We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to egypt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 16 October 2011

just got back me my partner and 4 kids from age 10 to 1 !!!!!! the bad stuff first well they dont cater for english and there was no entertainment... I was ready to move after 2 days but i waited for the manager to arrive a mr Aakamed Aill i complained that there was no ice cream for the kids the food was not catered for english and no entertainment between mr Aill and the DJ micky they were trying to rectify all of the above withibn hour the kids were able to order what they wanted chips pizza bugers hotdogs so they were happy, also the icecream arrived and that made the kids very happy but he couldnt do nothing about the entertainment as the DJ mixer was broken and being fixed. But what really made the holiday was oama, noah, mahammed and the rest of the bar and resturant team they were fantastic couldnt do enough for us and they loved the boyz couldnt do enough for them or us we asked for something and we got it also the front staff were as good they would help all they could come to think of it all the staff from the room cleaners to the managment were fantastic they listened to the complaints and rectified what they could. The hotel it self is being extended with some fantastic villas and new resturants being built also the wind surfing and the beaches are being sorted . we had a family room right on the front great views in the morning and sitting on the balconys of a night watching the kids on the playground. security was great alweays about 24hrs a day it felt safe and secure. The pier was great for snorkiling see some manta rays octupus and turtle some super fish unbelevable. So woth all off that i am saying a big thankyou to all the bar staff who were out of this world and had my boyz in tears because they felt at home so i know you read these i send a big thankyou to alll the staff at the seasun with out you guys the seasun is nothing thanks alot and we will be returning next year... so until next year i advise if you want a fantastic holiday that is not full up with torism then visit the seasun it is a great place to go and getting better it may be just over an hour from the airport but trust me it worth it see ya next year.......

Room Tip: sea views bottom floor, great for divers so close to the blue hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the sea sun hotel, with my mum and dad. It was my 1st holiday abroad and wasn't dissapointed except for the food. Certainly went down a dress size as they only seemed 2 cater for everyone but the English. Found ourselves eating out every night or paying for a pizza at the hotel which seemed weird as we went all inclusive. When we went into dahab to eat we found ourselves getting drawn to nemos, was an amazin bar would defo recomened it. The owners mohamed and ahmed couldnt do enough to please you and we spent many a hours talking to them. If you go there they will cook you anything you want how you want it which is really nice compared to the hotel food. Also we had to pay for bottles of water which I think was bad as it would have been cheaper than the pop they served on all inclusive. Other than the food everything else was absolutely amazin. The staff at the hotel are lovely especially Omar he was a little star, couldn't do enough to help. My room was lovely very clean and bed very comfy, had an amazin view over the beach. The constant smell of sewage isnt very nice but you kinda get used to it, and you have to remember you are in Egypt. Did some fab trips while we were there, we did quad biking in the desert with sammy from dahab, glass bottom boat, half day boat trip, star vision, trip to sharm, camel trip to blue hole, and a number of night desert trips, would definatly recommend ahmeds connection, try and book it through Islam at the hotel was an amazin night and also a desert trip with mido which was the best, get to eat proper food around a fire and do a bit of mountain climbing (optional) to see the mountains by moonlight AMAZING. Snorkeling of the jetty was also amazin would recommend it even though I was to scared to get fully in haha. There are a couple of guys who come around the pool every day trying to book massages, ahmed and islam (brothers) they are a lovely pair and will teach you arabic to get you by during your stay. It comes in very handy and they appreciate you learning their language. Overall was an amazing holiday and would recommend dahab to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacebrooks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel has everything going for it. Right on the beach, a jetty giving access to an amazing reef, wonderful sunrises over the mountains on the opposite shore, but, this hotel doesn't live up to pormises.
It is very tired and rundown. The food is appaling, the rooms are in need of refurbishment. The only entertainment was from a DJ who thought everyone wanted to listen to rap music played at full blast. This made it impossible to relax round the pool area. There was a lingering smell of sewage arund the hotel and at times very strongly in the rooms. Chips were asked for by several people for their children and what they got was very white sliced potatoes. This hotel caters for Eastern Block and Egyptians, not for Europeans. It is definitely NOT 4 star, more 2 star. There are no watersports as advertised. There is only the one 'buffet every meal' dining room, not 4 restaurants as advertised. If you are fully inclusive, as I was, you can only have water by the glass, in fact all drinks were by the glass, beer served in small glasses. Wine served only with meals, by the glass. If you wanted a bottle, you had to buy it, including bottled water. No mid morning or mid afternoon tea/coffee and snacks. No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. Dahab was a nice town to go on an evening, the restaurants there are great and cheap. A group of us went there to eat at night as we were fed up of rice, very fatty beef, chicken in rancid sauces for every meal. In short, avoid this hotel and book into the Tropicali next door, this really is a 4 star hotel. A few times aour group went in there for a bar meal and the nightime entertainment as there was nothing at night in our hotel. Avoid this hotel unles you are a backpacker and eat out. This could be a dream hotel, instead it is a nightmare hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 01Denise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We returned to the Sea Sun for our 2nd visit at the beginning of September went same time last year)for a 2 weeks stay,Myself husband and 21 year old daughter.We were so so disappointed with what we found.On arrival we were presented with a pool side room that stank of sewerage ( AND I MEAN STANK).after refusing to stay in the room we were shown a further 6 rooms,that all smelled the same just to a varying degrees.we opted for the least smelly room with the promise that tomorrow we would have a good room.On booking we had requested rooms next to each other but this didnt happen (rooms were in seperate blocks)but when the next afternoon arrived we did had a gorgous (nice smelling room) and was next door but 1 to our daughter (only a suite between us).Amazing view and very pleased,holiday could now begin.
We had an amazing time at Sea Sun last year and expected the same this year but were so so let down.The beach bar and pool bar are no longer used,so only 1 bar thats indoors for whole hotel now.No beach parties or entertainment any more (had lots last year).No longer are there quads at the hotel for hire and only 1 courtesy bus now runs into town and thats at 8pm each evening where there used to be two.I found myself saying so many times 'well last year'!!!!! taxis run regular but dont pay any more than 30 egyptian pounds (about £3)they do try it on till they know you.
The food in my opinion (and a lot of people shared it) is horrendous,we ate breakfast at the hotel and that was it,we ate lunch and evening meal out everyday or paid for it at the shop or hotel,so all inclusive was a bit of a joke,they did offer me ommlette and fries every day for lunch but after a couple of days I couldnt face anymore ommlettes and fries.Felt sorry for other guests that requested fries only to be told that they couldnt have them as they were too expensive!.Also think paying for bottled water is wrong when all inclusive (its very cheap at shop but dont think should have to pay when all inclusive),drinks choice is very limited but most of the time had something for everyone.Ask Omar for 'sex on the beach,scrummy'.Was a standing joke whilst we were there that everyday they ran out of basics,even toilet roll one day!!!!!,most morning out of fanta,coke and sprite they had ran out of 2 of the 3.Butter was a huge luxuary and hardly ever there.Cant say how much we struggled with the food,great for the diet but not what all inclusive and hols are all about.
Met the owner once again while we were there and hes a lovley man,just doesnt visit often enough,he arranged a pool party on our last night but as were only half a dozen guests in wasnt much of a party.
On the positive side the staff are so so lovely and all speak english to some degree,Omar is so sweet and will do anything to help,they work crazy hours for months before any days off and always chat and joke with guests.The weather was heavenly 40+ every day and pool was a joy.The sea is amazing around dahab the fish so so pretty.We did some fab trips,camel riding to the blue hole (you can arrange this on the beach if look out for camel man),quads we did in town,trip to Sharm (arranged at reception),glass bottom boat and half day boat trip arranged in town,star gazing in the dessert arranged in town but a real let down wouldnt recommend at all,15 mins at the telescope and only saw the moon and 2 stars as telescopes set,not what we thought at all.Two trips into the dessert which were fantastic and only good food we ate.Ask for Mido the taxi driver at the bridge in Dahab (everyone knows him)ask for trip into the dessert you wont be disaapointed and a lovely man too,we spent many an evening with him in town.
Dahab town is an amazing place,love it so much,loads of bars to choose from but nemos in our favourite and ask for what you want not neccesarily whats on the menu,I just wanted grilled chicken,fries and green salad and it was amazing.Husband had steak and said best hes ever had and as a butcher thats praise indeed.The owners are so so nice too and will chat to you for hours,you arrive as strangers and leave as friends.
Bartering is a way of life,expect to pay about half of what they start at and dont be affraid to walk away,most shops sell the same things and they will follow you and you always get your price in the end.
Visitors have dropped so so much this year in dahab and they are all struggling,but love the English and we still adore Dahab and Egypt,as for sea sun dont think we will go back unless want to go on a crash diet.
IF YOU'VE BOOKED DONT WORRY BUT TAKE EXTRA MONEY AND BE PREPARED TO EAT OUT,IF ARE THINKING OF BOOKING BY ALL MEANS GO BUT AGAIN BE PREPARED TO EAT OUT.

Room Tip: Lots of rooms have bad sewerage smells so really hit and miss,also building new hotel next door so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoebcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Detailed reviews of this hotel weren't available before I traveled so I'll add some detail and write more than I normally would.
I've just returned from staying at the Sea Sun for two weeks and would visit again.
The most important thing to say is that it is cheap. I didn't expect a five star resort but got a pool and sea view in a functional, very clean room with TV, fridge, safe, good aircon and a very comfortable bed. Daily cleaning service was also good. Staff are all friendly and helpful but English is not well spoken. The bathroom was functional and clean but the toilet was badly stained. Towels were changed daily but were rarely pristine, fluffy or white, although a few new ones are creeping in!
Since the hotel was very quiet, there were many free sunbeds and sunshades around the pool and on the beach to choose from, and a pool towel service provides large, clean beach towels.
There's good, free wi-fi in the reception/bar terrace area.
There's plenty of upgrading going on (polishing poolside tiles, building new restaurant area/bar on the beach, decorating reception) but this is done out of peak hours so isn't too inconvenient.
There are negative points, but this is Egypt so if you can take the absence of beer for an evening with a smile, then you won't get too upset!
Shower pressure was very low and truly hot water a rarity, but as it's so hot, a tepid shower is all you need. Money-changing facilities were rare.
The food is not gourmet, but I never went hungry or suffered from holiday tummy in my two week stay. Probably the biggest irritation was the lack of fly zappers in the dining room and reception area.
All-inclusive doesn't extend to providing water in rooms, but there's an integral shop selling basics. A six-litre water bottle cost 15 Egyptian pounds (probably less if you want argue!).
Drinks are generally served in small glasses....during my stay I was served almost anything in a small wine-glass or plastic cup although they did seem to be replenishing their supply of decent glasses. Don't expect constant waiter service so you'll need to visit the bar regularly.
Entertainment was (fortunately) non-existent except for a 'disco' for the kids at about 9pm.
English guests were in a minority and the hotel, like much of Egypt, caters for Eastern European, particularly Russian guests, but is none the worse for this.
A comparable holiday would have been over £300 more expensive at the nearby Tropitel and I was glad to have saved the money. Take a sense of humour and relax knowing that you've got a bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank micksw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.3 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
6.4 km away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 53 in Dahab
569 reviews
3.1 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#3 of 53 in Dahab
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#46 of 53 in Dahab
73 reviews
6.5 km away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 53 in Dahab
308 reviews
8 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing