We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay in this hotel if visiting Agra - the staff are amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We just loved this hotel.

From the minute you arrive you are treated like royalty.

Ladies you get a little red spot on your forehead to bring you safety and good luck and a welcome cup of tea.

/the rooms are lovely either looking across to the Taj Majal or over the beautiful gardens (we actually watched a wedding last night that was taking place in the gardens - amazing).

From start to finish, whichever member of the team of staff you meet, you will feel so welcome and at home - they are to be commended and valued by the owners because they are truly amazing.

Breakfast is great - fabulous choice of food and the chef comes to see you to see if you are happy (he will even give you some recipes if you ask him).

The gardens are beautiful (just a word of warning - if you want to use the pool in January prepare yourself because it is cold).

I have never seen such a selection of food on a hotel menu at night before - every type of food from Indian, Thai, European, snack, buffet, feast - there is absolutely something for everyone and in copious amounts. Make sure you are hungry. The waitors are superb. We met a young man who is going to get married in October - he was wonderful - friendly, interesting and he even escorted us into the gardens to allow us to watch the wedding.

We got a little welcome selection of cakes when we arrived in our room and the room service team were on hand all the time if we needed anything.

I could go on but in summary, stay here you will not regret it I am sure.

We are already looking forward to our meal tonight.

Room Tip: We are in room 315 but I would imagine they are all superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSBhooi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience with our chefs in the kitchen. The Front Office team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Paramveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 931 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a group tour to the Taj Mahal. It's close to Agra sights like the Red Fort, and is an oasis of calm in the midst of a rundown town.

Breakfast is included and is a decent buffet service. Wifi is free too. There's a rooftop bar but as it was really foggy we couldn't see the Taj! On a nice day you can sip a drink whilst looking at the Taj.

The surrounding area is proper INDIA! Busy roads, hassle from tuk tuks and cows wandering past. Turn right out of the hotel for Spice point, a really nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSBhooi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again at The Gateway Hotel Agra

Warm Regards

Paramveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We received a very warm welcome and stayed two nights here. The room we had was 401. It was comfortably furnished and quiet with a view over the pool and lovely grounds. The beds are very firm. The bathroom is fairly small but well appointed and everything was spotlessly clean. The staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful e.g.,I asked where the nearest ATM was and a security guard very kindly walked me up the street and escorted me back as it was dark. This is not to suggest the area is unsafe as I did feel safe in the area. The quality of food is excellent with an extensive buffet and a la carte menu at lunch and dinner. There is a fantastic choice at breakfast. There is a comfortable bar and lounge area. The location is close to the Taj Mahal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room with a view of the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PJW1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSBhooi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The Security team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Paramveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

First time at this hotel and I hope not the last. Beautifully appointed furniture and decor. Very modern and tasteful. Gorgeous grounds.
Breakfast is wonderful and great fresh buffet. Very close to the Taj Mahal
Staff are the best!
Love it here

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ghalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSBhooi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra.

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,
Paramveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a night here. When we reached the hotel it was very late in the night but found the staff very attentive and helpful. Very good breakfast / have many choices. Very good location as very near to the Taj Mahal. Overall great hotel.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ptsherpa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSBhooi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,
Paramveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,319 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#4 of 147 in Agra
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#3 of 147 in Agra
2,968 reviews
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $95 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing