We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We went there after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and plan to stay 2 Nights.
This hotel is very relaxing and well decorated. Rooms are pretty awesome and peaceful to spend a night.
All i want to say, This hotel is good rated and well planned. I will come back next year with friends and family.

Note : There should be more lighting inside the hotel and terrace area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupermanIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the positive feedback.
Now since you already know the place, please let us know how we can improvise or do something special when you visit us again with friends and family.
We have already taken measures to improve the lighting in the main hotel building and the terrace area.
We eagerly wait to welcome you.
With best wishes and regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    292
    34
    5
    0
See reviews for
251
596
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Ratan Vilas for 3 nights, beginning of March. We really enjoyed the place which was calm, beautiful and really charming. The room was spacious and spotless clean, with a comfortable bed. It was a bit dark (room situated in the ground floor, in the main courtyard) but we did not mind. The food was delicious. The owner and the staff were all really friendly. In summary, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the positive feedback.
I agree with you that some of the rooms on the ground floor are a bit dark.
It’s a 100 year old building which was not built to be a hotel so we really hope that our other guests also take this short coming as sportingly as yourself !
We look forward to welcome you again in the future.
With best wishes and regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

In the hectic Jodhpur, the Ratan Vilas is a calm and relaxed place to stay. The rooms are generous and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you.
We look forward to welcome you at Ratan Vilas again.
With best wishes and regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

I stayed there recently for two nights, and had the most relaxing and peaceful time. It is a graceful and pretty oasis in a quite chaotic city. My room was spotless, comfortable bed, good air conditioning, beautiful surroundings and gardens, nice looking pool. I found the staff very prompt, attentive, and gracious as was the owner.

Drawbacks if any were pool too cold for me to enjoy and it was hot out, but there was one family who did swim while I was there so perhaps that is just me, as I prefer a bit of heat in a pool, the water must have been close to 20-22 degrees C, the other drawback which is also a positive is that it is a bit out of the city, so maybe a 10 to 15 minute drive in. However it is also nice to be out of the city a little.

All in all highly recommended with comfortable rooms, and very. Ery helpful and gracious staff. I should also mention. I liked the food so much I ate my dinner there both nights, and I was glad I did. Very very good food, and breakfast buffet was also delicious. I found the wait staff very very prompt, and appropriately attentive. Very very nice touch was the packed breakfast in a box when I was departing arly for Jalismar.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momtoemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you.
We truly are grateful that you decided to stay with us and took time out to write such a glowing review.
I wish we could have a heated pool as our peak tourist season is from November to February and that’s when the water is uncomfortably cold to swim in.
I am quite certain that at some point we will manage to install a cost effective heating system.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ratan Vilas again.
With warmest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a heritage hotel with an interesting history. Beautiful peiod colonial furnishings, immaculate public spaces, peaceful and serene, excellent pool, very good food, excellent service. This is elegant in an understated way, impeccable grounds with beautiful landscaping.........this was a real treat and relaxing few days. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for an encouraging feedback.
We look forward to your next visit at Ratan Vilas.
With best wishes and regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.7 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.3 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#7 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.8 km away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#12 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): $70 - $126
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing