We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2014

This is a great place, perfectly located for diving and snorkelling! The accommodations are very clean, comfortable and nice, especially for the price. The view from the whole property is superb. The food was very good and the staff so friendly and warm! We so enjoyed our snorkel trip to rainbow reef, then the kayaking to the island that we had all to ourselves for the day was a dream come true! The only negative comment I would have was that there was some confusion on pricing between the dive shop and the front desk. We were told 3 different prices for the kayaks as well as the snorkel tour. Then when we were checking out, both were priced sooo much higher on the bill than we were ever told! It was pretty shocking, actually. We explained that we were given completely different prices, so they lowered them a little on the bill, but it still came out to much more than we had been told at the beginning. Just make sure you are clear on prices of extras before you go! But overall we loved our time at Garden Island and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay -- the view is absolutely spectacular, the staff is incredibly warm, welcoming, and helpful ... Going out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay!

We very much enjoyed the scuba diving ... The dive shop did a great job taking care of us and making sure we saw all sorts of great sea life. Excellent diving, particularly for soft corals ... I also enjoyed the unusual swim-throughs. Thanks so much to the entire dive staff!!

The food here is delicious ... We enjoyed everything we had ... I particularly enjoyed some of the more local dishes, such as the pokee, which is fish wrapped in taro, and served with what seemed to be a coconut cream sauce -- delicious. The staff is very happy to accommodate any special requests/needs. And they offered to pack a lunch for us for any of our outings.

Fairly convenient to the resort are some wonderful things to see ... For example, I'd recommend going to see the waterfalls -- probably a 40-min drive (the hotel staff took us, for a very reasonable charge) ... Totally worth it ... A picture-perfect waterfall and a clear water pool to swim in ... Beautiful! On the same outing, we also went to visit a very interesting pearl farm.

From the resort, we walked about 10 mins to the International Date Line ... Not a lot to see, but interesting, eh?! We also walked about 15 mins to a beautiful water slide ... The water level was unfortunately too low for us to actually slide, but it is beautiful and in the midst of a tropical rain forest. Most picturesque.

Taveuni really is a "garden island," very lush. Highly recommend this resort, especially if you are here to dive! Claudia and the staff will take excellent care of you!

Room Tip: All rooms have an awesome sea view. Pay a little extra and request a ground-level "spa" ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianawahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent 10 days at the resort. The housekeepers were excellent. The dive shop was excellent. The food was excellent. The staff went out of their way to help you. Several invited us to their homes and island activites. The fact is that this is where you come to dive. The reef is only 15min boat ride which is very nice. The diving is excellent. The drawback is that there are no evening activities. If the staff didn't invite us out we would have been done after dinner. We also had 3 days of the same music before the CD was changed in the dining hall. You also can not change the TV channel. The manager controls the TV channel and changes is capriciously. The manager, Claudia, seemed pleasant, but never spoke to us. With no activities and no interraction I suspect she was a hotel manager more than a resort manager.
Taveuni in general is the most friendly place I've ever been. People on the side of the road will wave and greet you. People waiting for the bus will give you directions and strike up a discussion. One guy working on a roof even yelled out and waved.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with the out door tub. Most people used the privacy curtain in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spending 10 days at Garden Island for my first time in Fiji, together with my buddy Villas had been a great time and real adventure. We are welcomed with a song by staffs + guitar and a fresh coconut drink. All staff was very friendly, they talked and smiled to us whenever we met.

Room was neat and spacious. Housekeepers did come in everyday and gave us some nice big flowers as decoration. The seaview with the private Jacuzzi was the most relaxing part, actually same for the massage in an open booth by the sea (must try). The scenery facing the big sea was breathtaking, no matter in morning time, afternoon or nighttime, but surely you can’t miss the sunset. The newly built pier was a good place to enjoy the view as well. We did some star-gazing one or two nights at the pier, no obstacles at all, feels like you can touch the sky. There was one big pool and another shallow one for kids or the beach in front of the resort is even better choice, water is not so deep. Snorkeling and kayaking are possible there too.

We did go to the dateline, waterslide, Bouma, Lavena, marine park, pearl farm, Bobby’s farm, village visit… The reception helped so much to arrange all these for us. There was a booklet you can refer to for activities you can do on the island. Picking up at the resort and return, and packed lunch too, nothing we had to worry about.

My friend even did her PADI open water at the Garden Island dive shop while I did my DSD (Discover Scuba Diving). Instructor and dive masters were all nice and helpful, explained everything clearly with details. Gears look new, though the mask wasn’t fitting me very well. We were really shocked by how beautiful the soft carol underwater was, got it now why it is named “Rainbow Reef”.

Last but not least, foods at Garden Island were excellent, portions were bit big but still. Continental breakfast is included with the room rate but list of various choices is available as well. I recommend the coconut pancake and cheese omelet. We were totally in love with the fresh fruits, pineapple, papaya and juices. You will have two or three choices each for set lunch and set dinner. I prefer the traditional Fiji dishes, but other international cuisines tasted very nice too.

A nice place to get away from busy world in Hong Kong. Love to be there again, I am already planning to return with family and boyfriend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank tishkeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent Diving and excellent resort. The food and the accommodations are first class. Great staff. Stayed two weeks...the service and value are unbeatable. I suggest checking your junk mail for any replies, apparently there is some internet glitch when they respond to your email queries.

Room Tip: Ask for fist floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howardhofelich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
16 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
359 reviews
17.1 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
15.5 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,357.7 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
79 reviews
15.9 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
43 reviews
0 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: $208 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front suites with a private patio, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni
Garden Island Resort Fiji/Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing