We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big nice hotel, but we missed a real beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadel Azur Resort
Ranked #70 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have been here in December 2011.
We can recommend a stay for 1 week, if you stay longer you should combine it with some activities outside.
The hotel is placed a long way from Hurghada. From the airport to the hotel it takes 30-45 minutes.
My impresseion was that it is placed somewhere in the nowhere. So located so far outside the hotel has to offer a lot to feel comfortable - and it does.
The hotel is build like a citadel, a very nice picture.
It has a big nice lobby with access to the wlan.
The reception is separated from the lobby, so that the checkin happens in a relaxing situation.
When you check in, everyone is greated in russian, that was dissapointing because that gives you the feeling, that the reception does not really take about the information they have of you.
The checkin takes a little time, be prepared.
The room we got had a really nice view to the ocean and the lagoons of the hotel.
It was a little bit old, but ok. If you are honeymooners you should ask for a room with one big bed, otherwise you will get a room with to sparate beds. Only 25% of all rooms have kingsize beds.
The resort is a full inclusive resort, 24 hours a day! Thats great, you can have snacks, drinks all time long.
They offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast and lunch is buffet menue. Good selection for a one week vacation, but could be boring if you stay longer.
For dinner they offer buffet menue and dinner in 3 restaurants. We tried the buffet, the brazilian restaurant and the italian one.
The italian is the one we can recommend mostly. Great kind of pasta, pizza and very friendly staff.
Beach: Well they have one, but not a sandy one and if you go the water there is no sand. It is a mix of stones and coralls and if there waves, even small ones, it is tricky to get into the water.
Lagoons: Really nice. There you can jump into the water and do some snorkling, even in the undeep water you will several kinds of fishes, really nice. If swin a little bit out of the lagoons you will see more and several kind of fishes.
Short summary:
View: Great!
Service: Ok ...
Food: Ok up to good
Overall: Good!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom201174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 491 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

This hotel is very different to the usual egyptian hotels. Like a little mediterranean village with it's own harbour. Very impressive and all the staff are excellent. The rooms were huge but some blocks seemed to be older than others so were a little tired looking. The only minor fault was the food in the main buffet restaurant was not always so good, seemed to vary and was not always hot. The other restaurants more than made up for it though with excellent food and service, particularly the seafood. My husband is not a huge fan of seafood but enjoyed it so much he wanted to go again!
The only downside to this hotel is that no english tour operators go there so there were only 3 english couples in the week we were there but on the plus side the waiters couldn't do enough for us and at one point we had to ask them to slow down with bringing the drinks.
It is worth bearing in mind though if you go to Hurghada in December it can be very windy which at times can be quite chillly if you are out of the sun!
Would definately go again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The first impression of this hotel is the beauty of it, it really is stunning. The staff in the lobby upon arrival were helpful and had a smile for us after a long journey, and the usual courtesy and service was prevalent as we have come to expect when returning to this fabulous country.
The room was huge, (6018) and at the furthest away from reception but this was no problem, we could walk to the lobby in 5 minutes at an easy pace but there is a bus that comes around every 10 mins or so and will pick you up and take you to the Lobby.

The view from the room was as promised, a sea view, and what a view indeed! The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Great service again from our young man that cleaned the room every day.

We enjoyed the palm pool, simply because of Emad, our poolside barman who delighted us with his quick smile and again, great service, along with Ali who provided our towels and kept the pool area immaculate. These guys work so hard to make sure they make the guests comfortable and welcomed, cannot recommend them highly enough.

Ahmed in the Lobby bar has to have a special mention too, as my husband and I were the only english speaking couple (as we thought!) in the resort, he quickly identified another couple from the UK and got us all together! Another guy from the UK was soon brought to us 4 within 2 days and we ended up spending time together as the ONLY people from the UK in the whole resort! Not a problem though, yes there are a lot of Russians, and the rest of the guests came from Germany, Sweden, some French but on the whole we were not bothered by any other guests.

Food was good, highly recommend the Italian restaurant, we ate there 3 times during our 7 day visit. Buffet in the main restaurant was fresh but it is nice to have your meal served to the table.

All told I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family (and have already done so!) and would return here again. November is a lovely month to visit Egypt, we did find it breezy and it did go off a bit cool in the evenings but it was better weather than the UK at this time of year!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazeymay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very good hotel in Egypt. Situated outside of Hurghada it's a 30min drive from the airport.
Friendly staff, good food quaility and clean and big rooms.

Free WiFi in the lobby and over cable in each room. The rooms are all spacious and with sea view for every room. Included is also a safe, tea, coffee and minibar which is refilled every day. The beach itself is a corral one we highly recommend using neoprene bathing shoes. There are 3 pools and 2 lagoons with saltwater for swimming and the house reef is also easily accessible through the entry channel of the port. Of the 3 à la carte restaurants we can recommend the Italian and also the Brasilian, we didn't test the fish restaurant though.
The guest are mostly Russians (90%) and the rest consist of German,Swiss French and some Egyiptians.
The prohibition of burkinis doesn't makes this hotel bad. We can recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing holiday in Egypt but also for divers. The Aquarius Dive Club at the hotel has it's own port and boats for easy diving. We felt at home there and enjoyed all the dives with the crew.
We will come back in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

After being in Egypte a couple of times, I found the hotel, that will be my go to place in the future.
The food is excellent and always another buffet. Normally I have very few expectations, but here, it was clear a european is at the head of this hotel. Not only in the food, but also in spirit with the staff.
The room was very nice and the facilities top.
Everything about the hotel is great and i would reccommend it to everybody.
Great job Johan and the very nice staff.
My only downpoint, if I must, is that it is clear that a lot of visitors are from russia and that is clear with the animation. À lot of it is done in russian. But this is no reason for a loser rate

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeandw1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
2.5 km away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
9.2 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,430 reviews
1.1 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
2.6 km away
Old Palace Resort
Old Palace Resort
#50 of 222 in Hurghada
1,528 reviews
5.6 km away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#26 of 222 in Hurghada
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 84521, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#46 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $97 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Citadel Azur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITADEL AZUR RESORT SAHL HASHEESH! Heaven on earth! A Sunken Paradise Reborn! Our exclusive luxury architecture built with natural coral stones which has been hand chiseled from nearby mountains is a true architectural achievement. The Citadel Azur Resort with an atmosphere of the ports in Southern France or the Amalfi coast embraces a large marina where you can enjoy a touch of a small Mediterranean village with its own harbor. Overlooking the Red Sea, each spacious and luxuriously appointed guest room features spectacular sea views. A unique holiday with water sports, boat trips, marina and private beach extended to 1.6 km long, 3 manmade sea lagoons inside an amazing house reef. Relax at the swimming pools elevated and scattered around for your convenience in the resort and enjoy our state-of-the-art health club and gym. Book a wellness journey with our team of professional in our on-site Spa. Conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from Hurghada International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing