We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel”
Review of Old City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old City Hotel
Ranked #47 of 241 Batumi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Very bad conditions: rooms are a disaster, personnel is not polite and with no experience in hospitality industry. Is like you have to pleased them....
No daily cleaning in the room, no cleaning in the bathroom after the last gest check out, the towels are insufficient and changed after special request, like a favour offered to the guest. In the bathroom the weather is spread everywhere during shower and the floor remains wheat long time.
The breakfast is very poor, they offer the food from the previous day and looks strange....
Is no more than 2 stars, and as services provided to the guests is of 1 star.
Chose another hotel, for your safe!!!!!!!

Room Tip: No room is suitable for a decent stay in the hotel. Is noisy, dirty and with strange crosses drawn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

When arriving we were not sure where the exact entrance to the hotel was. At the entrance to the building there is a good sized sign. At ground level was an open door of what appeared to be an apartment so we didn't enter at first. Only after going up the stairs and looking at the less well maintained part of the building did we work out that the seeming apartment was in fact the hotel.
We stayed in the top floor apartment that can sleep 4. It was very spacious, and deliciously cool when a breeze wafted through open windows on both sides of building. Views were great and an outside drying area, if not exactly in conformity with health and safety, was also very useful.
The apartment had a fridge/freezer and table and chairs but no cooking facilities so having continental breakfast and a sandwich lunch were possible.
We came by car and parking was not a problem since there were spaces in road opposite at no cost.
The situation of the hotel was excellent being in the old town it was close to restaurants, about 10 mins from the beach and also close to the marshrutka station.
The owner was very friendly and the hotel in general seemed very clean

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank IanJoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel is near the Batumi Art Teaching University, a splendid old European style yellow gracious lady of a building. Old City Hotel is Turkish owned and managed, which is a VERY GOOD thing in Georgia, improving on overall service and quality, immensely.

My desk clerks spoke German and English with me, because i do not know Georgian nor Russian languages.

For 70 GEL [about $41] i had a standard room with a balcony and a view of the Batumi Art Teaching University and the old Catholic Cathedral, which made me feel i was in Paris!

Many other hotels in Batumi are UNBELIEVABLY expensive for no reason whatsoever, and extremely sterile. Even the so called 5-star hotels are not up to the ratings they give themselves, but this Old City Hotel .... i thought it was as good as a very good three star hotel in Athens or Barcelona, and i am sure it satisfied me more than a room for $350 in one of the built overnight over-rated 500-star hotels which abound in Batumi.

Thankfully, there are still hotels like Old City Hotel in Batumi, at reasonable prices, very rewarding offerings, and excellent service.

The Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary is also a half a block away. It was built at the turn of the century as a Catholic Cathedral, but today it is Orthodox Christian in its clientele and priests.

My wifi worked excellently in my room, high speed, and the cable TV was more international than what i found in Tbilisi, the capital city. there is a restaurant attached to the hotel, and even though not busy in March, it looked like the food and atmosphere would be more than satisfying.

The exterior of the hotel is charming and inviting. You could not be better located than here. In the heart of the city, but away from riff raff.

In the summer months, i learned that the rates are a bit higher!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bryan-quiller-hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Татьяна Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batumi hotels
0 km away
Aisi Hotel
Aisi Hotel
#10 of 46 in Batumi
46 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#12 of 46 in Batumi
41 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Mireosi
Hotel Mireosi
#5 of 307 in Batumi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
O Galogre
O Galogre
#1 of 241 in Batumi
69 reviews
0 km away
Piazza Inn
Piazza Inn
#15 of 241 in Batumi
58 reviews
0 km away
Sky-G
Sky-G
#91 of 307 in Batumi
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Hotel

Address: Tavdadebuli Street 30, Batumi 6000, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Adjara Region > Batumi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 241 B&Bs / Inns in Batumi
Price Range: $50 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing