We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nadesar Palace Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Matches up to the other Taj Palace hotels in India and more. We liked it particularly because it is small (19 rooms), beautifully appointed anf full of charm. Service was exceptional, staff very friendly and efficient - and an oasis of calm in bustling Varanasi.

Room Tip: Bhutan room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

This property is a restored palace, set in large grounds, cocooned from the madness that is Varanasi.
A heritage property, the proprietors have managed to retain the graciousness and charm of the past while incorporating the contemporary comforts that this modern traveller appreciates. In our bathroom there was a fantastic new shower as well as a beautiful original claw foot bath (sympathetically reconditioned). In our attractive and well proportioned bedroom there was very effective – and much appreciated – air-conditioning, but also a lovely spacious old wardrobe (containing a good modern safe) and comfy four poster bed. Another concession to current values was the large television with DVD player.
And it was impeccably clean.
The pool was beautiful and the grounds were well maintained and so pretty.
From the moment we arrived, greeted by the general manager as well as the duty manager, the staff could not have been more solicitous, charming or helpful. They know how to make their guests feel special and cosseted. We certainly did.
The food was delightful – well presented and tasty and Chef made a point of stopping by our table to find out if we had any special requests.
We stayed in some great hotels in India, but the Nadesar Palace was without doubt our favourite!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

When choosing this hotel I really didn't expect the very high quality of accommodation and service that we received. Nadesar Palace is a beautiful colonial property, we stayed in a standard room ( the Bhutan room) which was well appointed and extremely comfortable...... All public areas were of the same high standard and the gardens are extensive and also beautiful - well worth a look around which other guests didn't seem to bother with.

Nadesar Palace is a total contrast to the surrounds of Varanassi.... both are well worth a visit.

I've read a few reviews of this hotel on trip advisor criticising the food and service (and bedding!??). Our experience was only positive, the staff were attentive as you would expect from this standard of property and we ate only Indian food - the Thali was excellent!!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My wife & I were looking for a short retreat and we chose to come to Varanasi and stay at Nadesar Palace. I have to say that this was one of the best retreat experiences I have had. The decor was so elegant and understated. We were happy to see that even though the palace is in Banaras, the palette was very appeasing to the eye.

In fact, the entry was so understated that we could not have imagined that such a fabulous surprise awaits us behind these relatively hidden entrance. The welcome was more spiritual than magnificent, and it set the tone for the out of the world hospitality that followed.

The best thing to do at the Palace is to just relax and read a book by their beautiful and purposely small swimming pool, while sipping on the gorgeous wine collection that they have. The Chef - Saumalya was once again, outstanding. We essentially asked for anything that we felt like, and it was made and presented to us to perfection.

The staff was very friendly and courteous. They were never too intrusive, yet were always there when we needed them. I see the vision that they carried out - eight suites with personalized services. One fine gentleman - Mr. Ajit made sure that every time we left our room, it was re made in a different way. Baths were set for us every evening and even the aromas of the room were changed.

All in all, I would highly rate this Palace as one of the finest properties that are out there in the world (and I say this after travelling a lot). But it is for a very specific kind of discerning traveler. While being a Taj property, this palace gives a very boutique feel. Instead of a boutique shop, you get a Temple at this beautiful property. Priced at the higher end, this property makes you appreciate the beauty of small.

I think that they have done an extraordinary job with this property. Out of all the retreats I have gone to, this is the one where I will go back in a heartbeat. Only regret - didn't get their signature Abhisheka Spa done...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is indeed a small beautiful hotel. However,it has no ambience and it was like being in a mausoleum. The staff hover around and give the impression of always expecting a tip. Even the man who checked our minibar made it quite obvious that he was hoping for some reward.
The food was nothing out of the ordinary,our wine was corked and the substitute bottle was not much better. The hotel,like many in India,likes to use dynamic currency conversion,and I had quite an argument before they agreed to bill my credit card in rupees.
The Gateway hotel shares the same beautiful grounds and I'm sure would offer a less sterile visit.

We had dinner one evening at the Radisson,which was a much more relaxed place with good Indian food.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
4.1 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 87 in Varanasi
409 reviews
0.2 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
4.9 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 87 in Varanasi
1,546 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#18 of 87 in Varanasi
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nadesar Palace Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nadesar Palace Varanasi

Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $835 - $1,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nadesar Palace Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nadesar Palace Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadesar Palace Varanasi Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing