main street, one on the beach front road, and one at the supermarket by the main wharf). A sight to see, is the fisherman at the cleaning station/market on the main beachfront street at approx noon (only on Saturdays I think)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank proudalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We'd been looking for a good value place to base ourselves while in the Galapagos. Gardner was the right price and was clean, comfortable and provided a good rooftop breakfast. It is centrally placed handy for everything in Puerto Ayora. Check it out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottartanfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at Hotel Gardner for almost two weeks when our cruise of the Galapagos Islands cancelled at the last minute. Janet and Wil, the husband and wife management team, were extraordinary in helping us save our “trip of a lifetime” by dealing with the defunct tour operator, booking us trips to other islands, supplying us with a guide to show us the highlights of Santa Cruz, and even changing our airline reservations. They went above and beyond what was expected. Wil went so far as to walk us to the dock to make sure we got onto the correct boat for a trip to Isla Isabela. The hotel was spotless, cool and quiet. The rooms were just as lovely as on the internet web site and there was a fabulous open air deck on the top of the building with cushioned lounge chairs, couches, hammocks, and tables for enjoying the cool ocean breeze and views. Janet and Wil made our trip to the Galapagos Islands memorable through their genuine caring, sincerely welcoming nature and determination to help us make the most of a bad situation. They saved us over $5000 and we had a better trip! We felt completely at home and comfortable at the Hotel Gardner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews