We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is excellent. Resort needs a night life.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent 10 days at the resort. The housekeepers were excellent. The dive shop was excellent. The food was excellent. The staff went out of their way to help you. Several invited us to their homes and island activites. The fact is that this is where you come to dive. The reef is only 15min boat ride which is very nice. The diving is excellent. The drawback is that there are no evening activities. If the staff didn't invite us out we would have been done after dinner. We also had 3 days of the same music before the CD was changed in the dining hall. You also can not change the TV channel. The manager controls the TV channel and changes is capriciously. The manager, Claudia, seemed pleasant, but never spoke to us. With no activities and no interraction I suspect she was a hotel manager more than a resort manager.
Taveuni in general is the most friendly place I've ever been. People on the side of the road will wave and greet you. People waiting for the bus will give you directions and strike up a discussion. One guy working on a roof even yelled out and waved.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with the out door tub. Most people used the privacy curtain in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spending 10 days at Garden Island for my first time in Fiji, together with my buddy Villas had been a great time and real adventure. We are welcomed with a song by staffs + guitar and a fresh coconut drink. All staff was very friendly, they talked and smiled to us whenever we met.

Room was neat and spacious. Housekeepers did come in everyday and gave us some nice big flowers as decoration. The seaview with the private Jacuzzi was the most relaxing part, actually same for the massage in an open booth by the sea (must try). The scenery facing the big sea was breathtaking, no matter in morning time, afternoon or nighttime, but surely you can’t miss the sunset. The newly built pier was a good place to enjoy the view as well. We did some star-gazing one or two nights at the pier, no obstacles at all, feels like you can touch the sky. There was one big pool and another shallow one for kids or the beach in front of the resort is even better choice, water is not so deep. Snorkeling and kayaking are possible there too.

We did go to the dateline, waterslide, Bouma, Lavena, marine park, pearl farm, Bobby’s farm, village visit… The reception helped so much to arrange all these for us. There was a booklet you can refer to for activities you can do on the island. Picking up at the resort and return, and packed lunch too, nothing we had to worry about.

My friend even did her PADI open water at the Garden Island dive shop while I did my DSD (Discover Scuba Diving). Instructor and dive masters were all nice and helpful, explained everything clearly with details. Gears look new, though the mask wasn’t fitting me very well. We were really shocked by how beautiful the soft carol underwater was, got it now why it is named “Rainbow Reef”.

Last but not least, foods at Garden Island were excellent, portions were bit big but still. Continental breakfast is included with the room rate but list of various choices is available as well. I recommend the coconut pancake and cheese omelet. We were totally in love with the fresh fruits, pineapple, papaya and juices. You will have two or three choices each for set lunch and set dinner. I prefer the traditional Fiji dishes, but other international cuisines tasted very nice too.

A nice place to get away from busy world in Hong Kong. Love to be there again, I am already planning to return with family and boyfriend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank tishkeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent Diving and excellent resort. The food and the accommodations are first class. Great staff. Stayed two weeks...the service and value are unbeatable. I suggest checking your junk mail for any replies, apparently there is some internet glitch when they respond to your email queries.

Room Tip: Ask for fist floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howardhofelich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights way back in 2009. Would love to come again. The accommodation was nice, Spacey and clean. Staffs were friendly. All their meals was tasty. The view from the room into the ocean with the waves hitting the shore was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After spending a wonderful week at Garden Island Resort in 2011, we decided to spend two weeks there this year. The staff is the best we've encountered in our travels. They are simply the most gracious folks you'll ever meet. The good food is very plentiful and varied. The bar is well stocked and priced fairly. The rooms and grounds are spotless. Plenty of hot water (if you need it). The pool is lovely and cleaned daily. The dive operation is top notch too. We did 20 dives while we were there and the guides accommodated our site requests when the tides and current would allow it. Air fills were a consistent 3000 psi and they grouped people together based on experience. We usually had 4-6 people on our boat but the resort was far from full when we were there. All in all, you can't go wrong staying here. Sit back, relax, and let these wonderful people take care of you.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have direct access to the grounds and huge outdoor garden tubs. It's worth pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
17.1 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
16 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
357 reviews
15.5 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,357.7 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
75 reviews
15.9 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
1.7 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: $193 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front suites with a private patio, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni
Garden Island Resort Fiji/Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing