We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Hoilday”
Review of Serenity Fun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serenity Fun City
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Although we visited Hurghada in 2014 we were still bit apprehensive. Not because of we were scared but more due to ending up in a hotel that maybe empty and not getting the service that once thrived tourist to beautiful places of Egypt. So we didn’t know what to expect in Hurghada. All we wanted was for the kids to be away in a sunny place with good swimming pools, good food and Hurghada was the place that could guarantee that.

We had a fantastic holiday with the entire family. We all stayed at Serenity Fun City. Me and my family arrived on 24th October 2017 and stayed 7 nights. Other family members came before or joined us there. It was the first time we managed to go somewhere with a crowd this big and it worked out to be a great trip and thanks to everyone at Serenity FunCity!!

I wanted to give a special thanks to Mr Poles Ramzy- Manager for his constant effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable. He arranged a Microwave to be in our room for the duration of our stay as my kids had special dietary requirements. Customer satisfaction- at its best!!

Below is a general view/opinion of the services provided:

Hotel Location:
Hotel is located 13k (45mins – 1hr) away from Hurghada City Centre and middle of nowhere. Taxi to city centre can be very expensive. However, Senzo Mall is 30mins away and there is a McDonald for all the junk food lovers. #SpicyChickenBurger

Rooms:
We had 3 Family rooms (5020, 5021 & 5032) and a Double room 5015. All very good sized rooms and nice and clean, all rooms were located on the ground floor. We had easy access to pool and restaurants. Room service was fast to respond to anything needed.

Wifi:
Only available in the lobby area but the connection was very poor, maybe due to the location of the hotel?? Hotel staff claimed they were having technical issues. Definitely need to improve!!

Food:
Food was very good but selection of food was limited again maybe due to the hotel guest capacity being at around 60%. Restaurants weren’t too busy which we preferred- made the breakfast, lunch and dinner more enjoyable with no queuing and hassle.
One thing I must mention is that the chefs where very good on discarding any food that has been left out for too long even if it was untouched. #GoodFoodSafetySkills

Glasses needs to be clean properly, seem as though its just been rinsed and put out!

Animation:
Adults/guests were kept engaged throughout the day near the pool doing aqua gym, water polo, yoga, etc. There was a 30mins show every night for the kids at 8:30 followed by a 30min kid’s disco which our kids absolutely loved. Adults showed followed after that, definitely room for improvement.

Pool:
Pools were nice and clean and well maintained, temperature could have been little raised to make it comfortable for the kids nevertheless our kids loved being in the pool. Surfaces around the pool areas are very slippery. #BeCautious

Aqua Park:
Unfortunately, slides operated only for few hours through the day. 3 slides on the left tower in the morning and after lunch 3 slides on the right tower operate for few hours. It was great fun. #GoCrazy

Luna Park
Great place to keep the kids busy in the evening. Tokens can be purchased easily.

Spa & Gym:
Use of the gym is free and I tried to use it during my stay (few time) overlooks front of the 2 Hotels. However, the Spa treatments where heavily overpriced. Same treatments (Cleopatra, etc) which we usually paid around £25 (in my pervious visit in Hurghada and all the times in Sharm) were priced at £60 and negotiated to £40.
Normal 50mins massage was around £25. Reluctantly my wife had a treatment or two. If the price was reasonable, then we would have booked 4-5 treatments each during our stay like we do, and would happily pay up front if needed. #A-trick-that-they-missed.

Beach:
Shuttle comes every 5-10mins, it’s a quick ride to the beach. Beginning of the beach is bit steep but if you go past the Food Court the beach is much better. Food there was delicious.

Once again thank you to all the staff at Serenity Fun City!!

Hope to see you all again!!

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room - we had room 5032
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harun r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations at Serenity Fun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking time to share the feedback about your stay.

We are so pleased to know that the service extended to you during your vacation with us has met your expectations.

It was a great pleasure having you here with us, the opinion of every customer is important for us and we keep always analyzing comments and suggestions of our guest to improve our services and facilities.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff. All your comments are always taken on board and passed to the relevant departments, we will definitely work on all your comments to further improve our hotel.

Once again thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and for choosing Serenity Fun City - it's truly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Serenity Fun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The animation team was great interacting with others looking after me. They also have excellent performances every night with Mado, Emmo, Natalie, Ellie, DJ Bakar, Ibrahim, Adji, Felix , Rashidi and Anna. They are all professional dancers and host games like water polo and dance classes. The food at the hotel was exquisite and the programs were really fun. The only let down is that the WiFi goes no further than the reception. My favourite part of the stay was the animation team and their activities and shows. Thank you animation team.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Abdul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations at Serenity Fun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on tripadvisor.com. Its gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing.

Our target is to satisfy our all guests’ needs and to exceed guests’ expectations whenever possible. Indeed, it was a great pleasure to know that our teams in all the departments have managed to create a truly nice holiday experience for you.

We put on a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service our guests would expect from our hotels and I can assure you that comments have been noted and passed to higher management to enable us to improve.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at Serenity hotels soon.

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Serenity Fun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We travelled to Serenity Fun City at the end of October / beginning November and the weather was sooooooooo nice! We did not see a cloud throughout our whole stay! The mornings are a lot earlier than back home and it is already hot and sunny at 9am but the evening draws in quickly and by 5pm it is dark! (Evenings are chilly). On arrival to our hotel we were upgraded to a family room free of charge as the hotel was half empty (hurray) are bags were then carried to our room. The rooms are nice they have a walk in shower and tea / coffee making facilities there is also a fridge which is re-filled daily with bottled water at no extra charge. Also the safe is free of charge which we found unusual as you normally need to pay for. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily and we would often find little towel animals on our bed :)

There are a lot of pools to choose from and as it was quiet we had no trouble ever finding a sun bed. In fun city you have the aqua park which has the wave pool and slides then there is the main pool where there is a dj playing music and the animation team organising water Zumba / water polo etc.. there is also a kids splash park pool with smaller slides and water squirters. Then a short (2 min walk out of reception) is the Serenity beach hotel which has 2 pools with swim up bars and a larger pool. You will get hassled around all of the pools for excursions and spa treatments etc... But you can ask for a "do not disturb" sign from the towel hut. We done the Dolphin World trip which is not advertised anywhere but if you ask someone they will organise it for you. It was AMAZING the best show I’ve seen and for my family of 4 it was £50. We also done the quad biking (this is based in the hotel) and was a 2 hour trip across the desert and to a beach this was £30 for 2 of us. We done a glass bottom boat trip as well, the hotel is in the middle of know where but you really do not need to leave! There are shops in both hotels selling trainers, souvenirs, Cigarettes, Clothes, Jewellery, beach goods..... But you really do need to haggle a rule of thumb is half whatever price they give you. We took English pounds and preferred to pay in this way so we knew what we were spending. There are several Resutrants in the hotel and you need to book these near reception you will have one FREE per week but as the hotel was quiet we were told we could have a free one every night :) we really enjoyed this as were waited on! You need to choose your food while booking though. We did eat in the buffet restaurant once and the food is lovely but they do not have chips or nuggets etc... So nothing for children but the children would eat their main meal at lunch as there’s always pizza, burger, and chips. The best place for lunch was the beach they cook the food fresh for you and again is FREE. The beach its self is slightly Stoney but the sea is very shallow and when you walk past the stones there is soft sand in the sea. The fish swim around your feet and the sea is soooooooooo warm. If you want to go in the sea I recommend water shoes, I tried using flip flops but this did not work. Also bring your snorkels from home as we were being quoted £90 for 2 WTF! Everything in Serenity beach is included in your all-inclusive and it is a 2 min walk away. The beach is at the back of the Beach hotel and there’s a free shuttle bus there every 15 mins but we liked the walk. There is also a shisha tent in the beach hotel open 6pm - 11pm and this was charged at 50 Egyptian pounds (about £1.75) this gets charged to your room bill the same as the fun fair rides so you just pay upon leaving. The rides were great for all ages and were 160 Egyptian pounds for 16 tokens (every ride is 1 token) this works out at about 66p per ride! The Entertainment at night is outside in the middle of the funfair there is kids disco at 8.30 followed by a one hour show which finishes at 10.30 after that there is nothing! All the bars stop serving at 11pm sharp so everyone just goes to bed. There is a nightclub in the beach hotel which is free entry but drinks get charged to the room and no children are allowed. There are no snacks etc.. After dinner so we would just take crisps down to the show. Breakfast is in the buffet restaurant not much choice but fresh omelette and fried eggs there is no bacon and no mushrooms etc... So don't expect a fry up. We have come home with a few bites so recommend taking repellent also you don't need to pack towels as these are provided by the pool for you. Overall this is a beautiful hotel with amazing grounds which are kept spotless! There is security on every door and all transport coming into the hotel is checked underneath etc... This hotel is recommended for families and for people who don't mind going to bed at 11pm. I think my family will deffo be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkdiamond28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations at Serenity Fun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we'd like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay at Serenity Fun City.
We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so pleased to know that the service extended to you during your vacation with us has met your expectations.
It was a great pleasure having you here with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you sometime soon.
Once again thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and for choosing Serenity Fun City - it's truly appreciated.

Kind regards and Best wishes
Serenity Fun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 10 nights at this hotel and had a really great holiday. The main thing that made our holiday was the staff - bar, restaurant, guest relations but especially the animation team.
The team were so friendly and lots of fun...great bunch of people. Made lots of effort with all the guests.
Thanks to Emma, Natalie and Mado in particular!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations at Serenity Fun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

First of all we'd like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay at Serenity Fun City.
We are so pleased to know that the service extended to you during your vacation with us has met your expectations.
It was a great pleasure having you here with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you sometime soon.
Once again thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and for choosing Serenity Fun City - it's truly appreciated.

Kind regards and Best wishes
Serenity Fun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel has the best animation team we have ever come across. All staff are very friendly and attentive. Our room and the pools were always clean and we always had good service at the bars. Overall had an amazing holiday at this hotel and the animation team and staff made it a holiday to remember!! Would definitely recommend this hotel to those who have kids and are up for a lot of fun :-)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank larsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations at Serenity Fun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

First of all we'd like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay at Serenity Fun City.
We are so pleased to know that the service extended to you during your vacation with us has met your expectations.
It was a great pleasure having you here with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you sometime soon.
Once again thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and for choosing Serenity Fun City - it's truly appreciated.

Kind regards and Best wishes
Serenity Fun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
3.4 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
21.2 km away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#51 of 221 in Hurghada
3,011 reviews
0.1 km away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#13 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Jaz Aquaviva
Jaz Aquaviva
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,840 reviews
12.3 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
1,467 reviews
2.8 km away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Fun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Fun City

Address: 36 km Safaga Road | Hurghada, Red Sea, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $69 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Fun City 5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serenity Fun City is a 8-minute walk from the beach and located on the west bank of the Red Sea in the area of Makadi Bay. One of the most striking features is the Theme Park, a unique amusement park in the Red Sea Region, including the Aqua Park with a variety of water slides and pools for all age ranges, Luna park with various games, kids club, children's playgrounds, video games room and 6D cinema.. This Resort offers a main buffet restaurant and 5 a la carte restaurants - Italian, Asian, Oriental, Sea food menu, food court and 4 large bars either in the lobby or at the swimming pools with an aqua park view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Fun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing