We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Mainao

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mainao
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2015

My husband has known the owner for years. We stayed here with my mom and dad. The rooms on the upper floors have a view of the ocean, and you can hear the sound of the waves on the shore. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Any time we needed something, there was someone around who could help us. My parents absolutely LOVED it, so much so that they are asking when we can all go back to the Galapagos again so they can stay at the Mainao!

Room Tip: Upper floors have the best view of the ocean, but there are no elevators, so be ready to walk up spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2015

Gorgeous little boutique hotel on Santa Cruz. The breakfast was lovely, rooms clean and spacious and most of all, the staff were warm and friendly making it a home away from home. In 20 years of travelling in a wheelchair, I can honestly say this has been one of the best places I've stayed. I think my friends who were at a nearby hotel were quite envious when they saw were I was and I'd love to come back one day

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wheelydivechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Great location right off the Main Street and dock as well as 5 min walk away from Charles Binford Street where all the local restaurants are. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Read the full review at http://travelstellar.com/review/hotel-mainao/

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

I have stayed at hotel mainao in the past - the architecture is fun and the location is convenient. This year I booked a reservation in September for a stay in December and, per their request, paid for the reservation in full. In October I made a relatively minor change in the reservation, which should have resulted in a small refund. Their website states there is no penalty with changes made before 30 days of the visit. I received no reply when I sent an email inquiry about my refund. When I asked about the refund while I was there, I was told they
"could not refund a credit card". Beware of the "no penalty" statement - it certainly wasn't true for me and I will not stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingkkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Interesting style hotel with many levels nicely located off the main drag and within walking distance of the port, restaurants, Darwin Station. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a view balcony. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful in arranging taxis, tours and general information.

Room Tip: For people with difficulty climbing stairs, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
320 reviews
6.6 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
62 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
353 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainao

Address: Matazarnos and Indefatigable Street | Acacias neighborhood, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $129 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mainao 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINAO HOTEL offers its customers a range of services with a green vision that suit their requirements and needs, giving our guests the best quality experience in the Galapagos Islands.  We present 19 comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water, TV and air conditioning.  As well as 3 comfortable suites with mini fridge, writing desk, chair and a private balcony overlooking the sea. It Includes 1 complimentary wine and soft drinks in the room.  Ability to normal accommodating 54 people and up to 61 guests in multiple accommodation.  bar-lounge with a map of the islands for talks.  Library with free internet.  Wi-Fi in our facilities.  Safety deposit boxes in the rooms.  Luggage Storage.  Reception / 24 hours.  Laundry.  pleasant areas for relaxation in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in harmony with nature.  We support the environment by using biodegradable products We also have a room especially suitable for people with disabilities, it has all the doors; both entry into the room and the bathroom and closet doors that open horizontally sliding for easy access to a person in a wheelchair. So the bathroom has all regulatory measures to facilitate access and provide all the bathroom fixtures and assurances to facilitate the experience for our guests with special needs.  We have all access to social areas and restaurant, it´s arranged for easy wheelchair mobility .  This room is for 2 people and the rate is identical to a standard room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainao Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing