We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
1,438
394
47
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
394
47
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel very pleasant stay comfortable hotel the oriental restaurant all inclusive basis kids club other hotels in the area air conditioning laundry service el gouna evening entertainment main restaurant room cleaning fish superior room sea view coral reef
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I don't know why more people don't go to Egypt. It is a wonderful country and the hotel staff I have met have all been as friendly as you can imagine. And the hotels, while not perhaps as flawless as some in the Far East, are really excellent value and very enjoyable to stay in. The Iberotel in Makadi Bay is certainly no exception. We, a family of two adults and two older teenagers, had a lovely 10 all-inclusive day stay in July 2018. Our 2 rooms were interconnecting - very convenient - clean and spacious with good air conditioning and pleasant bathrooms. There was a welcome pack of fruit and biscuits. Safe in the room plus minifridge stocked with soft drinks, beer and wine. (soft drinks included in the all inclusive package but not the beer (even Egyptian beer) and wine). Beach towels provided in the rooms and changed every evening. TV with not a lot of English channels. Reasonable wi-fi for two devices per room - connection reaches out to the pool area but connection can be bad at busy times. There seems little point in paying extra for the enhanced wifi though.

The hotel is set in lovely gardens with some very cool and curious cacti and lovely plants and trees. There are three pools - a large one, a smaller one with a swim up bar, and a kids pool. Get a sun bed by 7.30 as it fills up round the pool quickly after then. The hotel needs more sunshades. There are plenty more sun beds on the beach which is right next to the hotel. Reasonably fine sand beach (less gritty than elsewhere in the Bay. Good snorkling with three reef areas that area easy to get to - plenty of fish to goggle at. A regular minibus (free I think) takes you to the nearby waterpark (also included i think - we didn't go). Kids club. Tennis. Darts. Pool. Table football. There is an ATM across the road and a 24 hour chemist.

Food is a cut above that in similar (cheaper) hotels we have stayed in. Good fruit and tasty puddings as well as generally good quality main courses. The usual stuff - roasts, stews, fish, kebab machine on occasion. Decent cocktails made with good mixers/juice plus pleasant light beer and drinkable rose wine included. The main restaurant is perfectly pleasant (aircon better the further in you go). A couple of other restaurants including the beach restaurant where they somehow knew it was my birthday and serenaded me and then provided a huge cake (after we had eaten pudding!)

Lovely and helpful staff headed by the very friendly and accessible Mr Garcia. THis is a really lovely hotel and well worth considering. My one complaint is that, arriving late (10pm) the dinner provided was a very dry sandwich. It would have taken little effort to have provided pizza or some pasta and salad as we have had at other hotels in the area. A small point but irritating after a long day travelling. Apart from that, first rate!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank JeremySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane R, Guest Relations Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear JeremySG,

thank you for spending your holiday in our Iberotel Makadi Beach. Furthermore my team and I would like to thank you for your positive rating and your words of praise. You have provided us with great motivation and we will do our best to improve the service we offer. We would be very happy to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Manuel Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Ver bad experience this time and Will not be back. Not good service and People Just aşk for the tip even the cleaning boy very ruse. Food iş very bad and hotel bar iş also not clean and staff use same glass for other guest without clean thats why People are sıcak. Not be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TC Hakki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane R, Guest Relations Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear TC Hakki B,

thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and we regret it very much did not meet your expectations. Every one of our guest has earned our service equally and the service of my staff is not dependent on the tip. And also in Egypt you have to follow hygiene standards so that I can say for sure that our employees don’t hand out used glasses to our guests. We thank you again for your feedback and that you were a guest in our house.

Best regards,

Manuel Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

On the whole everything is great.but at the beach the distance between the umbrellas is quite narrow.distracting is also the loud music on the beach of the hotels adjacent to the madinat makadiand the boats (banana boat) driving back and forth on the beach

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heinz1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane R, Guest Relations Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear heinz1978,

thank you for spending your holiday in our Iberotel Makadi Beach. Furthermore my team and I would like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation and we will do our best to improve the service we offer. We wish you a good time and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Manuel Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Luxury service and the best Manager Manuel Guardia very friendly staff, we advice everyone to go to this hotel what luxury drinking is brought by the friendly staff every day as much as you want eveything looks clean and tidy

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnnyhansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane R, Guest Relations Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Guests,

thank you for spending your holiday in our Iberotel Makadi Beach. Furthermore my team and I would like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation and we will do our best to improve the service we offer. We wish you a good time and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Manuel Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

i've been there last year with family .....
everything was just perfect
the place is kept in an amazing condition , very clean , and well equiped
the staff r doing everything they can to make your stay enjoyable
the service is super
the beach is beautiful, sandy, and quite
the food is delecious
all was perfect

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank michaelwaguih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane R, Guest Relations Manager at Iberotel Makadi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Guests,

thank you for spending your holiday in our Iberotel Makadi Beach. Furthermore my team and I would like to thank you for your positive rating and your words of praise. You have provided us with great motivation and we will do our best to improve the service we offer. We would be very happy to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Manuel Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews