We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with Family”
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Serai
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Nice Place with Family”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I visited along with my family to The Serai, chickamagalur and enjoyed the resort facilities, very good attitude of staffs, fantastic food, estate walk..etc.
This is my second visit to this resort, once in October 2010 and this time for Christmas 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    120
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
192
131
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of a 10 day trip through the Deccan in India around Christmas time (2011). This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our journey and one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide. It is set in a coffee plantation. Each room is a stunning bungalow with outdoor small pool, gorgeous room, sunken tub. But the setting, service and cuisine is what really makes this hotel extraordinary. Wonderful south Indian food and gorgeous views. The architecture is modernist and well designed. This is well worth the trip, and is especially well situated for those interested in history--Hoysala temples.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline-LosAngeles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I wanted to spend a quiet 3 night away from the city for a special occasion. I was debating between Kumarakom and this place, before I finally narrowed down to this place. I chose the 3 night package of Estate pool villa, which included all 3 meals for both of us.

The resort had arranged a car to pick us up from Birur station. It was a bit of bumpy 1.5 hr drive. As soon as you check in to the resort, you are offered a yummy cold coffee. Luckily, we were given the resort near to the entrance, so we didn't have to walk much. The villa was huge, with a big bedroom and bathroom. We did have our own private pool in the room, but didn't really swim as the weather was pretty cold.

I was not a big fan on the food served here but they do have a wide variety. I enjoyed my breakfast here the most. I did indulge in spa, which was again nice. The service of this resort is very nice.The resort arranged for us to travel to Mullayanagiri hills, which is the highest peak in Karnataka. The view from both this hill and the resort is a treat to the eyes.

Will definitely love to get back to this place. You can check out an elaborate review about this place in my blog http://myconnectionwithfood.blogspot.com/2012/01/serai-chikmagalur.html

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyaSuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

i spend my last weekend at Serai im Chikmagalur. Even though its far from my home town it aws worth being there. the hospitality, exquisite rooms, mouth watering cuisines, i just cant stop talking about the experiences that i had in the resort. i would love to spend my New Year morning in The Serai with a cup of coffee, because i believe if i start off my year out there i could lead a luxury life throughout the year

Room Tip: you could check out the bathrooms of the room and see how beautiful room u have got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jishageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

i will be revisiting The Serai this New Year to usher in 2012 on a quiet and relaxed note. The previous time i had stayed at The Serai the rooms were luxury at its best and the service was impeccable. Looking forward to visiting the resort again

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Swaha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chikkamagalur
11.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
797 reviews
13.8 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
85 reviews
6.2 km away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
47.8 km away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 140 in Chikkamagalur
286 reviews
11.4 km away
Nirvana Kutira
Nirvana Kutira
#3 of 140 in Chikkamagalur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Property: The Serai
Address: B.M. Road | Mugthihalli Post, Chikkamagalur 577133, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chikkamagalur
#4 Spa Hotel in Chikkamagalur
Price range (per night): $368 - $551
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Serai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Serai Hotel Chikamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing