We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So bad we left” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pallavi International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pallavi International Hotel
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So bad we left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We selected the "palace turned hotel" for its swimming pool and collection of old furniture. The swimming pool was empty "maintenance" came the explanation and the furniture was certainly old - see pictures - they speak louder than words. The fire hose was cracked & had holes in it and the electrics were hanging out of the wall in our room. As I sat down in disappointment on the bed I nearly broke my coccyx it was so hard. The bathroom looked uninviting too. The pond/fountain was also drained and the downstairs toilets smelled like Indian railway tracks - sorry if you've not visited India - the smell is indescribable. The duvet cover was stained and when I asked to make a local call on the phone I was refused (so much for STD). Despite having paid for 2 rooms for 2 nights we left. The porters were helpful in taking our luggage to the car. The management said nothing. Use our experience to save yourself the money and book somewhere else.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank addicted2travelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
17
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

It's clean and comfortable, but there are cheaper places in Varanasi, that offer the same standard, and they're closer to Ghats.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Kurowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Our booking at the India Hotel, got lost!! Varanasi was very busy. We had to transfer to Pavalli, cheaper rooms were basic, a bit musty, we paid more and had a good room. The hotel must have been beautiful as a home, now somewhat in need of a 'refurb', however our stay was good, well cared for. Breakfast adequate, staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingdongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hotel was dirty, dishes that looked to be days old were left outside several rooms, despite the hotel being visibly overstaffed. Food in the restaurant was poor. Room was dark and stank of must. Pool had no water, when I asked about this at reception I was given neither an apology or an explanation. Overpriced, i checked out early and moved to a better hotel. A bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel is very dark. The walls are humide. The room stank. You can get mushrooms from the wall ;)). It is an ugly place. I think it is very unhealty to stay in this hotel. I was very glad to leave. The hotel is not the noney worth while.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 km away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#31 of 76 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Park Plaza
Hotel Park Plaza
#50 of 76 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#10 of 76 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#18 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Central Residency
Hotel Central Residency
#24 of 76 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#21 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pallavi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pallavi International Hotel

Property: Pallavi International Hotel
Address: Hathwa Palace, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): $41 - $82
Hotel Class:2 star — Pallavi International Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificient palace now converted into a hotel. It is secluded from the hustle and bustle of the city and surrounded by green lawns. We promise a peaceful and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pallavi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing