We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
570
115
22
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
570
115
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sunken bath outdoor bathroom breakfast delivered garden setting busy kuta the hustle and bustle narrow lane every morning ceiling fan crazy kuta busy area kuta beach bali privacy alley mosquitoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

This was a place we had admired for a long time but never stayed before. We have now and absolutely loved the place – it is just so beautiful! Take one step from the chaos that is Poppies 1 through the door into the hotel grounds and the transformation is immediate and incredible.

Peace and tranquillity everywhere and it is impossible not to relax.

Getting there - the hotel offer free of charge collection (or drop-off) from the airport which is a really nice touch.

Other than that, it is such a well established place every driver will know where it is. We discovered the Grab app while we were here and used that. It is cheap, reliable and efficient.

Location – excellent.

As I’ve mentioned, you are right on poppies lane one with all the entertainment that brings! Great bars and restaurants, convenience stores and about a 10 minute walk down to the beach.

The location really couldn’t be better.

Cottages – the first thing that hits you is the privacy.

Each one is like a little house with its own garden and beautiful veranda. We used the last named lots and spent many happy hours out on the morning and evening just relaxing. It has comfortable furniture, fan and thoughtfully coils for mosquitoes. By the way, to say this is such a garden based accommodation we got very little trouble with insects.

Inside the bungalow is very well designed and comfortable indeed. A TV along with a fridge, dressing gown‘s and a very comfortable bed which we slept very well indeed. There is a ceiling fan and fairly decent air-conditioning.

The outdoor bathroom is beautiful and has a net so no wildlife can't join you! The shower doubles as a bath and it is all done out in a beautiful Balinese style.

Wi-Fi – free for unlimited devices and runs at about 20 GB.

As someone mentioned, to have your individual hotspot you need to put the television on but we managed to pick up all the routers around the property easily as well. No need for constant logging in and it reaches all areas including the pool.

Pool – must be one of the most beautiful areas of its type we’ve ever been to.

Again, done in the local style it is absolutely beautiful and full of character. At times we were the only people using it so none of the selfish sunbed hogging here.

Staff – they simply could not do enough for you.

From the moment you walk into the property to when you leave they are unobtrusive but more than happy to help you when needed. Nothing is too much trouble and whatever you need will be provided with a big smile.

Food – we were in a room only so can’t comment on the breakfast. As I mentioned, there are shops everywhere so you can easily buy your own. As an indication of what a wonderful place it is we used to wake up two flasks of fresh water and complimentary bananas provided.

A small indicator of just what a superb place it is.

Room tip: All are private and quiet - the ones furthest from Poppies are the most quiet.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OfftheirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

The biggest satisfaction any Management team can hope for, is when guests notice and actually refer to so many of the little things they’ve all been working on for many years.

Thank you! Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking so much of your time to set down such a magnificent appraisal of Poppies, for others to benefit from.

Especially as we face a very uncertain immediate future complicated by COVID-19...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Poppies always feels like we are coming home from the moment we enter the foyer. Yet again it did not disappoint. The staff are second to none when it comes to customer service and the cottages, pool and gardens are just beautiful. Yes we will be back again next year. I think it will be visit number 12! Don't knock Kuta until you have stayed at Poppies!!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GaiMDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Gai !!!!! Sending you a separate email... So sorry to miss you yet again!!
Thanks as always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

Came here based a friends recommendation for a quintessential kuta accommodation. We were not disappointed, everything is a little bit dated, which is the charm. Would stay again and recommend. Only criticism is the beds may need to be replaced, seemed a bit old but wasn’t a dealbreaker

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank W2613EKbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us such high marks despite the beds, which are in fact high on our list for attention! Along with curtains, which are ALMOST finished....!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

I only stayed here one night while passing through Kuta but would 100% stay again. The rooms, gardens, and pool are beautiful and the location is great. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby and only 15 mins to the airport depending on traffic. Friendly staff and good food and service at the restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kristinpaige17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. Hope to welcome you back for a longer stay sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Poppies cottages are hidden behind a stone wall in Poppies Lane, but go through the wooden gate and you find yourself in a beautiful Balinese garden with winding paths leading to the thatched cottages dotted around. You might even be lucky enough to meet the owner (a garden enthusiast) doing some gardening! The cottages all have their own verandah and nothing is nicer than sitting in the morning sun and eating your room service breakfast (included in the room charge)and listening to the bird song (a plus of the garden setting). The cottages are roomy and spotless, with garden bathrooms and sunken marble bath; the smiling staff cannot do enough to make your stay a good one; and Poppies restaurant is a short walk away. What more could you need?!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank holintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thank you for such a perfect review! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews