We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passin' Through”

McGinn's PistachioLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: PistachioLand- Home of the World's Largest Pistachio, Pistachio Tree Ranch & Arena Blanca Winery -is owned and operated by the McGinn Family and is home to 12,300 trees and 6,000 wine producing grapevines. The original trees were planted in 1980 and the first nuts were harvested in 1984. Today, Pistachio Tree Ranch is a fully integrated farm where the McGinn Family grows pistachios, makes pistachio candy and packages pistachio products sold on their farm and around the United States. Arena Blanca Winery features the McGinn Family's wines produced on the farm from grapes grown in their vineyard. The World's Largest Pistachio monument was finished in 2008 and was built as a tribute to Tom McGinn, whose vision was to grow pistachios in the New Mexico desert. It stands 30 feet tall and has been featured in New Mexico Magazine, National Geographic Traveler, and Parade Magazine. It was filmed in 2010 in the movie, "This Must Be The Place," and on the History Channel's "Only in America" with Larry the Cable Guy in December 2012. Named a New Mexico Treasure by the NM Cabinet Secretary of Tourism, June 2014, on New Mexico Television episode 3. Visit the farm and winery year around, open daily. Motorized Farm Tours Daily. Call ahead for groups larger than 6 people. Weather permitting.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We were doing our New Mexico roadtrip & came to take our picture with the Giant Pistachio.
We got there late but we were not rushed though.
We sampled pistachios, pecans, brittle, & it was delicious.
We got our pictures & left with bags of goodies.
We had a nice time & the employees were all nice!
Will definitely stop there again & would recommend that you stop there too!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alysgrandma2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Owner at McGinn's PistachioLand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for visiting our family farm! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you were welcomed and helped by our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"giant pistachio"
in 142 reviews
"free samples"
in 69 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 97 reviews
"world's largest pistachio"
in 48 reviews
"flavored pistachios"
in 67 reviews
"fun place to stop"
in 15 reviews
"great stop"
in 33 reviews
"green chili"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 60 reviews
"bought several"
in 11 reviews
"lemon lime"
in 12 reviews
"farm tour"
in 11 reviews
"el paso"
in 18 reviews
"t shirts"
in 18 reviews
"new mexico"
in 53 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 20 reviews
"road trip"
in 15 reviews
Filter

69 - 73 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

Friendly staff. And store is always nicely kept and clean. I am a satisfied customer all the time I visit

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Chinita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Owner at McGinn's PistachioLand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Terrific! We are so glad you return to visit us and that it is a good experience each time. See you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Every time we pass through Alamo we have to stop at Pistachioland! They have the best selection of pistachios and great wines as well.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rtucker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had great service and were introduced to a wine slushy for the very first time. Pistachio tasting was fun with lots of choices. We will surely stop again on our way home from White Sands National Monument.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Owner at McGinn's PistachioLand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for visiting our farm! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you will return to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

They have a very informative tour around the pistachio trees and vineyards . The gift shop is large and has a great variety of things , including many different flavors of pistaccios . Also , wine tasting bar with mostly sweeter tasting wines . If ever back in the area, would definitely return for my pistaccio fix ❣️

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jackieschaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Owner at McGinn's PistachioLand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for visiting our farm and for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our family farm. We enjoy making our own wines on site, and all of our tasty pistachio treats. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGinn's PistachioLand also viewed

 

Been to McGinn's PistachioLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing