We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Abu Simbel
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I agree with the post below. The hotel is not the finest but it was adequate for 1 night. We were the only guests staying there and they upgraded us to a suite room overlooking the pool. The room was moderately clean but very tired looking. I wouldn't like to stay there for a week.
The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We had travelled from Luxor then straight on to the two temples so by the time we arrived at the hotel (after 2.30pm) we were tired. After ordering a cold drink (which was brought to our room) we decided to lay around the pool area. The pool looked nice but the bottom was very slippy even though I couldn't see anything there. The sunloungers were very shoddy so in the end I went back to the room. I suppose I was a little worn out so bear that in mind.
Dinner was adequate but the choice is limited.
I only paid £37 for 2 adults and 1 child so I wasn't expecting the Ritz.
The plus to the hotel is that it is about a 3 min walk to the temple car park and entrance nearby .
The temples are amazing to see and I am glad I did the journey.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KAZL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2007

We stayed at this hotel on 22nd April.

Since many people suggested us to book another hotel, we were very anxious but everything was fine!

This hotel is not the newest and the finest, but for one night, it was very good. We got a suite for 2 adults and 2 small kids. Well, it did not look like a suite, but it was not too small for one night.

The room was clean, we got enough hot water to shower, the pool was nice (although the sun chairs were in bad condition) with the form of cartouche, the restaurant waiter was very friendly, and the food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2006

We are not the 5 star kind of traveller, so you use this review without too much bias:

Bad points:
1. Hot water non existent in the morning
2. Food was substandard (food is very basic, with poor selection)
3. Hotel is starting to show signs of aging.

Good points:
1. Only 400 meters from the Ramses II temple - you can easily walk there.
2. Rooms were spacious and clean.
3. Hotel staff pleasant.
4. Bathrooms were clean. Hot water was available during off-peak hours.
5. Pool is nice. Pool-side couches are probably the most uncomfortable devices I have ever seen. They look like a putting green instead of something to lounge on :)
6. Incredible views from the pool deck.
7. Heck of a lot cheaper than the 5star alternative down the road.

Despite a few bad points, I would still recommend this place because of the price, location and clean rooms. If your the extremely rich or picky kind, then choose the 5 star alternative down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank geminiRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

The review in the guide books was not that bad but unless you want to "rough it" stay at the Seti or some other place (if you can find one). First the good. Location is very close to the temple (the only thing we could find in the whole village). The pool is nice and looks out onto Lake Nassar. It was very quiet. The staff was kind enough, almost as if they took pitty on us for staying there. That's it for the good.

We saw no other guests the 2 days one night we were there (but lots of staff). When we checked in we got upgraded to a suite that "overlooked" the pool. No balcony and only a dirty window and screen to do any overlooking. The room was ok for USD20 a night but horrible for what we paid. Bath water backing up, door that was difficult to lock/unlock, soft bed (if you like that), hard concrete floors under the carpet. Felt a little bit like a poorly converted garage.

We got a horrible exchange rate at the front desk and they charged big city hotel prices ($$$) for using the phone at the front desk (handed to us through the plexiglass)to call back to our home country (LE200 for 8 minutes). The so-called restauranut/bar was no such thing. For a laugh, order the cheese sandwich for dinner! We reserved through the internet so for all of that we paid way too much. If you walked up and got a good rate it might be worth the laugh but understand what you are getting into.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TNJP_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank hiso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble

Address: Antonion Ayouyo Street, Abu Simbel 81636, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Abu Simbel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Abu Simbel
Price Range: $120 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertari Hotel Abu Simbel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing