We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort. Well maintained. Just love it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Varkala a place where we have gone countless times. And we stay only at HILL VIEW. Have never attempted to try any new place as hill view and their people are so nice and friendly that we always feel at home. A should visit place with its multi cuisine cafe attached, Cafe del mar again a placer where we have all our meals when at HILL VIEW.

Room Tip: Book the room over looking the sea. Room 101 and 102 are the ideal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrutaJawahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We moved to Hill View Beach Resort (right behind Cafe Del Mar) after we discovered our first choice was too far from cafes and restaurants during the off-season.
We stayed in an 800 R non aircon cottage, one of five facing a small garden at the back. It was large, clean, comfortable, quiet and restful. A perfect location for relaxing on the tiled porch in a rattan chair. We made frequent trips from this base in to town, down the cliff to the beach, to cafes etc, and could meander "home" again to wash our dusty feet, change our clothes or have a little nap.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They didn't service our room during our 7 nights but we were too chilled out to ask them too. Apparently they would have been happy to if we'd asked. They did fix our TV when we asked.
Towels and soap are provided, along with bed linen. There is a small fridge.

Room Tip: You might get a sea view if you stay at the front, but it's very quiet and peaceful at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Our car pulled into Varkala late one night and we somehow found the hotel in the darkness (our driver was not the best). The hotel staff provided great check-in, upgraded us to the room out front, and took great care to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. Imagine our surprise to wake up the next morning right on the cliffs and in such a prime location! Varkala is really a find (I preferred it to Goa). I will definitely return, and will definitely stay at the Hill View Beach Resort again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

cheap, clean and cheerful... add the fact that our room had a lovely view of the ocean, aircon, comfy bed and a bath... what else do you need? We were lucky to find this place, doesn't look particularly attractive from the street but the staff were friendly and gave us a good end-of-season deal. Only grumble was the breakfast not very inspiring, gave the boy setting it up some soap to wash his dirty hands but a waste of time as the towel was filthy, but lots of great eateries nearby, and good to have the excuse to have brekkie at the Juice shack.

Room Tip: upstairs near the front had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages for three weeks.
We liked...
- the size of them, very spacious, we're a family of four and there was ample space for the whole family: one double bed and one double mattress and still lots of floor space. Also liked the veranda.
-the good location, it takes less than a minute to walk to the cliff top but the cottages are set back from the hustle and bustle so it's very quiet and private. Also it's great for kids as there's a little grassy communal garden.
-the cottages are cleaned on a daily basis when requested. And the cleaners are doing a brilliant job!
-the cottages are reasonably prized.

We slept well, but the beds are pretty hard, mind it's standard in India, we've travelled for three months here and slept in everything from what feels like a plank to very comfortable firm beds.

All in all we'd highly recommend Hill View!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetThemEatLotsOfCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#4 of 52 in Varkala
404 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
59 reviews
0.2 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 km away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $47 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing