We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed 2 nights here during a tour of southern India. Our room was in one of the hillside bungalows - large and comfortable with a huge bay window opening out to a terrace. We had a few steps to negotiate but be warned that if your room is at the bottom of the hill there are lots more! There are also lots of steps up to reception and around the gardens/pool so maybe not a good choice for the less able.

We spent a pleasant relaxing afternoon by the pool (rather cool!) - get one of the mesh sunbeds if you can as the wooden ones are very hard. Lots of birds and wonderful views of the city, but after 5pm the mozzies can be a pest.

Food was very good and the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if you cannot manage steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    332
    86
    20
    5
See reviews for
308
297
81
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Amazing hotel. We came from a chaotic hotel in Kanyakumari, and this was heaven. Just the level of service you expect froma Taj property. Lovely large rooms, really comfy beds, great bathrooms. Rooms are spread over beautiful hilltop gardens, with lovely sunsets and peacocks roaming freely. Food in the restaurant is great, the bar staff are lovely. It's a shame that wifi isn't free - at prices like this, do you really have to charge so much? - and their inhouse car prices are extortionate, but the property itself is beautiful. Madurai is a great city, really pulsing with life, and the Meenakshi temple is crazy and beautiful. The Gateway is a little on the edge of the city - fifteen minutes in a rickshaw from the main city - which we thought was lovely, a break from the bustle. But if you want somewhere in the thick of things, it might not be for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_and_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Amazing property in Madurai ..... Great rooms , natural , good place to relax. Room service was good . Nice swimimg pool , with a great view . Spacious rooms . All across exotic flowers , banyan trees . Nice view in the night , you can view the temple from the hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1711rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokkaido, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in last December. We really liked this hotel. The spacious and beautiful room, lush green garden with lovely peacocks and clean pool, the restaurant with magnificent view and breakfast of wide variety of choice, friendly and polite staffs...
The only problem for me was the ayurvedic center. The staffs there were not very friendly nor polite, unlike other staffs. I took foot massage which cost 500 Rps for 20 minutes (the brochure in my room said 500 Rps for 30 minutes though). But the massage girl gave me only 10 minute massage and insisted she did for 20 minutes. I went to the office and told the manager about this cheat. The manager was very faithful and professional and he didn't charge me anything. I appreciate him and it is no longer problem, but this was regrettable happening because every other thing was wonderful. I hope they have improved the service now.
By the way, the dinner buffet at the restaurant was very nice as well. When we saw the menu of a la carte, we thought it was very expencive. But the buffet of huge variety was worth 550Rps for us. We enjoyed lots of beautiful Indian food and wished we could have eaten more...
As other people say, Madurai is very noisy and crowded city. This hotel was away from it, quiet and reluxing . We think we had a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eri086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Beautiful spacious rooms, in a magnificent setting. The view is unforgettable, and the grounds very nice to walk through. It had everything we wanted, nice swimming pool, massage, and a restaurant with beautiful view from the terrasse ; the food is excellent, though a little pricey... as is all the rest (taxi, drinks,...). But definitely worth the cost if just for the view, and the quiet surroundings away from the town's non-stop activity.

Room Tip: The rooms with view on the town are perhaps a little more noisy, but the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChBeKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
4.0 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
7.4 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
9.5 km away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#16 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.7 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Property: The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madurai
#1 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#1 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price range (per night): $122 - $184
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing