We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse, great location, beautiful room!!”
Review of Pratap Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pratap Bhawan
Ranked #33 of 282 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with Shakti at the Pratap Bhawan guesthouse. We were picked up from the train station, and greeted warmly by Shakti. We had a choice of rooms, and picked one which had a view of both the lake and palace, and lovely balcony windows where you could sit and read whislt taking in the views. All staff were very friendly, and the place was very clean. Would highly recommend to all holiday makers/travellers, and the rooms are very reasonably priced. Many thanks Shakti and staff for a lovely stay. P.S If you want a great place to eat, Shakti recommended the Nat Raj near the train Station. This place has the best Thali we've had and not another tourist in sight,perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkatandjonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

The place is nice, quite and close to Pichola. The rooms are clean, decent size and the staff is very very nice and will go extra mile to make your stay comfortable.
The owner is also very helpful. He arranged for a taxi for a trip to Mt. Abu at a very reasonable price and at a very short notice. They have a roof top restaurant but will also provide room service. Although the menu has only breakfast items, they served us lunch and dinner on request.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Location: Very well connected by Auto and taxi, Nearest Rail & Bus station is also not too far. Best part about the hotel is the location.

Rooms : Good Ambience, Clean rooms. You can have a great view from hotel rooftop.
The hotel is also Near lakeside for some beauty. I found the look and feel a bit tacky. But, despite that it is More comfortable and the staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Hotel staff will help to choose best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at Amrita Vilas in March 2011, and will stay there again on my next visit to Udaipur. The rooms are light and fresh and owners and staff happy to do whatever they can to ensure a pleasant stay. Breakfasts are good - and very reasonable. I had omlettes most mornings. There is a view of the lake from the rooftop, and you can walk most places. Owners also helpful in organising airport transfers and suggesting places of interest. Travelling on my own, I was very thankful of their assistance. Other good thing..... the beds are comfortable and the room rates are very reasonable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byron6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

after spending 2 months in india, it was a pleasure to arrive at shakti's hotel. it's small (9 rooms), spotlessly clean, warm, and NOT A SCAM! we prolonged our stay in his newly, humble, beautifully decorated hotel because it was nice to come back to pratap bhawan at the end of a day. we made it our base hotel. shakti is honest. which appears to be unique where tourism is concerned in india. we would be blissful to assume it's not so. after traveling in a country for so long, finding some decent people is a treat.
his room rates are very reasonable, and he and his staff are extremely abiding. his staff are instructed not to take tips, so you must force it upon them. try to book the ninth room at the roof. it has two windows with views.
he is resourceful and helpful...wanting to help make your trip a good one. not just in it for the buck!
when arriving in udaipur by air, train, bus...just ask the rickshaw to take you to Lal Ghat (it's a small road with alot of small hotels) and look for number 12. his sign is small, but don't let that sway you. Look for number 12, and walk up the steps....to a clean, warm, peaceful abode!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssssToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 km away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#58 of 166 in Udaipur
95 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 166 in Udaipur
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 166 in Udaipur
253 reviews
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 166 in Udaipur
797 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Lake Paradise
Hotel Lake Paradise
#83 of 282 in Udaipur
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratap Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratap Bhawan

Address: 12 Lal Ghat | Near Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $26 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pratap Bhawan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pratap Bhawan was designed by the architecture of Havelis, structures typical of Rajasthan. In the lobby, The marble staircase leading to The 13delux rooms with air-condition and Television.We have roof top Restaurant, giving the occupants a beautiful and enchanting 360 degrees view on the lake and the old town nearby. This hotel with family atmosphere is located in "Lal Ghat" (center of the old city of Udaipur), 5 minutes walk from Lake Pichola, the jagdeesh Temple, City Palace as well as many shops that line the maze of streets connecting the various points of interest and lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pratap Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pratap Bhawan Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing