We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sita Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$34/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Varuna(Varanasi)
US$29
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somit Paying Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$11
US$6
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$34/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$9
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$124
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
481
404
188
108
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
404
188
108
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roompizza hutbiryaniswimming pooltravel deskexcellent hotelnice propertywelcome drinkroom servicebreakfast buffetcantonment areaspecial thanksindian foodrestaurant staffrooms are spaciouscomfortable stayholy city
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed two nights at this hotel, keen to see the great Ganges. The front of house was well presented and it looked like it was trying to do some improvement at the back garden area. We asked for a double bed, but were allocated two single beds. This was not really acceptable as when they pushed the beds together, the sockets were behind the pillows! The staff was helpful and produced an antique adaptor lead. With some explanation they procured a 21st century adapter lead. This is very good and an improvement!
We had a yoga lesson by the pool. The yoga mats were varied but as expected in a public gym - in general the pool furniture was well maintained and updated.
Breakfast offered a good spread of international and Indian fare but alas the staff bringing teas and coffees were quite clueless, and had no idea what was on offer - I asked for Green Tea (where they had loads of teabags) but the staff didn't understand what I was talking about. I had to make my own. That said, the cooking was good and I was pleased with the homemade bread, good eggs / omelettes, excellent and a choice of curries, noodles etc nontheless.
In general the hotel could do with a little refurbishment in the room, a lick of paint and staff needs training. The customer relationship manager Ritika was friendly and attentive. I hope that she takes all the feedback onboard and this would be a great hotel. Front of house 4 stars, but restaurant service 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkashSaigal, General Manager at Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks for a valuable overall feedback. We have few international students who are on the job trainees. We have identified a need for training them. Will address the issues raised by you and will convey the compliments to the staff. Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Thanks & Regards,

Akash Roy Saigal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

When I book a 5-star hotel, I expect everything to be 5-star, and that includes the bathroom too. So while I was really pleased with the reception area, and the extremely helpful, and efficient service staff, the slightly small and oldish bathroom was disappointing. I was also quite surprised to find that the TV had no regional channels - I was specifically looking for Bengali channels but there were none. Normally I wouldn't care for such anomalies, or mention them in a review, but because Ramada advertises as a 5-star hotel, my expectations were as much.

Everything else was fine. Breakfast was lovely. Rooms were super clean, and cosy. And service, as expected - top class!

The hotel is around 20 km from the airport - if you book a taxi service from the hotel, it will cost you 1250 INR. But if you take a taxi on your own, the maximum you need to pay is 700 INR. There is a separate travel desk who will help you with your sightseeing. My advice is that if you have even the slightest of doubts about getting cheated by the locals, go with the hotel services - even at a premium price, you will be safe - specially for the evening boat ride.

Tip: If you do not want to eat at the hotel, you can walk over to the JHV Mall within the hotel premises, where you have a Pizza Hut, a coffee place, and a Food Court. The McDonald's was closed temporarily.

While I would recommend everyone to stay here, next time I am in Varanasi, I would try another 5-star just to compare what the others offer at this price.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkashSaigal, General Manager at Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks for a comprehensive feedback. Currently we have limited regional channels on board, however, will strive to provide the same for your future stay.

Thanks & Regards,

Akash Roy Saigal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Good hotel overall, but one of the most apathetic staffs imaginable from a usually good quality brand. When we checked in our room stunk of smoke, mold, and ?urine. I called front desk to ask for another room, but they just said they'd Send someone up to check our room. I said I did not want it checked, I wanted another Room, , But they did not make any comment and seemed to be ignoring me. When no one came I called again and got a similar response. I went to the lobby where our local guide was waiting and he gave them a hard time and they then switched us to another Room. On another occasion I asked the concierge type person at his desk, what time a movie was playing at theater in the mall next door. He told me I should just go over there myself to find out. . I asked him if he would call on the phone and he
very reluctantly did so, then told me they were not answering the phone, that was the end of it. No further help offered.
On another occasion we asked at the front desk for 2 water bottles for the room ( these were usually complementary from housekeeping). They gave us one bottle and said that was all they could give us. So I asked how we could get more water . They said that if we wanted more we should go to the restaurant. At the entry to the closed restaurant the maitre d said someone would bring the water. 5 minutes later, still standing at the entry, I asked again for the water, and after 5 more minutes later I saw her ask someone to bring the water to us.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank a1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkashSaigal, General Manager at Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

This is very unlikely of our staff and contrary of feedback which we receive for them. Definitely not acceptable by our standards. Will surely address the points highlighted. We have been flexible in providing extra water bottles whenever desired by our guests. Please give us another opportunity to serve.

Thanks & Regards,

Akash Roy Saigal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

It was an awesome trip to Varanasi with the hospitality of Ramada. Starting from the check in to check out everything was perfect. Lobby was so beautiful, than the room was so cleaned and so specious, than coming to restaurant "TADKA" was very good with its yammy food. I would like to mention the name "Sumitra ghosh" from housekeeping who was outstanding with her hospitality services.. special thanks to her and ofcourse the whole Ramada team for making my trip so memorable.. thank you, thanks allot....

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rakesh Roshen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkashSaigal, General Manager at Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks so much for the great feedback. We strive to work hard for guest comfort. Will convey the compliments to the staff members.

Thanks & Regards,

Akash Roy Saigal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel provided excellent comfort. The staff are exceptionally friendly snd helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good snd the restaurant manager, Mohammed Muvin was very hospitable and helpful. Even the housekeeping staff were very accommodating snd efficient.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jothi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkashSaigal, General Manager at Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks so much for the great feedback. We strive to work hard for guest comfort. Will convey the compliments to the staff members.

Thanks & Regards,

Akash Roy Saigal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews