We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My friend and I stayed here and enjoyed it. The hotel is located next door to a mall and public transportation is readily available. We had a chartered driver, but when the driver left if we wanted to explore on our own, it was easy. Before paying for anything remember to follow the golden rule of travelling in India--ALWAYS negotiate. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was free and good. I LOVE Indian food so I had a field day at the buffet, American options were available but not plentiful. The pool is great, their staff is good as was expected.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamaicanbrownin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 845 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. We are used to stay in guesthouses and more cosy hotels, but this one has all the comfort: big room, swimingpool, huge breakfast buffet etc. and we enjoyed them. There is no free wifi in the rooms, you have pay a lot to get it. The service is quite good, they printed for us tickets and fruit and water are always available free of charge. With booking.com we paid a very reasonable price (50€ per night). The position is good, away form the caos of the center. Don't use their pick up service if you don't want to be overcharged. At the airport you will find taxis for a fixed price of 500 Rs.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very disappointing stay. Most definitely not value for money.

The staff were aggressive in hustling for tips. Perhaps in keeping with the approach in Varanasi itself but not what I expected from a hotel.

The room was clean but very dated and uncomfortable. The mattress was well past its best. As were the sofa and carpets. I stayed in several hotels in India that were less than half the price of this one but that had much more comfortable rooms.

There is no wifi in the rooms - just an ethernet cable. There is wifi you can pay for (500 rupees) in the lobby but the signal is weak and doesn't work in the restaurants.

The pool is wonderful. Very much appreciated at the end of a day. No poolside bar though despite what the hotel summary says.

The gym is basic but fine - treadmills, free weights, and a couple of simple machines. the gym is right next to the pool and there are showers and lockers there too.

The food was ordinary. Typical chain hotel food. Easier, more interesting, and cheaper to eat in Varanasi.

The location is fine - not walking distance to the ghats but an easy and cheap cab or tuk-tuk ride.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RouteburnTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed at the Ramada JHV Plaza in Varanasi, India from August 12-15, 2012.
Right from the welcome at arrival, which included a Cola thrust into my hands at the reception by an over eager staff member even before I had checked in, to the bell boy to the receptionist to the doorman, they were all very pleasant.
The room no. 2106 was relatively large with a queen size bed and a sitting area with a picture window overlooking the pool and the surrounding lawns. It also had a safe that could accommodate my laptop. The only thing that I found odd was the old-style TV and the lack of international news channels like BBC or CNN. If only the hotel would invest in flat-screen TVs, it would add more value to their property.
The relaxation area included the swimming pool with a whirlpool, a children's pool. steam and sauna plus a gym.The massage rates were on the steep side so I avoided that.
The room was cleaned daily and the entire staff including the general manager made it a point to inquire if everything was well and if I was being taken care of properly.
The receptionists also provided information about the various sights and how to get there. The hotel also has a travel desk where you can book private tours but for a lone traveller like me, these were a bit expensive so I chose to take a taxi and an autorickshaw, which was much cheaper.
The breakfast was fantastic and included various items including Indian and continental dishes, fresh and canned juices, several vegetarian and non-veg choices. In fact, the breakfast they served was so sumptuous that after eating that, there was no need to have lunch.
The hotel is far away from the Ganges and you have to take an auto, which charges Rs100 to take you there. I found an auto driver named Sanjay, who is normally stationed outside the Ramada and is quite helpful. He even offered to take me to Sarnath and various other places. The rates he charges are half of those charged by taxis.
My three night stay at this hotel was superb except for the last night when I went to their coffee shop, which was having a Flavours Of India promotion for Rs699, all inclusive. The staff there showed me the menu, which included delicacies from various parts of India and I decided to try it. They were very welcoming as usual and brought several items for me to savour. But soon after that, I started feeling uneasy and that same evening I had a bout of vomiting and diarrhoea. I don't know if it was the food or my own constitution that had gone weak but this was the only blemish in an otherwise very pleasant trip.
I would recommend the Ramada JHV Plaza to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay in Varanasi. Even if it is far away from the action-packed Ganga ghats, it is still a good and clean alternative and you only need to take an auto or taxi to go and enjoy the happenings on the ghats.

Room Tip: Room 210 was comfortable with a good view of the pool area and the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JawaharC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

great breakfast, chinese / thai restaurant also great ( and exceptionnel service)
rooms ok, clean, nice beds
we had great value for money
only downsides: staff outside not helpful (were not able to say approximate price for a cab, got nervous when we wanted to take public cab instead of hotel cab)
female staff at reception very unfriendly, once even aggressive ( i just had asked in a friendly way about the whereabouts of a ghat which she was not able to identify as it turned out )
duty manager and staff in restaurants as well as cook very helpful and nice

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
1,497 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
4.8 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 80 in Varanasi
675 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 80 in Varanasi
508 reviews
5.4 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi

Address: JHV Mall Complex, The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $68 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza JHV, a luxury hotel in Varanasi redefines hospitality beyond boundaries. Stylish spaces coupled with discreet luxury and impeccable service renders this Varanasi hotel a unique flavor. Lined with handpicked contemporary art throughout the public and private spaces and natural surroundings ensures a seamless blend of the rich culture of this rustic yet vibrant city with elevated standard of style, design and decor. State-of-the-art technology and amenities for commerce, leisure and relaxation makes the Ramada Plaza JHV hotel an ideal choice for guests seeking accommodation in Varanasi. The luxury rooms & suites are models of personal touch and superior amenities and services. Access to indulgent restaurants with world cuisine and Indian speciality restaurant, a day gym, spa and salon and spacious banquet rooms guarantee a gamut of innovative and inspired moments of celebration. The adjoining JHV shopping mall extends the freedom of options to multiplex, shopping & dine out with all time favourites like McDonald's & Pizza Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Jhv Varanasi Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Varanasi
Varanasi Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing