We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Ranked #47 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we stayed here recently and have no complaints The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble We stayed on half board and even my fuusy 11 year old was happy with the food Although the bathrooms could do with an update there was constant hot water and the rooms were cleaned every day In fact the hotel was spotless as well as the grounds If you are looking fo beautiful beaches and excellent snorkling in a quiet peaceful setting and you want a real taste of Egypt then this is the place for you but if you crave nightlife and shopping ..stay away There are some good excursions available but the lady who organises them does not pressure you although i would recommend the glass boat trip and the horse riding on the beach There is a free daily shuttle bus to Dahab town which is about 10 mins away We were very happy with our stay and hope to return very soon

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taba T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

Really really want to book here for april but the reviews are putting me off. Can someone give me a honest review (NO FUSSY BEGGERS)

thanks

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks bed and breakfast - thankfully not full board as the food is terrible and I gave up with the breakfasts after a week. The pool was freezing with salt water, also all the showers in the rooms have a high salt contant in the water too, so you never feel really clean. There seemed to be a housefly infestation at the hotel, flies in the dining room over the food and even sun bathing by the pool were are so irritating.

The staff are good and and eager to please, but the management do not seem to have any idea on how to run a hotel or of the catering requirements.

If you are in to diving you will probably forgive much of the above - but if you are not and want some nightlife book a hotel in Sharm el Sheik as most of the entertainment is there.

Some nice restaurants in Dahab, but you will need to take a taxi or the once daily shuttle bus from the hotel. Best advice is to hire a scooter from Dahab for around GB£12 per day to get around. There is a shop which is called Most Wanted is near the Lighthouse on the sea front in the shops behind and the guy who rents them is called Osama.

The local shops in Dahab are full of tourist tat and you will get hassled to go in and look at every turn. The same is true for the restaurants. The best restaurant being Shark along the sea front.

Room Tip: Book a hotel in Sharm el Sheik
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have just been on holiday here as a package, and wished I had read the reviews before booking.
The hotel is quite far out from the main area of Dahab itself and is wedged on both sides by the skeletons of half constructed developments that don't look as if they are being finished. It is therefore quite isolated and a real hassle if you want to do any more than stay in one spot for the whole holiday. If you do, the pool is freezing - no one swam in it while I was there bar a very energetic kid! They do have a section of beach and a walkway into some reef area, but there is no bar or food available there.
I only booked for breakfast and they overcharge you if you want to have dinner or lunch there, and the food is fairly basic, a number of people complained about it while I was there - you can get much better fare in Dahab town.
The rooms were not in my view kept up well, I had to change the first room as you couldn't lock the door!
There is a connected diving operation by the hotel, but their moto is "No Stupid Limits!", which frankly says it all. Don't stay here if you want to go diving, you will do much better searching for one of the established dive hotels in Dahab Town.
The staff were a mixture. The lady sorting out trips for people was pleasant, professional and not overbearing. Some of the other staff equally were helpful, but as a negative example, they cancelled the shuttle into town on East European New Years till there were objections, but then I heard them still tell people there was no shuttle - obviously trying to keep people in!
This place looks good on the brochure, but I'm afraid for me it didn't even meet the old adage of you get what you pay for - you don't.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DivingTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Shower pressure was useless, i would have more power myselef after a couple of pints, no sink or bath plugs I requested them 3 times. Food was half cooked and disgusting, the omlette for breakfast, desserts and the bread were the only things that I could say were ok. The pool was freezing, the sea was 8 degrees warmer, by all means come here but bring your own food and entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 km away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#13 of 53 in Dahab
561 reviews
0.0 km away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 53 in Dahab
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 53 in Dahab
713 reviews
0.0 km away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#21 of 53 in Dahab
340 reviews
0.0 km away
4S Hotel
4S Hotel
#41 of 53 in Dahab
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing