We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eyecandy”
Review of Ravine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“eyecandy”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

have been comming here for 7 years now loads of changes in the hotel since just keeps getting more beautiful.this place refreshes me and makes me feel alive good staff good food n good owners p.s- try their biryani n also the chocolate cake

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyecandy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavineHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
It gives us great pleasure to read all those good reviews sent by you.
We wish to inform you that we equally enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you with us again


With best regards,
Ravine Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    331
    100
    33
    53
See reviews for
389
218
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have been here between 6th - 8th Feb 2012.The Climate was good.Had opted for valley side room which gave a good view of the valley..the rooms are well maintained.The Hotel surroundings are cool with a lot of photography spots.

The only negative points are they charge for internet at their lobby.Also the food at restaurant is much costlier and not a value for money.The sad part is paragliding has been banned recently as our tour guide narrated.

Room Tip: Valley side and Valley plus are more or less the same to check the scenic beauty of the valley, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ujjal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavineHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please note the following points

1. We only charge for internet café in the lobby, Wi-Fi is totally free of charge if you have your own device.

2. We will take step to improve the quality of the food served in our Restaurant and make it- Value for Money

3. Paragliding has been ban in Panchgani by the government and the police department for safety and security reasons, so we are unable to help you in this regards. However please do contact the Hotel and we can arrange to provide you with some of the reputable Instructors in Panchgani.

Thank you also for rating us as high as a five star property .We are a three star certified property and with the support and patronage of the loyal clients that we have built over the years we will very soon rise to the level of 5star category.

With Regards,
Ravine Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Bit higher on the cost though looks like the best location. The food is not that great nor its value for money. They have beautiful location with good lawn tennis courts. Recommended if you need luxury with higher cost.

Room Tip: Choose Valley Side or Valley Plus, there's hardly any difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavineHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for the feedback, however most of our guest do feel that we are very reasonable when compare to other hotels in panchgani and Mahabaleshwar.

Your remark on the food is noted and measure will be taken to make it value for money.


Regards,
Ravine Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Hotel is located at the Sydney point and has a lovely view from its large wall sized window. The bed & the room are very cozy and pleasant. Food at the restaurant is okay. The game room is not maintained at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koyelchatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavineHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ravine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Koyel,

Thanks for your review and photos of our hotel, we are extremely sorry for the game room as it was closed for renovations.
Hope you will enjoy our game rooms also on your next trip to Panchgani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Hotel is right below Sydney point, just after the tourist tax collection. The parking is a bit cramped space for about 15 cars. It’s a two storied building.

I had informed the hotel that I would be arriving late. Checking in was not a problem at all. The lobby is nice and big with the restaurant at the rear.

I had booked a valley side room and my expec tations were high. I was put up in Room No.206. The room was strictly ok. Very basic amenities and no wardrobe, you get a small ‘box’ below the Television to put in your luggage; the bottom of this box is taken up by a large Godrej electronic safe box (10x6x10). Most of your luggage stays on the floor, dressing table or on the center table. Lucky I was carrying only one duffel bag. The room had a split air-conditioner and a fan

The wash room is ok; warm water 24 hrs which is a blessing.

One more point to note, the room has a connecting door to Room 205. It seemed to me, they open up the doors for a big family, not a great room to stay in if you are a honeymooning couple.

Next day morning I woke up and was anticipating a fabulous view of the valley while sipping my cup of tea. I opened the curtain which are full length and hide the fact that there are no full length French windows. The windows have a barricade wall inside which is 4 feet tall. No chance of looking at the valley while sipping tea. Look at the clouds. If you are staying here during summer you will have a very sunny stay.

If you stand at the window you have a fabulous view of the river Krishna and the valley. You can also see the tennis courts from the rooms.

We ordered teat Rs.25.00 per cup. Tea not great! Order the Kettle at Rs.50 it’s worth the money.

We decided to take a tour of the hotel this is what I found.

- The gardens are ok and the swimming pool not worth taking a dip.
- The tennis courts are great
- There is an Art Gallery which was closed during our visit
- A mini theater
- Gym ok
- A restaurant

After a days worth of shopping at Mahabaleshwar we came back tired. My wife did not want to go down to the restaurant to eat so decided to order room service. Big disappointments here, first they only serve starters and snacks in the room. We ordered a few starters and cold drinks. We informed room service to clear the plates and the service guy came the next morning. The food is so-so, the chicken crispy tastes like chicken chilly and the masala papad was soggy by the time it was delivered. For food you have to go down to the restaurant.

One other thing I observed that drinking water takes its own time to come. I have stayed at different hotels and noticed that they always a jug of water with room service and take the old one out. The water was only replaced once and that too on request.

The restaurant has one of the best views of the valley. The best place to sit and have a cup of steaming coffee and enjoy the scenery. The only plus point of this hotel is the restaurant. Sad that the restaurant is closed to non guests; I would have stayed somewhere else and come to the restaurant for my Tea.

Over all a very normal hotel with very Ok service and a restaurant with a great view.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rulerofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
1.4 km away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
215 reviews
11.9 km away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,002 reviews
1.9 km away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#6 of 17 in Panchgani
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
14.7 km away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,203 reviews
11.6 km away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravine Hotel

Property: Ravine Hotel
Address: Sydney Point | Wai-Panchgani Rd, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Price range (per night): $72 - $124
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravine Hotel is situated 4,500 feet above sea level, overlooking the Dhom Dam, at the base of Sydney Point. It is located only 20 Km from Mahabaleshwar. Far away from the hustle and bustle of the big city , it is truly a peaceful break from everyday noise, stress and pollution!! The only certified 3 Star Hotel in Panchgani, the Ravine Hotel is equipped to satisfy all your needs, from conferences to movie shoots. Stay where the stars stay and enjoy the breathtaking views from our luxury rooms. Arrive in style, why don't you use our Private Helicopter landing site (Helipad) we can even help you book an helicopter excursion from Mumbai or Pune to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ravine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravine Hotel Panchgani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing