We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diving experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very relaxing place to stay with friendly helpful staff, good food and a very clean resort.
Located right on the beach front meant spectacular views all day as the tides came and went, ending each day with a magnificent sunset. World class coral reef only 10-15 minutes away by boat. Simply magnificent. I cannot speak highly enough of Juho the Professional Diving Instructor. We were able to dive 4 sites on Rainbow Reef over 2 days. His dive shop is immaculate with top quality gear. Safety and fun are his top priorities. His attention to detail was to be commended. 50 metre visibility was such a treat as conditions were near perfect. Snorkelling at least would be a must do. Taveuni Island is well named as the garden Island. A visit to the date line also a must do. Step back in time literally.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. 2nd floor may be more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 707jillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome from the very beginning! The staff were beautiful and the rooms were immaculate. The food was lovely and in the evenings, dinner was accompanied by live music.
We were in awe of the variety of fish and the water clarity on our snorkel tour! The staff were very professional and made us feel comfortable and safe in the water. We especially loved everyones passion for the resort and the ocean.
On one of our days we took advantage of the Kayaks and paddled out to an uninhabited island close by. The staff also packed us a beautiful lunch which we took with us.
Overall our stay was amazing and we will definitely be back someday.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We have travelled in Fiji for around 20 years. Been to the Islands in the West. Done Denarua island many times. Suva and Coral Coast covered. we visited several times Naigani island until Cyclone Winston destroyed the resort and severely damaged the neighboring village.
We have now found our new favorite special location on Taveuni. OMG what an island. It’s so beautiful. Takes a bit of effort to get there. One hour flight from Nadi. The Garden Island Resort has had some upgrades to the rooms since Cyclone Winston. Very comfortable and quiet resort. The attached Dive shop has great staff and high quality dive equipment and boats to look after you in some of the premier dive locations in the world which are within 20 minutes boat ride.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

First there are three different operations here. The Resort hotel, the first class dive operation and the on-site restaurant. This is an onsite owner operated property and the owner is a dive instructor who dives around 45 dives a month. That will say volumes for you divers. I don't like to dive with dive operators who do not dive themselves. I am a DM who dives 50 to 100 dives in a year as I am able to work in dive resort destinations and dive on the weekends (I know but someone has to do it) and there is a big difference between people who run a dive shop that don't dive and divers who run a dive shop. Philip the owner is a real conservationist from the one eyed dog he rescued after it was struck by a car to appraising divers that if you carelessly damage and break off coral on the first dive there won't be second dive. i believe this his keeps divers "on guard" and is not practiced by other dive operators as I think most are more concerned about their tip than the reef. Safety is top priority for the divers as well as the reef.
I was on savusavu before i came here and the diving was terrible. I dove "Hole in the Wall" which is a 99.5% DEAD reef. There is NOTHING there. Namena Divers will take you to the marine preserve. Stay away from the dive shop at Namale Resort.
Now about the resort. Everyday there is a fresh flower garnish on my bed and in the bathroom. Instead of trying to list all the "little" details I see here I'll just say that I queried the owner and he has 15 years experience with the Ritz Carlton Corp. He definitely brought that quality and attention to detail here. Everything is brand new as the hurricane in Jan. 16 destroyed the place. You would never know it. The rooms are a 10 for the price. Incredible water front views while lying in bed.
Last but not least is the restaurant. Two guys play six strings while you eat cuisine freshly cooked in the kitchen each night. The water glasses are polished, the napkins look like a bird n your fork etc., etc. Attention to detail. The decor is modern in the proms and the dining area. I highly recommend this resort to tourist and especially the dive tourist. You will be diving Rainbow Reef everyday. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The staff here really go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure their guests have the best time possible. If you're a diver or just looking for a break from reality, look no further than Garden Island. It is nothing short of paradise.

I have dove all over Fiji. Rainbow Reef is by far the best diving in Fiji (if not the entire South Pacific) and the dive guides- Leo, Anne and Joe- are true veterans and have been diving here their entire lives! These people know every rock on the reef and will take you the best spots without fail. They are also expert technicians when it comes to your dive gear so don't worry about having your gear serviced beforehand. Divemaster Leo can easily fix any problem you may have with your regulator or BC.

Depending on the season, LOADS of manta rays can be found here, usually frolicking on the surface when the current is running out. Many, many reef sharks also live here. Visit during the winter to maximize shark encounters: you can expect to see reef sharks on every dive during the winter (mating season). But also keep an eye out for Hammerheads, Silvertips and even Bronze Whalers. Head to "The Zoo" when the current is running out to see packs of grey reef sharks hunting massive schools of jacks, snappers, barracudas and giant trevally, whom in turn prey on massive schools of fusiliers. You need strong current to see all of this action here, so pack a reef hook. With all the dive sites on Rainbow Reef, more current means more action, and some dive sites really are for advanced divers only (White Wall).

The dive guides here know the currents intimately and seem to have an inbuilt, all-natural GPS system in their heads. They were the first Divemasters on the island and they did in fact discover many of the most-famous spots here ("Annie's Bommie"). I would trust no one but the Garden Island Dive Team when it comes to having an incredible dive holiday.

Make sure to request "Rainbow's End" and/or "Rainbow Passage" if the current is coming in (guides will know). These dive sites are so full of fish it is absolutely crazy! You are truly going to want to dive these sites over and over and over again! No matter where you have been diving, you will never grow bored of Rainbow Reef and it is utterly impossible not to appreciate the diversity of fish and corals here. Expect action-packed drift dives, riotously colored soft corals and intense fish action!

More impressive than the natural beauty of Rainbow Reef, however, is the genuine kindness and love that the local staff radiate. Book here and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. Rooms on the first floor are a big larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ocelot1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
16 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
359 reviews
17.1 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
15.5 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,357.7 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
79 reviews
15.9 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
43 reviews
0 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: $204 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front suites with a private patio, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni
Garden Island Resort Fiji/Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing