We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”
Review of Hotel Mainao

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mainao
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2017

From the moment we entered Hotel Mainao we were awestruck by its beauty and charm. Family owned and run, this quaint B&B was super. We had a simple room with a shared balcony area, no TV and no phone and LOVED it. No luxury here, just simple beauty and excellent service. Included breakfast was delicious and plentiful. You can view the sea if you go up high, but not from the ground floor. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Would be a five star review if the location was a bit better. Nothing wrong but no view of the sea. Easy stroll to lots of restaurants and bars. Breakfast good and typical of South America

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ToTrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The location is not perfect - you will enjoy sea-view only in the upper floors, therefore ask for it. The breakfast is ok but it could be richer if we think of all the food-treasures on these islands. But the staff is very friendly and attentive, and the hotel is a bijou - you feel like if you were in a house constructed by Hundertwasser.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ergopublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The Mainao is a very average tourist class hotel. If you're expecting luxury or anything beyond the level of a clean Motel 6 or Travelodge, don't book this place. Our room was small, had no view whatsoever and was extremely basic. The beds were comfortable (2 twins) the bathroom was small and the staff were fine. It's a quality place but nothing special. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. You'll get coffee, toast, and either eggs or a waffle. They also serve a tiny plate of fruit. It's pretty basic. The hotel itself is well situated and the style is very local. Lots of white stucco and tile. Very basic but well maintained and clean.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in this hotel, quite central located but still quiet and peaceful.
Room was big and clean, with a small telly and wifi.
My room was on the last floor with a small balcony and you had a glimpse of the ocean.
Staff was friendly and breakfast was nice.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Idril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
6.6 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
3.8 km away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
12 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainao

Address: Matazarnos and Indefatigable Street | Acacias neighborhood, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $129 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mainao 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINAO HOTEL offers its customers a range of services with a green vision that suit their requirements and needs, giving our guests the best quality experience in the Galapagos Islands.  We present 19 comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water, TV and air conditioning.  As well as 3 comfortable suites with mini fridge, writing desk, chair and a private balcony overlooking the sea. It Includes 1 complimentary wine and soft drinks in the room.  Ability to normal accommodating 54 people and up to 61 guests in multiple accommodation.  bar-lounge with a map of the islands for talks.  Library with free internet.  Wi-Fi in our facilities.  Safety deposit boxes in the rooms.  Luggage Storage.  Reception / 24 hours.  Laundry.  pleasant areas for relaxation in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in harmony with nature.  We support the environment by using biodegradable products We also have a room especially suitable for people with disabilities, it has all the doors; both entry into the room and the bathroom and closet doors that open horizontally sliding for easy access to a person in a wheelchair. So the bathroom has all regulatory measures to facilitate access and provide all the bathroom fixtures and assurances to facilitate the experience for our guests with special needs.  We have all access to social areas and restaurant, it´s arranged for easy wheelchair mobility .  This room is for 2 people and the rate is identical to a standard room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainao Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing