We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a nice place to get away from the crowds”
Review of Tom's Old Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tom's Old Mansion
Ranked #227 of 466 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I stayed in a room with a double bed on the ground floor just off the courtyard. The room was rs1400/night without AC or rs1800 with AC. The room had a fan and a screen on the window to keep the bugs out but since the window looked onto the courtyard, there wasn't much of a breeze. The temperature while I was there was about 30 degrees C, and with humidity was more like 35 degrees so after struggling through my first night without AC, I decided to spend the extra rs400 and sleep well. The hotel was pretty quiet while I was there (January 23 - 26, 2016) with only 2 or 3 other rooms occupied.

There is free wifi but it doesn't work too well anywhere except in the restaurant (located at the back of the property). The restaurant is open to the public but very few people seemed to come and eat there - it isn't advertised very well. I had a few appetizer dishes there (veg pakora, a sandwich) and it was all very tasty.

The guys running the place don't seem to speak a lot of English and aren't the most helpful but the property is quite nice. The courtyard is perfect for sitting and enjoying a drink or reading and getting away from the hustle and bustle. It is a few hundred metres from the Chinese fishing nets and is located right on Princess Street which is a beautiful street lined with lots of old, culturally rich buildings. I think if you plan to stay in Fort Kochin, this is the area to stay in. There are lots of restaurants, cafes, and a few bars all just a very short walk away.

Try to negotiate a cheaper price but I didn't find anything that was as nice or nicer for much less. I'd pay the price just for the prime location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the courtyard are quiet and have the option for AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2016

Stayed here a couple of times, once a couple of years ago and the second time last week. Not a bad little Hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I think it's a little overpriced for what it is. The rooms are big, spacious, clean but a little bare, a couple of pictures would help. Had hot water showers. My room was apparently 2500rs but they accepted 1700rs with the air con switched off. The downside was the mosquitos. They coud provide plug ins or a net to help with this. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

The only redeeming feature of this place is its location. While the young guy at the front is doing his best to be pleasant, the Owner skulks around and seems entirely unfriendly. Yes there is wifi but it only works in certain spots, definitely not in the room. The rooms are super basic, spartan, and the power shuts off every couple of hours. There is water leaking all over the place in the courtyard. The restaurant seems basic, tried the coffee this morning and the milk turned gelatinous, which was slightly surprising and kind of gross. Happy to have a place to lay out heads at night, but on the whole I fail to see what the draw is in general. Fort Cochin is chaotic and dirty, trash everywhere, and at low tide it is just extremely sad to see the state of "God's Own Country." I was hopeful that this place would be an escape from the chaotic ruins of much of the country, and we are happy to move along tomorrow. The disappointing icing on the cake is Kerala's dry day, the first of every month, that we never know about. So we figure we are hot and cranky and tired, at least we can have a couple drinks on New Year's Day and take a nap, but, no alcohol sales until tomorrow has left us feeling underwhelmed.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank msellabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

This review is for the restaurant and the staff..the food was fine..no complaints. .but not finger licking good..but the staff was excellent. .very polite and hospitable and very correct ..staff couldn't be better

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rbhkolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

I chose this hotel following a bad experience just up the road. The air conditioned rooms are moderately spacious and hot water is sometimes available (sometimes out of the cold tap too!).
The restaurant is good and if you are happy to eat Indian style, the daily breakfast is fine. Sometimes there is music in the evening.
Wifi reception is a bit variable.
You should try to negotiate the price down by at least 30%.
The main receptionist is very helpful but the younger one has only limited understanding of English which can lead to problems.
One strange thing. Though the rooms have regular tiled roofs, the upstairs 'corridors' are covered with galvanised iron roofs and if it rains in the night the noise is incredible.

Room Tip: Check out wifi reception if you can choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 km away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#15 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
163 reviews
0.1 km away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#24 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
114 reviews
0.1 km away
Rossitta Wood Castle
Rossitta Wood Castle
#61 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
XL Homestay
XL Homestay
#43 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Manor
Fort Manor
#50 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
102 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel White Rose
Hotel White Rose
#48 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Old Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Old Mansion

Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tom's Old Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 150 year old heritage home situated in Princess Street in the heart of Old Cochin. Large A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bath, cable TV, wifi, hot water, travel desk, restaurant and doctor on call. Easy access to the Chinese fishing nets, St.Francis. church,Basilica and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tom's Old Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tom's Old Mansion Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing