We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience ”
Review of Le Coco's

Le Coco's
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Punaauia
Price range: US$59 - US$170
Cuisines: Diner, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

What a hole. Awful service from snooty waiters. We were 30 mins late (because the Taxi was late) and told the kitchen was closed. They could only serve a limited menu at 1:45pm. No entrees just a few mains. Dreadful attitude, horrible people. Save your money and do not go to this overrated restaurant. It is just revolting.

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocosTahiti, Directeur général at Le Coco's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear David G,

We would like to clarify our experience with us.
We aren't a continuous service restaurant. Our policy is that we do not serve a full lunch menu after 1:30PM. Unfortunately, you arrived late and therefore after this hour.
At the arrival, we informed you that at this time, we could only propose you a main course and dessert. From that, you became rude. In your review, you are forgetting about your attitude regarding our staff. They stayed incredibly calm even with all your insults (for example and sorry for my french: "a....le"...). We did our best to serve your family in the limited time we had. We remember smiles and "thank you", at the time of leaving from all you family, except from you (again).

Best regards,
Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Le Coco’s’ reputation for having the best tasting menu on Tahiti is well-deserved. The restaurant itself was mostly el fresco dining and cocktails in the elegant oceanside garden are encouraged beforehand. The 5 course “Carte Blanche” menu with wine pairings was actually 7 dishes if amuse bouche and delicacies are included. Highlights included tuna tartare with wasabi pea sauce and white chocolate “mayonnaise”, shrimp ravioli with foie gras gravy, vanilla sauce over grilled mahi mahi and finally, their signature Black Pearl Dessert with the most unique presentation ever and literally explosive texture.
It was a pleasure speaking with the delightful co-owner and patisserie chef, Benedicte about the history of the restaurant and her journey toward culinary recognition. After 2 weeks travelling throughout French Polynesia and the Cook Islands, we definitely saved the best for last!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darcette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocosTahiti, Responsable relations clients at Le Coco's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Ia orana Darcette,

Thank you very much of your lovely comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your experience with us and we've ended your trip beautifully.
We are working hard to strive for Excellence, this is why your comments are always welcome and a way to improve.

We are hoping to welcome you soon and take you to another culinary journey.

Bénédicte and the whole team of Le Coco's wish you an happy new year 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

In my opinion this is one of the best restaurants in Tahiti

We booked a table for dinner and from our arrival till our departure the service was impeccable

The dinner was a gastronomical experience... we opted for the 5 course degustation menu with paired wines and every dish was divine

The fantastic food & paired wines, great service and the sound of the waves all contributed to a lovely romantic evening

Highly recommend this place

Thank LevinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocosTahiti, Responsable relations clients at Le Coco's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Ia orana LevinDC,

Thank you very much of your lovely comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your "gastronomical experience" and your beautiful restaurant.
We are working hard to strive for Excellence, this is why your comments are always welcome and a way to improve.

We are hoping to welcome you soon and take you to another culinary journey.

The whole team of Le Coco's wish you an happy new year 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We visited the restaurant for a business dinner, i have eaten there before a few years ago and had found it to be average so was expecting more of the same.

This time we had the 5 course menu and this time i was COMPLETELY blown away.
The food was FANTASTIC!!, the service was great and I will remember this meal for a long time. They have obviously made some changes to the restaurant since my last trip.

Highly recommended and hopefully will be back again very soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel during our honeymoon trip at Bora Bora. My husband and I are big fan of French cuisine. This restaurant hit us by surprise as the food and food presentation were of very good quality French food. Restaurant manager (or maybe co-owner) was super friendly and shared a lot of his view re French wine with us. Very enjoyable dinner. Love the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Coco's also viewed

 
Punaauia, Tahiti
 

Been to Le Coco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing