We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sit back and relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Denpasar
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sit back and relax.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

What a great place to just sit back and relax and take in the view of the rice fields. The room was just perfect to sit around and do nothing We were upgraded to a fabulous deluxe villa it also had a plunge pool which was perfect just to cool down in.( Or if you prefer go to the main pool.) A very nice large bedroom upstairs with lounge downstairs.
The only draw back is the distance from Ubud being about 30 minutes drive with 2 shuttles going and 2 back . Think perhaps they could offer a few more late afternoon.
Maybe a bit more of a selection on the menu would be good as well. In saying all that if you want a few days to sit back do nothing go nowhere this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Peaceful with great view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmondrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    61
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
24
93
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2006

It was simply marvellous!! we didn't expect that the place to be superb ( we are really a sceptical couple especially for something published on the net).... the plunge pool was cozy, the ambiance in the "budget" villa and around the hotel was really romatic... our honeymoon was made cozy and beautiful by the great superking bed, extra large tub and fast and efficient service.. but don't expect too much on the food, though.. its only so-so..

it would give it 4 1/2 out 5!!

  • Liked — the plunge pool and the bed
  • Disliked — the food at the restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrywafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

We enjoyed our stay, but I would definitely caution guests about a few things before booking here: it is a good half hour and 10US from Ubud, and there is really nothing to do around the hotel but relax by the pool and enjoy the view on the rice paddy, so only come here if you are happy with that. The museum is worth a visit. The restaurant is good and has reasonable prices. The plunge pool is tiny, but it's fun to have your own. It is a place that seems to have a previous glory to it, and is in the process of being renovated. Staff was kind and eager to help. Posted by Nicole Fuchs, Malaysia

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iam35years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2006

Alam Puri was disappointing for us and we certainly didn't see the attention to detail that we experienced in other places we stayed in Bali.

We spent 3 nights at Alam Puri 11-14 May. We did not get off to a good start as they left us waiting at the airport for an hour and a half after our flight arrived . When I rang them to see if they had forgotten us, said that they didn't have our flight arrival details so we had to wait further while they found a driver to come and collect us from the airport . However as I had previously received an email confirmation of those flight and collection arrangements, I'm not sure if that was the truth. No apology, but we did get a welcome drink and a bowl of fruit!

Ther were only 3 pool loungers so there was nowhere to lie around the pool unless you got there first and then you felt guilty for not sharing! Only one umbrella- and in the mornings before the trees cast some afternoon shade it was hot - there was nowhere to sit out of the sun. We didn't have pool towels for 2 days....they were at the laundry! We were given the bathroom towels which like the pevious reviewer said were paper thin and grey. Notwithstanding the Kuningan holiday, an allowance of a couple of pool towels per villa per day isn't unreasonable. There were only 4-6 guests during our stay !

The restaurant meals were limited in their choice and also of a poor standard , we didn't enjoy ours at all but the breakfasts were okay, if a little cold. Our room, Wiradana, looked sensational on the web site but in reality it was run down, torn mosquito net , dirty and stained window blinds, cracked bath, inadequate door lock, not one bottle or can of drink in the fridge, no ice, apalling lighting in the bathroom and bedside (forget reading in bed at night), broken phone downstairs.....

We booked on [---]for $US90, but the rack price was $US350-you'd have to be mad to pay that. We felt that $90 was excessive when compared to other places we stayed. We wouldn't go back and we wouldn't recommend Alam Puri. There is some fantastic accomodation around, best to get a referral!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2006

Been to Bali and Ubud many times but this was our first try with Alam Puri. We were underwhelmed by the experience. Let's start by making it very clear that this resort is not in Ubud. It is a good 30+ minutes by car to Ubud. It is in fact much closer to Sanur than Ubud. The hotel provides free one-way transportation to either Ubud or Sanur but you have to get back to the hotel on your own. Usually about US $10. What this means is you have to be deliberate in planning your day and trips because you can't just walk to nearby galleries and restaurants.

The best thing about the resort and the villa itself are the views of the rice fields and landscape across the river. The hotel and villas are dated, worn and shabby in many places that it really matters most - especially if you are paying to get a luxury villa where you intend to spend alot of time at the hotel itself.

The room we stayed was two floors - with a bedroom and full bathroom upstairs and a "sitting room" and bathroom downstairs. There is not kitchen or cooking facility as one might expect in a "villa". It is really just a two story suite. There is a very nice pool on the front patio of the villa. Only the upstairs has air-conditioning and it can get quite hot there. This would be fine enough but the room is quite large and the air-conditioner they put in the room is quite small and not adequete to ever cool the room down. THe sitting room downstairs has two very hard chairs and a coffee table - but no sofa..

The bathroom is pretty standard - nothing special there. The towels are of the thin Motel 6 variety, although once white - they are now gray and they consistantly smelled badly. On two days the staff failed to refill the shampoo and body soap in the little ceramic containers - finding out only when trying to use it..

The staff was friendly but not never went beyond the task at hand to make our stay more enjoyable.

The free breakfast is good with a choice between full American or Indonesian breakfast - somehow it was served cold all four days. For lunch and dinner the restaurant iis ridiculously expensive and uninspired - I never saw anybody eat there expect for breakfast.

I think there are so many nicer hotels and much nicer locations than Alam Puri. Although nice enough - I wouldn't reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank time2travelsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denpasar
10.6 km away
Uppala Villa Seminyak
Uppala Villa Seminyak
#10 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
15.6 km away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
16.0 km away
Grand Ixora Kuta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Graha Cakra Bali Hotel
The Graha Cakra Bali Hotel
#73 of 138 in Denpasar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.9 km away
Aston Denpasar Hotel and Convention Center
7.6 km away
Puri Dalem Hotel
Puri Dalem Hotel
#51 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort

Property: Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
Address: Penatih Village Jln. Trenggana 108 | South of Ubud, Denpasar 80238, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Denpasar
#33 Spa Hotel in Denpasar
Price range (per night): $50 - $186
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The villas have a full art collection - Indonesian Tribal Art, painting collection, painting work shop along with the luxury and quiet, privacy and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Puri Art Museum Hotel Denpasar
Alam Puri Art Museum And Resort
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort Bali/Denpasar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing